Skip to content

Piedmont Crossing

100 Hedrick Drive, Thomasville, North Carolina 27360 · Community website

Operator:
EveryAge
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
United Church of Christ (Southern Conference)
Opened:
1986
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$61,500 to $568,500p. 28p. 29

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,993 to $4,196p. 27p. 26

Refund plans offered

  • Fully Declining (0% Refundable)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee

Days cash on hand

566 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for EveryAge, provider only — one set of ratios covering Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels together (shared with the Abernethy Laurels filing)
Read the note on this figure

Provider-level ratios for EveryAge, which runs both Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels, so these figures are shared with Abernethy Laurels and are not for this campus alone. The bond obligated group (adding Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p47).

Independent living occupancy

89.94% (2025)p. 23

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it fee-for-service or limited-benefit; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Assisted living and nursing are paid at the community's current per diem rates, with a $10-a-day nursing discount for contract holders and 12 non-cumulative nurse visits a year in the monthly fee. 24 of the 104 nursing beds are reserved for contracted residents; if no bed is free, residents get priority application at other EveryAge nursing facilities.p. 27

Assisted living
Per diem assisted living rate (Studio A $6,418/month, Studio B $6,935/month); no resident discount stated for assisted living.
Nursing care
Per diem skilled nursing rate less $10/day for residents contracted after 10/01/2014 (companion suite $10,311/month, private room $10,889/month before discount).
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 21
Independent living169
Assisted living20
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care104

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Fully Declining Residential Living Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (11 prices, $61,500 to $379,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Pavilion Studio ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$61,500p. 28Not listed
Pavillion One Bedroom ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$78,500p. 28Not listed
Pavillion Two Bedroom ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$96,500p. 28Not listed
Gallery One Bedroom Apartment CornerFully Declining (0% Refundable)$85,000p. 28Not listed
Gallery One Bedroom ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$85,000p. 28Not listed
Gallery Two Bedroom ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$121,500p. 28Not listed
Veranda B One Bedroom ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$96,000p. 28Not listed
Veranda B Two Bedroom ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$132,500p. 28Not listed
Kennedy Court, Veranda A or C Patio HomeFully Declining (0% Refundable)$109,500 to $151,500p. 28Not listed
VillaFully Declining (0% Refundable)$275,000 to $358,500p. 28Not listed
CottageFully Declining (0% Refundable)$256,000 to $379,000p. 28Not listed
50% Refund Residential Living Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (11 prices, $92,250 to $568,500)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Pavilion Studio Apartment50% Refundable$92,250p. 29Not listed
Pavillion One Bedroom Apartment50% Refundable$117,750p. 29Not listed
Pavillion Two Bedroom Apartment50% Refundable$144,750p. 29Not listed
Gallery One Bedroom Apartment Corner50% Refundable$127,500p. 29Not listed
Gallery One Bedroom Apartment50% Refundable$127,500p. 29Not listed
Gallery Two Bedroom Apartment50% Refundable$182,250p. 29Not listed
Veranda B One Bedroom Apartment50% RefundableNot disclosedp. 29Not listed
Veranda B Two Bedroom Apartment50% Refundable$198,750p. 29Not listed
Kennedy Court, Veranda A or C Patio Home50% Refundable$164,250 to $227,250p. 29Not listed
Villa50% Refundable$412,500 to $537,750p. 29Not listed
Cottage50% Refundable$384,000 to $568,500p. 29Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residential Living Residency Agreement (both refund options) · Type B (modified) (17 prices, $1,993 to $14,357)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Residential Living – Pavilion One Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$3,707p. 26$1,100
Residential Living – Pavilion Deluxe StudioIndependent living$3,079p. 26$1,100
Residential Living – Pavilion Two Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$4,196p. 26$1,100
Residential Living – Village One Bedroom Patio Home - Veranda BIndependent living$1,993p. 27$796
Residential Living – Village Two Bedroom Patio Home - Veranda BIndependent living$2,124p. 27$796
Residential Living – Village One Bedroom Patio Home - Kennedy Court, Veranda A and CIndependent living$2,047p. 27$796
Residential Living – Village Two Bedroom Patio Home - Kennedy Court, Veranda A and CIndependent living$2,205p. 27$796
Residential Living – Gallery One Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$2,769p. 27$1,062
Residential Living – Gallery Two Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$2,981p. 27$1,062
VillaIndependent living$2,157p. 27$796
CottageIndependent living$2,336p. 27$796
Skilled Nursing Rehab Private RoomNursing care$14,357p. 27Not listed
Skilled Nursing Private RoomNursing care$10,889p. 27Not listed
Skilled Nursing Companion SuiteNursing care$10,311p. 27Not listed
Memory SupportMemory care$11,315p. 27Not listed
Assisted Living Studio BAssisted living$6,935p. 27Not listed
Assisted Living Studio AAssisted living$6,418p. 27Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 4%20212022: 5%20222023: 5%20232024: 4%20242025: 4%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 28
2024Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 28
2023Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 28
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 28
2021Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 28

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Fully Declining (0% Refundable)p. 157

Leaving between day 30 and day 90 costs 10% of the fee; from day 91 the refundable amount is 90% of the original fee, falling 2.73% a month to nothing after month 36. Any refund is paid within 30 days after a new resident has signed for the unit and paid in full.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2.73% a month for 36 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundablep. 49

From day 91 the refundable amount is 90% of the original fee, falling 1.21% a month through month 36 and then staying at 50%. The refund is paid within 30 days after the unit is remarketed and the new resident's fee is paid in full.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
1.21% a month for 36 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Piedmont Crossing is part of EveryAge (also operates Abernethy Laurels; obligated group with Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others).
  • Balance sheet: EveryAge and Affiliates (combined; includes Abernethy Laurels and the obligated-group affiliates).
  • Ratios: EveryAge, provider only — one set of ratios covering Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels together (shared with the Abernethy Laurels filing).

Days cash on hand

566 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

5.26x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresProvider-level ratios for EveryAge, which runs both Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels, so these figures are shared with Abernethy Laurels and are not for this campus alone. The bond obligated group (adding Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p47).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 57FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand566 days584 days508.8 days
Debt service coverage5.26x2.74x1.88x
Operating margin6.35%7.13%11%
Total assets$321.4 million$246.6 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$251.7 million$185.6 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$180.5 million$118.8 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$49.3 million$43.7 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$7.3 million$7.7 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$69.6 million$61.0 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 57

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 232024p. 232023p. 232022p. 232021p. 23
Independent living89.94%87.57%92.69%95.69%95.86%
Assisted living25%35%40.89%45.84%42.44%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care73.08%74.04%78.1%61.23%62.59%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 2. Piedmont Crossing on Care Compare

In brief

Piedmont Crossing in Thomasville, NC is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community run by EveryAge, opened in 1986, with 169 independent living units, 20 assisted living units and a 104-bed nursing center. Entrance fees run from $61,500 to $379,000 on a fully declining contract or $92,250 to $568,500 with a 50% refund, and assisted living and nursing are billed per diem with a $10-a-day nursing discount for contract holders. Finances are reported for EveryAge as a whole, which also runs Abernethy Laurels.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.