Home › Compare
Trinity Oaks and Piedmont Crossing compared
Two North Carolina communities about 25 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Trinity Oaks | Piedmont Crossing |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Salisbury, NC | Thomasville, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type C (fee for service) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $69,627 to $499,888p. 27p. 28 | $61,500 to $568,500p. 28p. 29 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $2,408 to $4,293p. 25 | $1,993 to $4,196p. 27p. 26 |
| Refund plans | 90% Refund; 50% Refund; Limited Refundp. 47 | Fully Declining (0% Refundable); 50% Refundablep. 157p. 49 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 90% of the feep. 47 | 50% of the feep. 157p. 49 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 47 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 157p. 49 |
| Days cash on hand | 659 days (FY2025, interim)p. 2Figures for Lutheran Retirement Center - Salisbury, Inc. (provider only per FS-1; the 659 days reproduce from the Trinity Oaks campus consolidated schedule). No audit was attached: Appendix A, titled 'Audited Financial Statements', holds a management actual-vs-forecast schedule, so these figures and ratios are unaudited. The 659 days count $45.0M of campus cash and investments including the $2.3M statutory operating reserve (about 625 days without it), while Section 29.1 reports only $9.7M of unrestricted cash and investments. Coverage is high because the provider carries little debt (p46). The LSA obligated group, jointly liable for the system's bonds, reported 408 days cash and 4.48x coverage (Table FS-2). | 566 days (FY2025)p. 2Figures for EveryAge, provider only — one set of ratios covering Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels together (shared with the Abernethy Laurels filing). Provider-level ratios for EveryAge, which runs both Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels, so these figures are shared with Abernethy Laurels and are not for this campus alone. The bond obligated group (adding Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p47). |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 23.80x (FY2025, interim)p. 2Figures for Lutheran Retirement Center - Salisbury, Inc. (provider only per FS-1; the 659 days reproduce from the Trinity Oaks campus consolidated schedule). No audit was attached: Appendix A, titled 'Audited Financial Statements', holds a management actual-vs-forecast schedule, so these figures and ratios are unaudited. The 659 days count $45.0M of campus cash and investments including the $2.3M statutory operating reserve (about 625 days without it), while Section 29.1 reports only $9.7M of unrestricted cash and investments. Coverage is high because the provider carries little debt (p46). The LSA obligated group, jointly liable for the system's bonds, reported 408 days cash and 4.48x coverage (Table FS-2). | 5.26x (FY2025)p. 2Figures for EveryAge, provider only — one set of ratios covering Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels together (shared with the Abernethy Laurels filing). Provider-level ratios for EveryAge, which runs both Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels, so these figures are shared with Abernethy Laurels and are not for this campus alone. The bond obligated group (adding Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p47). |
| Independent living occupancy | 93.9% (2025)p. 22 | 89.94% (2025)p. 23 |
| Net position | $47.9 million (FY2025)p. 52 | $69.6 million (FY2025)p. 57 |
| Whose finances | Trinity Oaks campus combined (Lutheran Retirement Center - Salisbury, Lutheran Home at Trinity Oaks, and the property company), management actual-vs-forecast schedule; ratios for Lutheran Retirement Center - Salisbury, Inc. (provider only per FS-1; the 659 days reproduce from the Trinity Oaks campus consolidated schedule)p. 52 | EveryAge and Affiliates (combined; includes Abernethy Laurels and the obligated-group affiliates); ratios for EveryAge, provider only — one set of ratios covering Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels together (shared with the Abernethy Laurels filing)p. 57 |
| Audit opinion | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 57 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Trinity Oaks
Type C (fee for service): Fee-for-service: assisted living and the 115-bed nursing center on campus are charged at their published rates, with no included days or discount. Residents get priority access when a bed is available; on a permanent move they keep paying a reduced monthly fee until their residence is vacated.p. 145
Piedmont Crossing
Type B (modified): Assisted living and nursing are paid at the community's current per diem rates, with a $10-a-day nursing discount for contract holders and 12 non-cumulative nurse visits a year in the monthly fee. 24 of the 104 nursing beds are reserved for contracted residents; if no bed is free, residents get priority application at other EveryAge nursing facilities.p. 27