Home › Compare
The Mather and The Woodlands compared
Two Virginia communities about 8 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | The Mather | The Woodlands |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Tysons, VA | Fairfax, VA |
| Filing used | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF | 2023 statement, fiscal 2021 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type A (life care), Type B (modified) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $698,500 to $4,783,800p. 100 | $346,000 to $765,000p. 123 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,656 to $12,636p. 100 | $5,031 to $7,190p. 124 |
| Refund plans | 90% Refundablep. 15 | 90% Refundable; 70% Refundablep. 23p. 77 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 90% of the feep. 15 | 90% of the feep. 23p. 77 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is firstp. 15 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 23p. 77 |
| Days cash on hand | 424 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 86Computed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's. | 15 days (FY2021, calculated)p. 135Computed by us: $195,401 of unrestricted cash (cash $359,528 less $164,127 restricted for deposits) over FY2021 cash operating expenses. Counting the escrowed deposits it would be about 27 days. The community holds no investments or reserve fund. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | Not disclosed in the 2023 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingComputed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's. | Not disclosed in the 2023 filingComputed by us: $195,401 of unrestricted cash (cash $359,528 less $164,127 restricted for deposits) over FY2021 cash operating expenses. Counting the escrowed deposits it would be about 27 days. The community holds no investments or reserve fund. |
| Independent living occupancy | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | 83% (2021)p. 149 |
| Net position | $33.9 million (FY2024)p. 85 | $6.2 million (FY2021)p. 132 |
| Whose finances | Tysons LPC, LLCp. 85 | The Woodlands Retirement Community, LLCp. 132 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Grant Thornton LLPp. 85 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Foote and Lloyd, Certified Public Accountantsp. 132 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
The Mather
Type A (life care): Unlimited days of assisted living, memory support or skilled nursing at virtually the same Monthly Service Fee the resident would have paid in independent living; the fee itself remains subject to increases.p. 30
Type B (modified): Ninety total days of assisted living, memory support or skilled nursing at virtually the same Monthly Service Fee, used in whole days; after that the resident pays the then-current market rate. 2025 proposed market rates: assisted living $9,696/month, memory support $11,424/month, skilled nursing $527/day.p. 30
The Woodlands
Type B (modified): Independent living only. Both the entrance-fee and rental agreements include a total of 5 days of respite care at The Gardens assisted living for the life of the agreement, plus priority admission there; any other assisted living is paid by the resident, and no nursing care is provided.p. 18