Skip to content

Home › Compare

The Virginian and Woodleigh Chase compared

Two communities in Fairfax, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureThe VirginianWoodleigh Chase
LocationFairfax, VAFairfax, VA
Filing used2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF
Contract typesRentalType C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one personNone: rental$479,000 to $1,242,000p. 104
Monthly fee, independent living$5,730 to $9,660p. 23$3,603 to $5,189p. 104
Refund plansNone: rental contract80% Refundablep. 26
Highest guaranteed refundNone: rental contract80% of the feep. 26
When a refund is paidNone: rental contractIn turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 26
Days cash on hand20 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 35Figures for Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated).Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2024 filingNot disclosed in the 2024 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2024 filingFigures for Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated).Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Independent living occupancy58.6% (2023)p. 130Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Net position$53.8 million (FY2023)p. 35$203.6 million (FY2023)p. 164
Whose financesFocus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated: The Virginian and Fountain View Village, AZ); ratios for Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated)p. 35Woodleigh Chase, Inc. and ELP Fairfax, LLC (landowner), combined in the Exhibit 9 summaryp. 164
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, CJBS, LLCp. 35Unmodified (clean) opinion, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP (Woodleigh Chase, Inc.); RSM US LLP (ELP Fairfax, LLC)p. 164
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linkedNo CMS record linked

What care costs later, in each contract

The Virginian

Rental: No care is prepaid: the monthly plan 'does not entitle the individual to health care services' (p11). Residents get priority for Health Care Center beds, and a reserve of vacant rooms is kept for residents; outside patients are admitted in limited numbers (p12).p. 12

Woodleigh Chase

Type C (fee for service): Care is paid at the Continuing Care neighborhood's own monthly packages and daily rates; no days are included and no discount is stated. Assisted living, memory care and nursing are not built yet (Continuing Care scheduled March 2028 to January 2030); until then residents needing that care go to a local facility under priority transfer agreements.p. 104

Questions to ask both communities before you sign