Skip to content

Stanley Total Living Center

514 Old Mount Holly Rd, Stanley, North Carolina 28164 · Community website

Operator:
Stanley Total Living Center, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1983

Stand-alone nonprofit with no debt. Its independent apartments, 'The Parke', are at a separate address, 151 E. Dallas Rd, Stanley. It leases 9.5 acres from its foundation for $1 a year.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$36,000 to $42,000p. 22

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,531 to $4,267p. 21

Refund plans offered

  • Entrance Deposit ($4,800 refundable portion)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

152 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.

Independent living occupancy

94% (2025)p. 18

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Fee-for-service: apartment residents who move to assisted living or nursing pay the Health Center's published daily rates; no days are included and no discount is stated. Residents get priority for a bed when one is available and their insurance is one the facility contracts with.p. 86

Assisted living
Published daily rates: $186-$239 a day for 24 Medicaid/private-pay beds and $192-$247 a day for 16 private-pay beds (four care levels), plus a $250 entrance fee nonrefundable after 30 days.
Nursing care
Published daily rates: $369 a day private room, $339 a day semi-private.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 17
Independent living28
Assisted living40
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care106

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (4 prices, $36,000 to $42,000)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Independent Living – Apartment (1BR-Small)716Entrance Deposit ($4,800 refundable portion)from $36,000p. 22No extra charge
Independent Living – Apartment (1 BR-Large)849Entrance Deposit ($4,800 refundable portion)from $38,000p. 22No extra charge
Independent Living – Apartment (2 BR-Small)969Entrance Deposit ($4,800 refundable portion)from $40,000p. 22No extra charge
Independent Living – Apartment (2 BR-Large)1,159Entrance Deposit ($4,800 refundable portion)from $42,000p. 22No extra charge

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (4 prices, $3,531 to $4,267)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – Apartment (1BR-Small)Independent living$3,531p. 21$500
Independent Living – Apartment (1 BR-Large)Independent living$3,681p. 21$500
Independent Living – Apartment (2 BR-Small)Independent living$3,840p. 21$500
Independent Living – Apartment (2 BR-Large)Independent living$4,267p. 21$500

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 0%20212022: 5%20222023: 4%20232024: 4%20242025: 4%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 22
2024Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 22
2023Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 22
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 22
2021Independent livingAll units0%Percent onlyp. 22

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Entrance Deposit ($4,800 refundable portion)p. 81

Of a $36,000-$42,000 entrance fee, at most $4,800 is ever refundable once you have lived there 30 days; the rest is kept. That $4,800 drops by $100 for each month of residency and reaches zero at 48 months. Only a move-out within the first 30 days refunds the fee in full. Any refund is paid within 30 days after you vacate, without waiting for a new resident.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
1 month
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Stanley Total Living Center, Inc.
  • Ratios: Stanley Total Living Center, Inc. (provider only).

Days cash on hand

152 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 47FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand152 days133 days162 days
Operating margin-2%-4%-10%
Total assets$28.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$1.1 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$0Not disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$209,310Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$16,700Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$26.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Gatewood, Bagley & Huffman, CPAs, PC. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 47

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 182024p. 182023p. 182022p. 182021p. 18
Independent living94%89%94%77%86%
Assisted living60%46%44%45%51%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care83%82%70%56%59%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $31,967. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 7. Stanley Total Living Center on Care Compare

In brief

Stanley Total Living Center is a debt-free nonprofit in Stanley, opened in 1983, with 106 skilled nursing beds, 40 assisted living beds and 20 independent apartments at The Parke (8 more on the main campus are closed pending renovation). Apartment entrance fees are $36,000 to $42,000, of which only $4,800 is refundable and that declines to nothing over 48 months; assisted living and nursing are paid at published daily rates. Audited FY2025 results show 152 days cash on hand and a -2.0% operating margin.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.