Skip to content

Tryon Estates

617 Laurel Lake Drive, Columbus, North Carolina 28722 · Community website

Operator:
ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1992

Tryon Estates is a trade name of ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Fort Washington, PA), whose sole member is ACTS Retirement Services, Inc.

  • Type A (life care)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$179,900 to $802,900p. 31

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,254 to $5,790p. 30

Refund plans offered

  • Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

256 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 90.Figures for ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group)
Read the note on this figure

Figures are for the whole ACTS obligated group, which runs many communities in several states; ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. alone (provider only) reports 257 days cash and 3.42x coverage for FY2025 (p45, p47). The 256 days rest on $395.2M of 'unrestricted cash and investments' (Section 29); the audit's liquidity note counts $321.2M of cash and investments without donor restrictions, including internally designated funds (p67), about 208 days, and says state reserves, debt reserves and the interest in ALF/CFSA investments are restricted. The document does not reconcile the $74M difference.

Independent living occupancy

95.7% (2025)p. 27

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)

Per the representative contract, which is ACTS's North Carolina form (NC-RC001) and names its assisted living and nursing buildings OakBridge Terrace and WillowBrooke Court rather than Tryon Estates' own: assisted living, routine nursing and skilled nursing are provided as part of the Monthly Fee, so a move to a higher level of care does not change the monthly fee. Medications, therapy, physician services, supplies and subacute care are extra.p. 154

Assisted living
Same Monthly Fee as the independent living residence (subject to periodic increases); extra meals and charges outside the Monthly Fee are billed
Nursing care
Same Monthly Fee as the residence; three meals a day come out of the Declining Balance Plan; ancillaries are extra
Units on campusp. 26
Independent living280
Assisted living42
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care36

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Resident Contract (Declining Balance) · Type A (life care) (5 prices, $179,900 to $802,900)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Melrose (1 Bedroom)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$179,900 to $280,900p. 31$40,000
Saluda (2 Bedroom)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$251,900 to $392,900p. 31$40,000
Pearson (3 Bedroom)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$313,900 to $488,900p. 31$40,000
White Oak Carriage Home (2 Bedroom)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$506,900 to $715,900p. 31$40,000
Blue Ridge Carriage Home (3 Bedroom)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$568,900 to $802,900p. 31$40,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Resident Contract (Declining Balance) · Type A (life care) (5 prices, $3,254 to $5,790)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Melrose (1 Bedroom)Independent living$3,254 to $4,184p. 30$2,267
Saluda (2 Bedroom)Independent living$3,804 to $4,891p. 30$2,267
Pearson (3 Bedroom)Independent living$4,232 to $5,441p. 30$2,267
White Oak Carriage Home (2 Bedroom)Independent living$4,370 to $5,618p. 30$2,267
Blue Ridge Carriage Home (3 Bedroom)Independent living$4,504 to $5,790p. 30$2,267

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3.75%20212022: 4.5%20222023: 7.5%20232024: 4.65%20242025: 3.9%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units3.9%Percent onlyp. 30
2024Independent livingAll units4.65%Percent onlyp. 30
2023Independent livingAll units7.5%Percent onlyp. 30
2022Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 30
2021Independent livingAll units3.75%Percent onlyp. 30

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)p. 160

A 5% Administrative Fee is kept; the remaining 95% falls by 2% a month from the month after move-in, and nothing is refundable after 50 months. Any refund is paid within 90 days after the contract ends and the residence is vacated; it does not wait for resale.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
3 months
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: within a fixed number of days. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Tryon Estates is part of ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group).
  • Balance sheet: ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group), special-purpose combined.
  • Ratios: ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group).

Days cash on hand

256 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

3.31x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresFigures are for the whole ACTS obligated group, which runs many communities in several states; ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. alone (provider only) reports 257 days cash and 3.42x coverage for FY2025 (p45, p47). The 256 days rest on $395.2M of 'unrestricted cash and investments' (Section 29); the audit's liquidity note counts $321.2M of cash and investments without donor restrictions, including internally designated funds (p67), about 208 days, and says state reserves, debt reserves and the interest in ALF/CFSA investments are restricted. The document does not reconcile the $74M difference.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 57FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand256 days244 days258 days
Debt service coverage3.31x3.41x3.27x
Operating margin-1.8%-4.1%-4.7%
Total assets$2.41 billion$2.26 billionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$2.19 billion$2.07 billionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$888.6 million$802.4 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$1.11 billion$1.06 billionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$6.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$229.4 million$191.0 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Baker Tilly US, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 57

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 272024p. 272023p. 272022p. 272021p. 27
Independent living95.7%97.5%93.3%94.6%93.5%
Assisted living75.3%75.7%75%73.4%64.3%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care91.9%83.6%77.1%75.2%76.7%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 1. Willowbrooke Court SC Ctr at Tryon Estates on Care Compare

In brief

Tryon Estates in Columbus, opened in 1992 and run by ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, has 280 independent living apartments and carriage homes, 42 assisted living units and 36 skilled nursing beds. Its one contract is life care: entrance fees from $179,900 to $802,900 single, declining to no refund after 50 months, with the monthly fee unchanged on a move to assisted living or nursing under ACTS's North Carolina contract form.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.