Skip to content

Trinity Oaks

728 Klumac Road, Salisbury, North Carolina 28144 · Community website

Operator:
Lutheran Retirement Center - Salisbury, Inc. (d/b/a Trinity Oaks), managed by LSA Management, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Lutheran (North Carolina Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America)
Opened:
1993

Affiliate of Lutheran Services for the Aging, Inc.; nursing is operated by Lutheran Home at Trinity Oaks, Inc. (Trinity Oaks Health and Rehab) on the same campus.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$69,627 to $499,888p. 27p. 28

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,408 to $4,293p. 25

Refund plans offered

  • 90% RefundNever less than 90% of the fee
  • 50% RefundNever less than 50% of the fee
  • Limited RefundCan decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

659 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for Lutheran Retirement Center - Salisbury, Inc. (provider only per FS-1; the 659 days reproduce from the Trinity Oaks campus consolidated schedule)
Read the note on this figure

No audit was attached: Appendix A, titled 'Audited Financial Statements', holds a management actual-vs-forecast schedule, so these figures and ratios are unaudited. The 659 days count $45.0M of campus cash and investments including the $2.3M statutory operating reserve (about 625 days without it), while Section 29.1 reports only $9.7M of unrestricted cash and investments. Coverage is high because the provider carries little debt (p46). The LSA obligated group, jointly liable for the system's bonds, reported 408 days cash and 4.48x coverage (Table FS-2).

Independent living occupancy

93.9% (2025)p. 22

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Fee-for-service: assisted living and the 115-bed nursing center on campus are charged at their published rates, with no included days or discount. Residents get priority access when a bed is available; on a permanent move they keep paying a reduced monthly fee until their residence is vacated.p. 145

Assisted living
Assisted living monthly fee by level of care ($6,906 Standard to $8,001 Maximum Care)
Nursing care
Trinity Oaks Health and Rehab daily rates, plus the independent living monthly fee until the apartment or cottage is vacated (reduced to remove duplicated services)
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 21
Independent living179
Assisted living50
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care115

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (21 prices, $69,627 to $499,888)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
The Salisburian - Studio504Limited Refund$69,627p. 27$4,704
The Salisburian - Studio50450% Refund$93,046p. 27$6,269
The Salisburian - Studio50490% Refund$166,469p. 27$11,284
The Rowan - One Bedroom Standard607Limited Refund$81,978p. 27$4,704
The Rowan - One Bedroom Standard60750% Refund$109,586p. 27$6,269
The Rowan - One Bedroom Standard60790% Refund$195,586p. 27$11,284
The Piedmont - One Bedroom Deluxe695Limited Refund$86,083p. 27$4,704
The Piedmont - One Bedroom Deluxe69550% Refund$114,566p. 27$6,269
The Piedmont - One Bedroom Deluxe69590% Refund$205,080p. 27$11,284
The Carolinian - Two Bedroom971Limited Refund$128,492p. 28$4,704
The Carolinian - Two Bedroom97150% Refund$171,533p. 28$6,269
The Carolinian - Two Bedroom97190% Refund$306,675p. 28$11,284
Cottage Small1,674 to 1,765Limited Refund$151,851p. 28$6,585
Cottage Small1,674 to 1,76550% Refund$202,462p. 28$8,776
Cottage Small1,674 to 1,76590% Refund$362,535p. 28$15,671
Cottage Medium1,821 to 2,095Limited Refund$168,941p. 28$6,585
Cottage Medium1,821 to 2,09550% Refund$225,250p. 28$8,776
Cottage Medium1,821 to 2,09590% Refund$402,920p. 28$15,671
Cottage Large2,250 to 2,932Limited Refund$220,213p. 28$6,585
Cottage Large2,250 to 2,93250% Refund$293,610p. 28$8,776
Cottage Large2,250 to 2,93290% Refund$499,888p. 28$15,671

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (11 prices, $2,408 to $8,001)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living - StudioIndependent living$2,482p. 25Not listed
Independent Living - One BedroomIndependent living$3,117p. 25$1,305
Independent Living - One Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$3,333p. 25$1,307
Independent Living - Two BedroomIndependent living$3,981p. 25$1,305
Independent Living - CottageIndependent living$4,293p. 25$1,454
Independent Living - Cottage Freedom PlanIndependent living$2,408p. 25$317
Independent Living - Cottage Unbundled PlanIndependent living$3,351p. 25$951
Assisted Living - StandardAssisted living$6,906p. 26Not listed
Assisted Living - Enhanced Care ServicesAssisted living$7,271p. 26Not listed
Assisted Living - Enhanced Care Plus ServicesAssisted living$7,636p. 26Not listed
Assisted Living - Maximum CareAssisted living$8,001p. 26Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 3%20222023: 5%20232024: 4%20242025: 4%20252026: 4%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 26
2026Assisted livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 27
2025Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 26
2025Assisted livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 27
2024Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 26
2024Assisted livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 27
2023Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 26
2023Assisted livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 27
2022Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 26
2022Assisted livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 27

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

90% Refundp. 47

1% of the entrance fee is kept at move-in and the refund falls another 0.5% a month for 18 months, leaving 90% refundable. It is paid after the apartment or cottage is vacated and reoccupied.

Kept on move-in
1% of the fee
Declines by
0.5% a month for 18 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundp. 47

2% of the entrance fee is kept at move-in and the refund falls another 1% a month for 48 months, leaving 50% refundable. It is paid after the unit is vacated and reoccupied.

Kept on move-in
2% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 48 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Limited Refundp. 47

A 4% service fee is kept at move-in and the refund falls 2% a month; after 48 months nothing is refundable. Any balance is paid after the unit is reoccupied.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $149,822 (90% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Trinity Oaks is part of Lutheran Services for the Aging, Inc. (Lutheran Services Carolinas) Obligated Group.
  • Balance sheet: Trinity Oaks campus combined (Lutheran Retirement Center - Salisbury, Lutheran Home at Trinity Oaks, and the property company), management actual-vs-forecast schedule.
  • Ratios: Lutheran Retirement Center - Salisbury, Inc. (provider only per FS-1; the 659 days reproduce from the Trinity Oaks campus consolidated schedule).
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

659 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

23.80x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresNo audit was attached: Appendix A, titled 'Audited Financial Statements', holds a management actual-vs-forecast schedule, so these figures and ratios are unaudited. The 659 days count $45.0M of campus cash and investments including the $2.3M statutory operating reserve (about 625 days without it), while Section 29.1 reports only $9.7M of unrestricted cash and investments. Coverage is high because the provider carries little debt (p46). The LSA obligated group, jointly liable for the system's bonds, reported 408 days cash and 4.48x coverage (Table FS-2).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 52FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand659 days560 days443 days
Debt service coverage23.80x22.23x16.68x
Total assets$71.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$24.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$4.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$8.1 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$9.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$47.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Not disclosed in the 2026 filing. Opinion: Not disclosed in the 2026 filingp. 52

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 222024p. 222023p. 222022p. 222021p. 22
Independent living93.9%94.4%93.5%91.2%97.6%
Assisted living97.4%97%96.9%95.5%89.2%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care93.5%92.21%85.82%87.9%83.34%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 15. Trinity Oaks on Care Compare

In brief

Trinity Oaks in Salisbury, an affiliate of Lutheran Services Carolinas that opened in 1993, has 179 independent living apartments and cottages, 50 assisted living beds and a 115-bed nursing center on one campus. Entrance fees run from $69,627 for a studio on the Limited Refund plan to $499,888 for a large cottage on the 90% plan. Assisted living and nursing are charged at their own rates.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.