Home › Compare
The Cypress of Charlotte and The Sharon at SouthPark compared
Two North Carolina communities about 1 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | The Cypress of Charlotte | The Sharon at SouthPark |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Charlotte, NC | Charlotte, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Equity | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | Purchase + membership fee | $26,500 to $907,300p. 100 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,826 to $6,873p. 30 | $3,517 to $6,908p. 25 |
| Refund plans | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Standard Entry Fee (declining to 0% after 365 days); 50% Refundable Entry Fee; 90% Refundable Entry Feep. 162 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | 90% of the feep. 162 |
| When a refund is paid | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 162 |
| Days cash on hand | 104 days (FY2025)p. 2Days cash counts $5.25M the Homeowners Association holds as a reserve for replacements and $2.71M internally designated for the NC operating reserve; cash and cash equivalents alone were $1,532,660 at 12/31/2025, about 17 days. | 496 days (FY2025)p. 2 |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | At least 150 daysp. 43 |
| Debt service coverage | 4.49x (FY2025)p. 2Days cash counts $5.25M the Homeowners Association holds as a reserve for replacements and $2.71M internally designated for the NC operating reserve; cash and cash equivalents alone were $1,532,660 at 12/31/2025, about 17 days. | 2.70x (FY2025)p. 2 |
| Independent living occupancy | 100% (2025)p. 26 | 96.9% (2025)p. 21 |
| Net position | $29.8 million (FY2025)p. 106 | $80.9 million (FY2025)p. 55 |
| Whose finances | The Cypress of Charlotte Club, Inc. and The Cypress of Charlotte Homeowners Association, Inc. (combined)p. 106 | The Presbyterian Home at Charlotte, Inc. d/b/a The Sharon at SouthPark and The Sharon Foundation (consolidated); ratios for The Presbyterian Home at Charlotte, Inc. d/b/a The Sharon at SouthPark (provider; sole member of the obligated group)p. 55 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 106 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 55 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
The Cypress of Charlotte
Equity: Each Member gets 90 lifetime cumulative days of care in a semi-private room in the Health Care Facility at the current Monthly Payment plus meals and supplies. After that the Member pays the daily Member rate on top of the Monthly Payment until the home is resold, and the Member rate alone afterward; the disclosure calls it the 'member discounted rate' but states no discount size.p. 167
The Sharon at SouthPark
Type B (modified): No free days are included. Residents who move permanently to nursing pay a published permanent transfer rate that the statement says is historically discounted from the direct-admission rate ($10,835-$12,070 vs $15,087-$16,184 a month in 2026); temporary stays are $274 a day on top of the monthly fee for the first 90 days. Existing residents have priority for the Medicare-certified beds.p. 107