Home › Compare
The Virginian and The Mather compared
Two Virginia communities about 5 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | The Virginian | The Mather |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Fairfax, VA | Tysons, VA |
| Filing used | 2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Rental | Type A (life care), Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | None: rental | $698,500 to $4,783,800p. 100 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $5,730 to $9,660p. 23 | $3,656 to $12,636p. 100 |
| Refund plans | None: rental contract | 90% Refundablep. 15 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | None: rental contract | 90% of the feep. 15 |
| When a refund is paid | None: rental contract | When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is firstp. 15 |
| Days cash on hand | 20 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 35Figures for Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated). | 424 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 86Computed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2024 filingFigures for Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated). | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingComputed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's. |
| Independent living occupancy | 58.6% (2023)p. 130 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Net position | $53.8 million (FY2023)p. 35 | $33.9 million (FY2024)p. 85 |
| Whose finances | Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated: The Virginian and Fountain View Village, AZ); ratios for Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated)p. 35 | Tysons LPC, LLCp. 85 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CJBS, LLCp. 35 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Grant Thornton LLPp. 85 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
The Virginian
Rental: No care is prepaid: the monthly plan 'does not entitle the individual to health care services' (p11). Residents get priority for Health Care Center beds, and a reserve of vacant rooms is kept for residents; outside patients are admitted in limited numbers (p12).p. 12
The Mather
Type A (life care): Unlimited days of assisted living, memory support or skilled nursing at virtually the same Monthly Service Fee the resident would have paid in independent living; the fee itself remains subject to increases.p. 30
Type B (modified): Ninety total days of assisted living, memory support or skilled nursing at virtually the same Monthly Service Fee, used in whole days; after that the resident pays the then-current market rate. 2025 proposed market rates: assisted living $9,696/month, memory support $11,424/month, skilled nursing $527/day.p. 30