Skip to content

White Oak Village Apartments

70 Oak Street, Tryon, North Carolina 28782 · Community website

Operator:
NHC HealthCare/Tryon, LLC (subsidiary of National HealthCare Corporation)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
1975

NHC HealthCare/Tryon, LLC is a North Carolina for-profit LLC owned 100% by NHC/OP, LP, which is 99% owned by publicly traded National HealthCare Corporation (p6, p8). The statement refers to an 'ownership transition' without dating it (p23); the LLC's articles of organization were filed June 11, 2024 (p24).

  • Type C (fee for service)
  • Rental

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for White Oak Village Apartments, and a later one may have been filed since.

In this filing

  • 2024-12: As of December 31, 2024 the available balance of the reserves was $0: the statement says the investment accounts were not funded during the ownership transition until the financial forecast set the required amount, and are being funded. The operating reserve requirement effective December 31, 2024 was $497,975.p. 23

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$25,000 to $30,000p. 18

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,110 to $1,895p. 18

Refund plans offered

  • Retention Schedule (0% after 4 years)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Read the note on this figure

No ratios are reported, and the filing has no audited financial statements for White Oak Village or its operating LLC. The figures shown come from an unaudited internal ledger printout (p166-168) that combines the apartments with the White Oak Manor - Tryon nursing center and does not balance ($621,590 of assets vs $621,745 of liabilities and equity); it shows cash of -$990,360 and -$11.97M of 'other assets', so days cash cannot be computed meaningfully. The only audited statements in the filing are the FY2024 Form 10-K of the parent, National HealthCare Corporation, covering the whole company; parent figures are not shown as this community's.

Independent living occupancy

95% (2024)p. 4

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

2 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.
  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Residents get priority for a bed in the adjoining nursing center but no included days or stated discount, so nursing care is paid at the center's charges or through Medicare/Medicaid. A resident moved to the nursing center has 30 days to return before the apartment agreement can end (60 days after a hospital stay).p. 16

Assisted living
No assisted living is offered.
Nursing care
Not stated; a bed in the adjoining White Oak Manor - Tryon nursing center is made available on a priority basis. The nursing center is Medicare and Medicaid certified.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Rental

Same terms as the Retention Deposit plan: priority access to the adjoining nursing center, with no included days or stated discount.p. 16

Assisted living
No assisted living is offered.
Nursing care
Not stated; same priority access to the adjoining nursing center as the Retention Deposit plan.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 4
Independent living101
Assisted livingNone on campus
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Nursing care70

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Apartment Rental Agreement (With Retention Schedule Included) · Type C (fee for service) (2 prices, $25,000 to $30,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
One BedroomRetention Schedule (0% after 4 years)$25,000p. 18Not listed
Two BedroomsRetention Schedule (0% after 4 years)$30,000p. 18Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Apartment Rental Agreement (With Retention Schedule Included) · Type C (fee for service) (2 prices, $1,110 to $1,390)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
One BedroomIndependent living$1,110p. 18$350
Two BedroomsIndependent living$1,390p. 18$355
Apartment Rental Agreement (With No Initial Deposit) · Rental (2 prices, $1,595 to $1,895)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
One BedroomIndependent living$1,595p. 18$545
Two BedroomsIndependent living$1,895p. 18$525

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2024Independent livingOne Bedroom (Retention Deposit Plan), 1 person0%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,110 to $1,110p. 19
2024Independent livingTwo Bedrooms (Retention Deposit Plan), 1 person0%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,390 to $1,390p. 19
2024Independent livingOne Bedroom (Straight Rental Plan), 1 person0%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,595 to $1,595p. 19
2024Independent livingTwo Bedrooms (Straight Rental Plan), 1 person0%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,895 to $1,895p. 19
2023Independent livingOne Bedroom (Retention Deposit Plan), 1 person5.2%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,055 to $1,110p. 19
2023Independent livingTwo Bedrooms (Retention Deposit Plan), 1 person4.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,325 to $1,390p. 19
2023Independent livingOne Bedroom (Straight Rental Plan), 1 person4.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,520 to $1,595p. 19
2023Independent livingTwo Bedrooms (Straight Rental Plan), 1 person5%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,805 to $1,895p. 19
2022Independent livingOne Bedroom (Retention Deposit Plan), 1 person5%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,005 to $1,055p. 19
2022Independent livingTwo Bedrooms (Retention Deposit Plan), 1 person5.2%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,260 to $1,325p. 19
2022Independent livingOne Bedroom (Straight Rental Plan), 1 person0%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,520 to $1,520p. 19
2022Independent livingTwo Bedrooms (Straight Rental Plan), 1 person0%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,805 to $1,805p. 19
2021Independent livingOne Bedroom (Retention Deposit Plan), 1 person0%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,005 to $1,005p. 19
2021Independent livingTwo Bedrooms (Retention Deposit Plan), 1 person0%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,260 to $1,260p. 19
2021Independent livingOne Bedroom (Straight Rental Plan), 1 person4.8%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,450 to $1,520p. 19
2021Independent livingTwo Bedrooms (Straight Rental Plan), 1 person4.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,720 to $1,805p. 19

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Retention Schedule (0% after 4 years)p. 210

20% of the Retention Deposit is kept on occupancy and a further 20% of the deposit is earned each year, prorated daily, so nothing is refundable after four years. A refund is paid within 30 days of the agreement ending. The disclosure statement says the unearned balance becomes the facility's property if the resident dies; the contract's wording on death contradicts itself.

Kept on move-in
20% of the fee
Declines by
1.67% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
1 month
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: within a fixed number of days. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • White Oak Village Apartments is part of National HealthCare Corporation.
  • Balance sheet: White Oak Manor-Tryon/White Oak Village Apartments (NHC HealthCare/Tryon, LLC), unaudited internal balance sheet.

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Read with these figuresNo ratios are reported, and the filing has no audited financial statements for White Oak Village or its operating LLC. The figures shown come from an unaudited internal ledger printout (p166-168) that combines the apartments with the White Oak Manor - Tryon nursing center and does not balance ($621,590 of assets vs $621,745 of liabilities and equity); it shows cash of -$990,360 and -$11.97M of 'other assets', so days cash cannot be computed meaningfully. The only audited statements in the filing are the FY2024 Form 10-K of the parent, National HealthCare Corporation, covering the whole company; parent figures are not shown as this community's.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet

Fiscal yearFY2024p. 166
Total assets$621,590
Total liabilities$539,465
Long-term debtNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$281,993
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$82,280

Auditor: Not disclosed in the 2025 filing. Opinion: Not disclosed in the 2025 filingp. 166

Occupancy

Level of care2024p. 4
Independent living95%
Assisted livingNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosed

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-12 As of December 31, 2024 the available balance of the reserves was $0: the statement says the investment accounts were not funded during the ownership transition until the financial forecast set the required amount, and are being funded. The operating reserve requirement effective December 31, 2024 was $497,975.p. 23

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $16,153. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 10. White Oak Manor - Tryon on Care Compare

In brief

White Oak Village Apartments in Tryon has 101 one- and two-bedroom apartments next to the White Oak Manor - Tryon nursing center, run by NHC HealthCare/Tryon, LLC, a subsidiary of National HealthCare Corporation. Residents rent either with a $25,000-$30,000 Retention Deposit that is fully earned by the community after four years ($1,110-$1,390 a month for one person) or without a deposit ($1,595-$1,895 a month), and get priority access to the nursing center at its own charges; there is no assisted living. The filing has no audited financial statements for the community itself (only the parent company's), says the reserve balance was $0 at the end of 2024 against a $497,975 requirement, and could be delivered only until May 30, 2025.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.