Home › Compare
The Pines at Davidson and Stanley Total Living Center compared
Two North Carolina communities about 16 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | The Pines at Davidson | Stanley Total Living Center |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Davidson, NC | Stanley, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified) | Type C (fee for service) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $40,000 to $1,150,000p. 25p. 24 | $36,000 to $42,000p. 22 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $700 to $8,183p. 25p. 22 | $3,531 to $4,267p. 21 |
| Refund plans | Range across refund plans (plan not specified); Standard Entrance Fee Option (declining balance); 50% Refund Entrance Fee Option; 90% Refund Entrance Fee Option; Early Advantage declining balance (0% after 12 months)p. 24p. 30p. 31p. 27 | Entrance Deposit ($4,800 refundable portion)p. 81 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 85% of the feep. 24p. 30p. 31p. 27 | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 24p. 30p. 31p. 27 | Within a fixed number of daysp. 81 |
| Days cash on hand | 630 days (FY2025)p. 2Counts the $8,025,000 statutory operating reserve, which cannot be used without regulatory approval; cash ($5.3M) and investments ($39.8M) alone ≈ 534 days. Section 29 also gives unrestricted cash and investments as both $53.2M and $47.8M. | 152 days (FY2025)p. 2 |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 4.10x (FY2025)p. 2Counts the $8,025,000 statutory operating reserve, which cannot be used without regulatory approval; cash ($5.3M) and investments ($39.8M) alone ≈ 534 days. Section 29 also gives unrestricted cash and investments as both $53.2M and $47.8M. | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Independent living occupancy | 94.7% (2025)p. 18 | 94% (2025)p. 18 |
| Net position | $61.5 million (FY2025)p. 54 | $26.9 million (FY2025)p. 47 |
| Whose finances | The Pines at Davidson, Inc. (consolidated); ratios for The Pines at Davidson, Inc. (sole member of its obligated group)p. 54 | Stanley Total Living Center, Inc.; ratios for Stanley Total Living Center, Inc. (provider only)p. 47 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 54 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Gatewood, Bagley & Huffman, CPAs, PCp. 47 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
The Pines at Davidson
Type B (modified): 14 days each calendar year in assisted living, memory care or nursing with no per diem charge (meals excepted). After that, residents who signed on or after July 1, 2018 pay the published per diem: $246 a day for private assisted living, $367 or $381 for private long-term nursing. A permanent transfer means giving up the independent living unit; after more than 30 nursing days in a 90-day period a temporary resident may surrender the unit or keep paying its monthly fee on top of the per diem. Residents who signed before July 1, 2018 pay a discounted daily rate. Priority access on a space-available basis.p. 19
Stanley Total Living Center
Type C (fee for service): Fee-for-service: apartment residents who move to assisted living or nursing pay the Health Center's published daily rates; no days are included and no discount is stated. Residents get priority for a bed when one is available and their insurance is one the facility contracts with.p. 86