Home › Compare
Tryon Estates and White Oak Village Apartments compared
Two North Carolina communities about 3 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Tryon Estates | White Oak Village Apartments |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Columbus, NC | Tryon, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type A (life care) | Type C (fee for service), Rental |
| Entrance fee, one person | $179,900 to $802,900p. 31 | $25,000 to $30,000p. 18 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,254 to $5,790p. 30 | $1,110 to $1,895p. 18 |
| Refund plans | Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)p. 160 | Retention Schedule (0% after 4 years)p. 210 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 0% of the feep. 160 | 0% of the feep. 210 |
| When a refund is paid | Within a fixed number of daysp. 160 | Within a fixed number of daysp. 210 |
| Days cash on hand | 256 days (FY2025)p. 2Figures for ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group). Figures are for the whole ACTS obligated group, which runs many communities in several states; ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. alone (provider only) reports 257 days cash and 3.42x coverage for FY2025 (p45, p47). The 256 days rest on $395.2M of 'unrestricted cash and investments' (Section 29); the audit's liquidity note counts $321.2M of cash and investments without donor restrictions, including internally designated funds (p67), about 208 days, and says state reserves, debt reserves and the interest in ALF/CFSA investments are restricted. The document does not reconcile the $74M difference. | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for White Oak Manor-Tryon/White Oak Village Apartments (NHC HealthCare/Tryon, LLC), unaudited internal balance sheet. No ratios are reported, and the filing has no audited financial statements for White Oak Village or its operating LLC. The figures shown come from an unaudited internal ledger printout (p166-168) that combines the apartments with the White Oak Manor - Tryon nursing center and does not balance ($621,590 of assets vs $621,745 of liabilities and equity); it shows cash of -$990,360 and -$11.97M of 'other assets', so days cash cannot be computed meaningfully. The only audited statements in the filing are the FY2024 Form 10-K of the parent, National HealthCare Corporation, covering the whole company; parent figures are not shown as this community's. |
| Its lenders' minimum | At least 90 daysp. 46 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 3.31x (FY2025)p. 2Figures for ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group). Figures are for the whole ACTS obligated group, which runs many communities in several states; ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. alone (provider only) reports 257 days cash and 3.42x coverage for FY2025 (p45, p47). The 256 days rest on $395.2M of 'unrestricted cash and investments' (Section 29); the audit's liquidity note counts $321.2M of cash and investments without donor restrictions, including internally designated funds (p67), about 208 days, and says state reserves, debt reserves and the interest in ALF/CFSA investments are restricted. The document does not reconcile the $74M difference. | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for White Oak Manor-Tryon/White Oak Village Apartments (NHC HealthCare/Tryon, LLC), unaudited internal balance sheet. No ratios are reported, and the filing has no audited financial statements for White Oak Village or its operating LLC. The figures shown come from an unaudited internal ledger printout (p166-168) that combines the apartments with the White Oak Manor - Tryon nursing center and does not balance ($621,590 of assets vs $621,745 of liabilities and equity); it shows cash of -$990,360 and -$11.97M of 'other assets', so days cash cannot be computed meaningfully. The only audited statements in the filing are the FY2024 Form 10-K of the parent, National HealthCare Corporation, covering the whole company; parent figures are not shown as this community's. |
| Independent living occupancy | 95.7% (2025)p. 27 | 95% (2024)p. 4 |
| Net position | $229.4 million (FY2025)p. 57 | $82,280 (FY2024)p. 166 |
| Whose finances | ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group), special-purpose combined; ratios for ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group)p. 57 | White Oak Manor-Tryon/White Oak Village Apartments (NHC HealthCare/Tryon, LLC), unaudited internal balance sheetp. 166 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Baker Tilly US, LLPp. 57 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | 2 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Tryon Estates
Type A (life care): Per the representative contract, which is ACTS's North Carolina form (NC-RC001) and names its assisted living and nursing buildings OakBridge Terrace and WillowBrooke Court rather than Tryon Estates' own: assisted living, routine nursing and skilled nursing are provided as part of the Monthly Fee, so a move to a higher level of care does not change the monthly fee. Medications, therapy, physician services, supplies and subacute care are extra.p. 154
White Oak Village Apartments
Type C (fee for service): Residents get priority for a bed in the adjoining nursing center but no included days or stated discount, so nursing care is paid at the center's charges or through Medicare/Medicaid. A resident moved to the nursing center has 30 days to return before the apartment agreement can end (60 days after a hospital stay).p. 16
Rental: Same terms as the Retention Deposit plan: priority access to the adjoining nursing center, with no included days or stated discount.p. 16