Home › Compare
The Culpeper and Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge compared
Two Virginia communities about 37 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | The Culpeper | Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Culpeper, VA | Charlottesville, VA |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type A (life care), Type B (modified) | Type A (life care) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $82,000 to $565,000p. 14 | $226,829 to $1,410,651p. 129 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,068 to $5,535p. 13p. 14 | $4,298 to $12,156p. 129 |
| Refund plans | Standard (4% administrative charge, 2% per month for 50 months); Direct admission to Assisted Living (refund terms not disclosed)p. 56p. 14 | Standard Option; Refundable Option (50%)p. 34 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 0% of the feep. 56p. 14 | 45% of the feep. 34 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 56p. 14 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 34 |
| Days cash on hand | 266 days (FY2025, interim)p. 132Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group. Days cash and debt service coverage are the LifeSpire of Virginia obligated group's interim calculations at 12/31/2025 (p22), not The Culpeper's own. | 1381 days (FY2025, interim)p. 149The 1,381 days matches cash ($11.2M) plus all $120.1M of investments, which include $15.7M purpose-restricted and $2.1M perpetually restricted donor funds (p19, p76); cash and unrestricted investments alone ($113.6M) come to about 1,190 days. |
| Its lenders' minimum | At least 120 daysp. 22 | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 2.31x (FY2025, interim)p. 132Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group. Days cash and debt service coverage are the LifeSpire of Virginia obligated group's interim calculations at 12/31/2025 (p22), not The Culpeper's own. | 6.90x (FY2025, interim)p. 149The 1,381 days matches cash ($11.2M) plus all $120.1M of investments, which include $15.7M purpose-restricted and $2.1M perpetually restricted donor funds (p19, p76); cash and unrestricted investments alone ($113.6M) come to about 1,190 days. |
| Independent living occupancy | 94% (2025)p. 21 | 96.4% (2025)p. 150 |
| Net position | −$22.6 million (FY2025)p. 132 | $68.6 million (FY2025)p. 77 |
| Whose finances | Culpeper Baptist Retirement Community, Inc. (column of the LifeSpire consolidating balance sheet); ratios for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Groupp. 132 | Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge and Foundation (consolidated); ratios for Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge and Foundation (consolidated; both are the bond Obligated Group)p. 77 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 132 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 77 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
The Culpeper
Type B (modified): Fee-for-service residents pay the published daily rate less 10% for assisted living, memory care or nursing, and stop paying the independent living monthly fee after a permanent move.p. 48
Type A (life care): Life-Care residents keep paying their independent living monthly fee in assisted living, memory care and the Health Care Center, plus the cost of two extra meals a day.p. 73
Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge
Type A (life care): The Monthly Fee does not change on a temporary or permanent move to Catered Living (assisted living), Vista memory support or the Health Center; ancillary medical charges are extra. If care must be provided at an outside facility, costs above WCBR's Monthly Fee are the resident's. For comparison, the Health Center per diem charged to non-lifecare patients rose 15% in FY2024, 10% in FY2025 and 7% twice in FY2026 (p141).p. 36