Skip to content

The Virginian

9229 Arlington Boulevard, Fairfax, Virginia 22031

Operator:
Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (operating subsidiaries FFI Virginian Tenant LLC and FFI Virginian SNF Tenant LLC; managed by Life Care Services LLC)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Opened:
1980

For-profit LLC owned by Focus Healthcare Partners principals; real property owned by FFI Virginian Owner LLC; management agreement with Life Care Services LLC with fees tied to operating revenue.

  • Rental

Figures from the 2024 disclosure statement (fiscal 2023 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2023; this is the newest statement we have for The Virginian, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

None: rental

Monthly fee, independent living

$5,730 to $9,660p. 23

Refund plans offered

None: rental contract

Days cash on hand

20 (FY2023, calculated by us)p. 35Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated)

Independent living occupancy

58.6% (2023)p. 130

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Rental

No care is prepaid: the monthly plan 'does not entitle the individual to health care services' (p11). Residents get priority for Health Care Center beds, and a reserve of vacant rooms is kept for residents; outside patients are admitted in limited numbers (p12).p. 12

Assisted living
Assisted living and memory care are separate monthly rentals (AL $7,320-$12,560 base incl. Level 1 care; added care levels $1,995-$2,695/month and medication management $900-$2,000/month per person; memory care $10,660-$16,500).
Nursing care
Health Care Center private pay $457/day semiprivate, $554/day private (Exhibit G-2, p26).
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 130
Independent living114
Assisted living71
Memory care38
Nursing care81

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2024 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

Rental only. 'There is no applicable entrance fee as the community is not offering continuing care contracts' (p10); 'The community is a rental community and has never offered continuing care contracts since acquisition in April of 2019' (p10). Monthly rental for independent living, assisted living and memory care, plus a one-time $15,000 community fee and a $1,000 deposit credited to the first bill; health care center billed at daily private-pay rates. Either side may end the monthly agreement on 30 days' notice (p12). One-time community fee: $15,000 (pp. 23–25; the filing does not state whether it is refundable) — not an entrance fee.PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Independent Living Rental · Rental (7 prices, $5,730 to $9,660)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (The Rosslyn, 532-584 sq ft)Independent living$5,730 to $6,630p. 23$2,300
1 Bedroom, 2 Bath + Den (The Reston, 846-873 sq ft)Independent living$7,130 to $7,860p. 23$2,300
2 Bedroom, 1 Bath (The Arlington, 737-1,041 sq ft)Independent living$6,560 to $7,240p. 23$2,300
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (The Leesburg, 754-880 sq ft)Independent living$6,470 to $7,580p. 23$2,300
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (The Sterling, 846-873 sq ft)Independent living$6,890 to $7,720p. 23$2,300
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (The Alexandria, 1,109-1,164 sq ft)Independent living$7,440 to $8,830p. 23$2,300
3 Bedroom, 2 Bath (The Middleburg, 1,294-1,462 sq ft)Independent living$9,660p. 23$2,300
Assisted Living Rental · Rental (4 prices, $7,320 to $12,560)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (The Annandale, 224-328 sq ft)Assisted living$7,320 to $8,710p. 24$2,400
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (The Springfield, 532-584 sq ft)Assisted living$9,850 to $10,590p. 24$2,400
2 Bedroom, 1 Bath (The Merrifield, 716-863 sq ft)Assisted living$11,460 to $11,920p. 24$2,400
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (The Burke, 754-880 sq ft)Assisted living$12,560p. 24$2,400
Memory Care Rental · Rental (3 prices, $10,660 to $16,500)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (The Clifton, 350 sq ft)Memory care$13,510p. 25Not listed
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (The Chantilly, 565 sq ft)Memory care$16,500p. 25Not listed
Shared 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath (The Clarendon, 565 sq ft)Memory care$10,660p. 25Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

No year-by-year increase history was recorded from the 2024 filing.

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

No entrance-fee refund plan: residents rent.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • The Virginian is part of Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (The Virginian, Fairfax VA, and 90%-owned Fountain View Village, Fountain Hills AZ).
  • Balance sheet: Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated: The Virginian and Fountain View Village, AZ).
  • Ratios: Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated).
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

20 days FY2023p. 35

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2023p. 35FY2022p. 35
Days cash on hand20 daysNot disclosed
Total assets$149.0 million$137.0 million
Total liabilities$95.2 million$76.9 million
Long-term debt$91.2 million$71.8 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$53.8 million$60.1 million

Auditor: CJBS, LLC. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 35

Occupancy

Level of care2023p. 130
Independent living58.6%
Assisted living76%
Memory care94.4%
Nursing care90.8%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-04 BMO Harris Bank granted a one-year extension of the mortgage maturity from April 2024 to April 2025 (outstanding principal $58,804,792 at 12/31/2023, variable rate 7.95%).p. 46
  • 2019-04Ownership change Focus SH I Holdings II LLC acquired 100% ownership of The Virginian on April 25, 2019.p. 39

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

The Virginian is a for-profit rental senior living community in Fairfax, Virginia, in operation since 1980, with independent living, assisted living, memory care and a health care center. It does not offer continuing care contracts or entrance fees; residents pay monthly rent plus a one-time $15,000 community fee, and care is billed at separate rates. Its FY2023 financials are reported together with an Arizona community owned by the same parent.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.