Skip to content

Woodleigh Chase

9801 Woodleigh Lane, Fairfax, Virginia 22032

Operator:
Woodleigh Chase, Inc. (managed by Erickson Senior Living, LLC)
Ownership:
Mixed nonprofit and for-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Opened:
2024

Operator Woodleigh Chase, Inc. is a non-stock corporation intended to be a 501(c)(3), sole member National Senior Communities, Inc. (nonprofit). The land and buildings are owned by ELP Fairfax, LLC, a for-profit Erickson affiliate, and leased to the operator; Erickson Senior Living, LLC (for-profit) manages and markets the community.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2024 disclosure statement (fiscal 2023 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2023; this is the newest statement we have for Woodleigh Chase, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$479,000 to $1,242,000p. 104

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,603 to $5,189p. 104

Refund plans offered

  • 80% RefundableNever less than 80% of the fee

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

Independent living occupancy

Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Care is paid at the Continuing Care neighborhood's own monthly packages and daily rates; no days are included and no discount is stated. Assisted living, memory care and nursing are not built yet (Continuing Care scheduled March 2028 to January 2030); until then residents needing that care go to a local facility under priority transfer agreements.p. 104

Assisted living
Assisted living or memory care monthly service package plus care-level packages replaces the IL fee; these levels are not built yet and the filing gives only projected averages, which are not recorded
Nursing care
Nursing daily rate; nursing is not built yet and the filing gives only an anticipated 2025 rate, which is not recorded
Units on campusp. 164
Independent livingNot disclosed in the 2024 filing
Assisted livingNot disclosed in the 2024 filing
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2024 filing
Nursing careNot disclosed in the 2024 filing

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

80% Refundable Residence and Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (5 prices, $479,000 to $1,242,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
1 Bedroom 1.5 Bath80% Refundable$479,000 to $531,000p. 104Not listed
1 Bedroom with Den 1.5 Bath80% Refundable$564,000 to $639,000p. 104Not listed
2 Bedroom 2 Bath80% Refundable$631,000 to $1,052,000p. 104Not listed
2 Bedroom with Den 2 Bath80% Refundable$893,000 to $1,128,000p. 104Not listed
2 Bedroom with Den 2.5 Bath80% Refundable$1,147,000 to $1,242,000p. 104Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

80% Refundable Residence and Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (5 prices, $3,603 to $5,189)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
1 Bedroom 1.5 BathIndependent living$3,603p. 104$1,293
1 Bedroom with Den 1.5 BathIndependent living$3,779 to $3,868p. 104$1,293
2 Bedroom 2 BathIndependent living$3,868 to $4,836p. 104$1,293
2 Bedroom with Den 2 BathIndependent living$4,485 to $4,924p. 104$1,293
2 Bedroom with Den 2.5 BathIndependent living$5,101 to $5,189p. 104$1,293

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent living1 Bedroom 1.5 Bath (starting fee)3.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,298 to $3,426p. 107
2025Independent living1 Bedroom with Den 1.5 Bath (starting fee)3.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,638 to $3,779p. 107
2025Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath (starting fee)3.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,723 to $3,868p. 107
2025Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath with Den (starting fee)3.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,232 to $4,397p. 107
2025Independent living2 Bedroom 2.5 Bath with Den (starting fee)3.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,995 to $5,189p. 107
2025Independent livingJoint Resident fee (starting fee)3.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,245 to $1,293p. 107
2024Independent living1 Bedroom 1.5 Bath (starting fee)3.6%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,184 to $3,298p. 107
2024Independent living1 Bedroom with Den 1.5 Bath (starting fee)3.6%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,512 to $3,638p. 107
2024Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath (starting fee)3.6%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,594 to $3,723p. 107
2024Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath with Den (starting fee)1.6%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,167 to $4,232p. 107
2024Independent living2 Bedroom 2.5 Bath with Den (starting fee)5.4%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,740 to $4,995p. 107
2024Independent livingJoint Resident fee (starting fee)3.6%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,202 to $1,245p. 107

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

80% Refundablep. 26

20% of the entrance fee is a non-refundable Community Fee; 80% is refunded with no monthly decline. After you vacate you get a refund number, and refunds are paid in sequence from a Refund Account funded by new residents' entrance fees, within 60 days once the account can pay yours in full. The refund can be reduced if the fee was spent on your care under the financial-assistance terms.

Kept on move-in
20% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
80% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $383,200 (80% of the fee)

When it is paid: in turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Woodleigh Chase, Inc. and ELP Fairfax, LLC (landowner), combined in the Exhibit 9 summary.

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2023p. 164FY2022p. 164
Total assets$229.0 million$153.5 million
Total liabilities$25.4 million$23.3 million
Long-term debtNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$203.6 million$131.2 million

Auditor: PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP (Woodleigh Chase, Inc.); RSM US LLP (ELP Fairfax, LLC). Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 164

Occupancy

The 2024 filing does not report occupancy.

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-01Ownership change On January 1, 2024, Woodleigh Chase, Inc. (formerly Fairfax NSC Retirement Community Inc.) acquired the CCRC operations of Woodleigh Chase, LLC (now ELP Fairfax, LLC), including existing residence and care agreements, and leases the land and buildings from ELP Fairfax; it began providing services to residents in March 2024.p. 118

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Woodleigh Chase is an Erickson Senior Living community on Braddock Road in Fairfax County whose independent living began serving residents in March 2024 and is being built in phases. Its assisted living, memory care and nursing neighborhood is not built yet (scheduled 2028-2030); until then residents needing that care go to a local facility under transfer agreements. Entrance fees in 2025 run from $479,000 to $1,242,000, with 80% refunded from a pool of new residents' fees, monthly fees start at $3,603 plus $1,293 for a second person, and the filing's most recent financial figures are for 2023, before opening.PDF

Also in Fairfax

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.