Skip to content

Home › Compare

The East Tower at Cardinal North Hills and The Oaks at Whitaker Glen compared

Two North Carolina communities about 2 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureThe East Tower at Cardinal North HillsThe Oaks at Whitaker Glen
LocationRaleigh, NCRaleigh, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesRentalType C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one personNone: rental$124,000 to $783,000p. 22p. 24
Monthly fee, independent living$7,653 to $15,515p. 19$2,500 to $6,200p. 21p. 23
Refund plansNone: rental contractLineage Plan (existing units); Heritage Plan (existing units); Lineage Plan (expansion units); Heritage Plan (expansion units); Legacy Plan (expansion units)p. 25
Highest guaranteed refundNone: rental contract75% of the feep. 25
When a refund is paidNone: rental contractWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid; In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 25
Days cash on hand8 days (FY2025)p. 2Cash on hand covered 8 days of operating costs at the end of 2025, 2 days at the end of 2024 and 0 days at the end of 2023 (FS-1, p2): year-end 2025 cash was $538,885 against about $26M a year of expenses, most of it $12.7M rent. The state-required operating reserve is not held as cash or investments; it is met by a $6.8M irrevocable standby letter of credit from Credit Agricole, which cannot be drawn for any purpose, including fee refunds, without regulator approval (pp27-28).171 days (FY2025)p. 2The 171 days hold only by counting the $2,925,704 restricted statutory operating reserve; unrestricted cash was $46,927 at 12/31/2025 (about 3 days). That restricted reserve is below the $3,148,992 required, and the provider counts a $2,587,853 callable note receivable from its ultimate parent, United Health Services, Inc., and a parent guaranty toward the requirement. No debt service in 2023-2025, so coverage is not applicable. The on-campus skilled nursing facility closed in July 2022.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2026 filingCash on hand covered 8 days of operating costs at the end of 2025, 2 days at the end of 2024 and 0 days at the end of 2023 (FS-1, p2): year-end 2025 cash was $538,885 against about $26M a year of expenses, most of it $12.7M rent. The state-required operating reserve is not held as cash or investments; it is met by a $6.8M irrevocable standby letter of credit from Credit Agricole, which cannot be drawn for any purpose, including fee refunds, without regulator approval (pp27-28).Not disclosed in the 2026 filingThe 171 days hold only by counting the $2,925,704 restricted statutory operating reserve; unrestricted cash was $46,927 at 12/31/2025 (about 3 days). That restricted reserve is below the $3,148,992 required, and the provider counts a $2,587,853 callable note receivable from its ultimate parent, United Health Services, Inc., and a parent guaranty toward the requirement. No debt service in 2023-2025, so coverage is not applicable. The on-campus skilled nursing facility closed in July 2022.
Independent living occupancy98.9% (2025)p. 1660.9% (2025)p. 17
Net position−$172,750 (FY2025)p. 39$6.0 million (FY2025)p. 49
Whose financesTower at The Cardinal, LLCp. 39Whitaker Glen, Inc.p. 49
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, WithumSmith+Brown, PCp. 39Unmodified (clean) opinion, Mauldin & Jenkins, LLCp. 49
Nursing care, CMS rating3 of 5 (CMS overall)No CMS record linked

What care costs later, in each contract

The East Tower at Cardinal North Hills

Rental: No care is prepaid. Assisted living is on site at market monthly fees plus point-based care charges; memory care and nursing require moving to the affiliate's Health Center at the adjacent Cardinal at North Hills, which ends this agreement and is fee-for-service.p. 111

The Oaks at Whitaker Glen

Type C (fee for service): No care is included. The campus has no assisted living or nursing today; residents are admitted to affiliated PruittHealth facilities when a bed is available and pay those facilities' customary rates, and stop paying the monthly service fee after a permanent transfer.p. 18

Questions to ask both communities before you sign