Home › Compare
The Templeton of Cary and Windsor Point compared
Two North Carolina communities about 10 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | The Templeton of Cary | Windsor Point |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Cary, NC | Fuquay-Varina, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | $8,000 to $292,500p. 21 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $6,098 to $9,413p. 68 | $3,060 to $6,995p. 19 |
| Refund plans | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Life Occupancy (declining balance, 0% after 50 months); 50% Life Equity (50% refundable); Health Care Entrance Fee (amortized over 6 months)p. 75p. 76 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | 50% of the feep. 75p. 76 |
| When a refund is paid | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 75p. 76 |
| Days cash on hand | 51 days (FY2025)p. 2The 51 days rests on $3,330,525 of unrestricted cash and investments. Against a required statutory operating reserve of $7,289,815 that is a deficiency of $3,959,290, which the statement says the community will satisfy with an irrevocable, unconditional letter of credit of $7,289,815 payable to the NC Department of Insurance. The whole $68,852,401 note payable was due to mature on January 30, 2026 and is classified as current; on February 11, 2026 the company entered into a new loan maturing March 2029, with the option to extend for two successive one-year terms, and used it to fully repay that note. | 385 days (FY2025)p. 34The document reports debt service coverage of 104.63x (not shown: outside the range the site displays) because the only debt is a small $67,840 loan; the community's main fixed cost is $2.5M a year of rent to a related-party landlord, which is an operating expense, not debt. Days cash counts cash and certificates of deposit ($12.4M) and excludes the $3.73M statutory operating reserve. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 1.45x (FY2025)p. 2The 51 days rests on $3,330,525 of unrestricted cash and investments. Against a required statutory operating reserve of $7,289,815 that is a deficiency of $3,959,290, which the statement says the community will satisfy with an irrevocable, unconditional letter of credit of $7,289,815 payable to the NC Department of Insurance. The whole $68,852,401 note payable was due to mature on January 30, 2026 and is classified as current; on February 11, 2026 the company entered into a new loan maturing March 2029, with the option to extend for two successive one-year terms, and used it to fully repay that note. | Not disclosed in the 2026 filingThe document reports debt service coverage of 104.63x (not shown: outside the range the site displays) because the only debt is a small $67,840 loan; the community's main fixed cost is $2.5M a year of rent to a related-party landlord, which is an operating expense, not debt. Days cash counts cash and certificates of deposit ($12.4M) and excludes the $3.73M statutory operating reserve. |
| Independent living occupancy | 93.7% (2025)p. 16 | 87% (2025)p. 15 |
| Net position | $35.7 million (FY2025)p. 41 | $8.8 million (FY2025)p. 44 |
| Whose finances | The Templeton of Cary (combined: Cary Senior Housing I OPCO, LLC, Cary Senior Housing I PROPCO, LLC and Brightmore Senior Living of Cary, LLC); ratios for The Templeton of Cary (co-providers, combined)p. 41 | Windsor Point, Inc.p. 44 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Cherry Bekaert LLPp. 41 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Richey, May & Co., LLPp. 44 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
The Templeton of Cary
Type B (modified): No care days are included. Each calendar year a resident gets 10% off Healthcare Center fees for the first 30 days of stay (unused days do not carry over); after that, care is at the published per diem, on top of the independent living monthly fee. Residents get priority access to open beds when the closed beds are full.p. 93
Windsor Point
Type B (modified): Independent residents accrue 15 health care days a year, up to 30 banked at once, paying only their regular monthly fee plus extra meals and ancillaries. After those days run out a temporary stay costs the monthly fee plus 50% of the published per diem; a permanent move switches the resident to the published health care rate. Residents get priority admission to the on-campus Kelly Health Care Center.p. 80