Skip to content

Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge

250 Pantops Mountain Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22911 · Community website

Operator:
Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Organized under guidelines of Virginia Diocesan Homes (Episcopal Diocese of Virginia) and Westminster Presbyterian Homes (Synod of the Mid-Atlantic, PC USA); neither is financially responsible (p14)
Opened:
1990

Virginia non-stock not-for-profit corporation organized 1985; owns the buildings (p7, p13). Financial statements consolidate the WCBR Foundation.

  • Type A (life care)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$226,829 to $1,410,651p. 129

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,298 to $12,156p. 129

Refund plans offered

  • Standard OptionCan decline to nothing
  • Refundable Option (50%)Never less than 45% of the fee

Days cash on hand

1,381 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 149Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The 1,381 days matches cash ($11.2M) plus all $120.1M of investments, which include $15.7M purpose-restricted and $2.1M perpetually restricted donor funds (p19, p76); cash and unrestricted investments alone ($113.6M) come to about 1,190 days.

Independent living occupancy

96.4% (2025)p. 150

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)The filing calls it Lifecare Services and Residence Agreement; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

The Monthly Fee does not change on a temporary or permanent move to Catered Living (assisted living), Vista memory support or the Health Center; ancillary medical charges are extra. If care must be provided at an outside facility, costs above WCBR's Monthly Fee are the resident's. For comparison, the Health Center per diem charged to non-lifecare patients rose 15% in FY2024, 10% in FY2025 and 7% twice in FY2026 (p141).p. 36

Assisted living
Same Monthly Fee as independent living
Nursing care
Same Monthly Fee as independent living
Units on campusp. 14
Independent living281
Assisted living45
Memory care12
Nursing care52

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Lifecare Services and Residence Agreement · Type A (life care) (12 prices, $226,829 to $1,410,651)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Monticello Apartments640 to 1,422Standard Option$226,829 to $438,371p. 129Not listed
Monticello Apartments640 to 1,422Refundable Option (50%)$340,244 to $604,953p. 129Not listed
Pantops Apartments1,268 to 2,593Standard Option$602,330 to $1,022,211p. 129$162,971
Pantops Apartments1,268 to 2,593Refundable Option (50%)$831,216 to $1,410,651p. 129$224,900
Blue Ridge Apartments1,278 to 2,720Standard Option$572,005 to $967,475p. 129$165,561
Blue Ridge Apartments1,278 to 2,720Refundable Option (50%)$789,367 to $1,335,116p. 129$228,474
Jefferson Cottages1,030 to 1,600Standard Option$343,943 to $501,982p. 130Not listed
Jefferson Cottages1,030 to 1,600Refundable Option (50%)$474,641 to $692,735p. 130Not listed
Hillside Cottages1,887 to 2,144Standard Option$706,128 to $806,847p. 130$169,628
Hillside Cottages1,887 to 2,144Refundable Option (50%)$974,457 to $1,113,449p. 130$234,087
Albemarle Cottages2,053 to 2,308Standard Option$866,142 to $924,329p. 130$172,218
Albemarle Cottages2,053 to 2,308Refundable Option (50%)$1,195,276 to $1,275,574p. 130$237,661

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Lifecare Services and Residence Agreement · Type A (life care) (6 prices, $4,298 to $12,156)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Monticello ApartmentsIndependent living$4,298 to $7,920p. 129Not listed
Pantops ApartmentsIndependent living$7,872 to $9,584p. 129$1,914
Blue Ridge ApartmentsIndependent living$7,920 to $12,156p. 129$1,950
Jefferson CottagesIndependent living$7,336 to $8,102p. 130Not listed
Hillside CottagesIndependent living$9,160 to $9,243p. 130$2,378
Albemarle CottagesIndependent living$9,288p. 130$2,403

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 2.5%20212022: 2.5%20222023: 3%20232024: 3%20242025: 3%20252026: 3.7%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units3.7%Percent onlyp. 133
2025Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 133
2024Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 133
2023Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 133
2022Independent livingAll units2.5%Percent onlyp. 133
2021Independent livingAll units2.5%Percent onlyp. 133

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard Optionp. 34

A 10% administrative fee is kept; the rest of the entrance fee declines 2% a month and nothing is refundable after 50 months. Any refund is paid only after a new resident pays an entrance fee for your vacated residence.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refundable Option (50%)p. 34

Higher entrance fee. After the 10% administrative fee, the refundable amount declines 2% a month for 25 months, then 50% of the entrance fee is refunded on termination or death once a new resident pays an entrance fee for the residence. Available if one resident is under 85.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
45% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge and Foundation (consolidated).
  • Ratios: Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge and Foundation (consolidated; both are the bond Obligated Group).
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

1,381 days FY2025p. 149

Debt service coverage

6.90x FY2025p. 149

Read with these figuresThe 1,381 days matches cash ($11.2M) plus all $120.1M of investments, which include $15.7M purpose-restricted and $2.1M perpetually restricted donor funds (p19, p76); cash and unrestricted investments alone ($113.6M) come to about 1,190 days.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 77
Total assets$244.6 million
Total liabilities$176.0 million
Long-term debt$54.5 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$87.2 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$27.8 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$68.6 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 77

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 150
Independent living96.4%
Assisted living83.5%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care80.8%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 13. WESTMINSTER CANTERBURY BLUE RI on Care Compare

In brief

Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge is a nonprofit life-care community on Pantops Mountain in Albemarle County, near Charlottesville, open since 1990, with 221 apartments, 60 cottages, 45 assisted living residences, 12 memory support rooms and 52 nursing beds. It sells a single life-care contract whose monthly fee does not change when a resident moves to assisted living or nursing, with a standard entrance fee from $226,829 to $1,022,211 for one person (FY26) or a higher 50%-refundable option. Management reported 1,381 days cash on hand (counting donor-restricted investments) and 6.9x debt service coverage for the year ended June 30, 2025.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • The Colonnades

    Charlottesville · 5 miles away

    Entrance fee: $34,550 to $292,775

  • Summit Square

    Waynesboro · 25 miles away

    Entrance fee: $71,000 to $373,900

  • Sunnyside

    Harrisonburg · 33 miles away

    Entrance fee: $68,600 to $809,200

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.