Skip to content

The Templeton of Cary

215 Brightmore Drive, Cary, North Carolina 27518 · Community website

Operator:
Cary Senior Housing I OPCO, LLC, Cary Senior Housing I PROPCO, LLC and Brightmore Senior Living of Cary, LLC (co-providers); managed through Liberty Living Management, LLC
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
2020

Real estate owned by Cary PROPCO and leased to the operating company Cary OPCO; staff employed by Brightmore Senior Living of Cary; management affiliated with Liberty Healthcare Group.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Monthly fee, independent living

$6,098 to $9,413p. 68

Refund plans offered

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

51 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The 51 days rests on $3,330,525 of unrestricted cash and investments. Against a required statutory operating reserve of $7,289,815 that is a deficiency of $3,959,290, which the statement says the community will satisfy with an irrevocable, unconditional letter of credit of $7,289,815 payable to the NC Department of Insurance. The whole $68,852,401 note payable was due to mature on January 30, 2026 and is classified as current; on February 11, 2026 the company entered into a new loan maturing March 2029, with the option to extend for two successive one-year terms, and used it to fully repay that note.

Independent living occupancy

93.7% (2025)p. 16

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Residency and Care Agreement (rental); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

No care days are included. Each calendar year a resident gets 10% off Healthcare Center fees for the first 30 days of stay (unused days do not carry over); after that, care is at the published per diem, on top of the independent living monthly fee. Residents get priority access to open beds when the closed beds are full.p. 93

Assisted living
Published Healthcare Center per diem / monthly rate (assisted living $7,879 single in Table 21.1; average $7,882 standard, $8,516 memory support), with 10% off the first 30 days in the Healthcare Center each calendar year; the independent living monthly fee continues while the apartment is kept.
Nursing care
Published per diem ($600 a day private; $18,250 a month in Table 21.1), with the same 10% discount for the first 30 days each year. The three skilled nursing beds were closed in May 2026.
Discount on care
10%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 67
Independent living199
Assisted living93
Memory care22
Nursing care3

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2026 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

Rental only: a 13-month Residency and Care Agreement with no entrance fee. Move-in costs are a non-refundable Community Fee and a non-refundable Apartment Selection Fee (each one month's fee) plus a refundable Security Deposit of one month's fee. Health care is at published rates with 10% off the first 30 days in the Healthcare Center each calendar year, so it is mapped to Type B (a thin one).PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency and Care Agreement (13-month rental) · Type B (modified) (6 prices, $6,098 to $18,250)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living - One-bedroom (807 sq ft)Independent living$6,098p. 68$1,200
Independent Living - Two-bedroom (1,138 sq ft)Independent living$8,135p. 68$1,200
Independent Living - Two-bedroom/den (1,363 sq ft)Independent living$9,413p. 68$1,200
Assisted Living - StandardAssisted living$7,882p. 68$2,500
Memory SupportMemory care$8,516p. 68$2,500
Skilled Nursing (private)Nursing care$18,250p. 20Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3%20212022: 5%20222023: 8.7%20232024: 4.5%20242025: 5.5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units5.5%Percent onlyp. 20
2024Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 20
2023Independent livingAll units8.7%Percent onlyp. 20
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 20
2021Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 20

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

The 2026 filing does not set out refund plan terms.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: The Templeton of Cary (combined: Cary Senior Housing I OPCO, LLC, Cary Senior Housing I PROPCO, LLC and Brightmore Senior Living of Cary, LLC).
  • Ratios: The Templeton of Cary (co-providers, combined).

Days cash on hand

51 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

1.45x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe 51 days rests on $3,330,525 of unrestricted cash and investments. Against a required statutory operating reserve of $7,289,815 that is a deficiency of $3,959,290, which the statement says the community will satisfy with an irrevocable, unconditional letter of credit of $7,289,815 payable to the NC Department of Insurance. The whole $68,852,401 note payable was due to mature on January 30, 2026 and is classified as current; on February 11, 2026 the company entered into a new loan maturing March 2029, with the option to extend for two successive one-year terms, and used it to fully repay that note.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 41FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand51 days34 days11 days
Debt service coverage1.45x0.99x0.70x
Operating margin33.69%25.85%15.72%
Total assets$108.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$72.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$68.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$35.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Cherry Bekaert LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 41

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 162024p. 162023p. 162022p. 162021p. 16
Independent living93.7%78.5%73.9%59.6%30.8%
Assisted living82.2%64.5%46.9%39.2%29.4%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care97.9%92.4%83.5%67.8%70%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2026-05 Closed the community's three private skilled nursing units and converted them to assisted living, eliminating all skilled nursing beds.p. 68
  • 2026-02 On February 11, 2026, entered into a new loan agreement maturing March 2029 (with the option to extend for two successive one-year terms) and used the proceeds to fully repay the $68,852,401 note payable that was to mature on January 30, 2026.p. 52
  • 2024-06 Converted 22 skilled nursing beds to 25 assisted living units, leaving 115 assisted living units and 3 skilled nursing beds.p. 68

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

The Templeton of Cary is a for-profit rental continuing care retirement community in Cary, NC with 199 independent living apartments and 115 assisted living and memory support units on a 15.5-acre site; its last three skilled nursing beds closed in May 2026. There is no entrance fee: residents sign 13-month agreements with average 2026 monthly fees of $6,098-$9,413 in independent living, and get 10% off the first 30 days of care each year. It held 51 days of cash at the end of 2025 and refinanced its $68.9M mortgage in February 2026.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.