Skip to content

Home › Compare

Vinson Hall Retirement Community and The Mather compared

Two Virginia communities about 4 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureVinson Hall Retirement CommunityThe Mather
LocationMcLean, VATysons, VA
Filing used2023 statement, fiscal 2022 financesPDF2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF
Contract typesType C (fee for service), RentalType A (life care), Type B (modified)
Entrance fee, one person$106,180 to $1,230,633p. 136p. 140$698,500 to $4,783,800p. 100
Monthly fee, independent living$2,061 to $6,682p. 143p. 142$3,656 to $12,636p. 100
Refund plans90% Refundable (Vinson Hall); Declining Balance (Vinson Hall); 90% Refundable (Willow Oak); Declining Balance (Willow Oak)p. 40p. 51p. 62p. 7390% Refundablep. 15
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 40p. 51p. 62p. 7390% of the feep. 15
When a refund is paidWithin a fixed number of days; When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 40p. 51p. 62p. 73When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is firstp. 15
Days cash on hand564 days (FY2022, calculated)p. 153Days cash computed from the FY2022 balance sheet: cash $779,755 + investments $47,630,483, over cash expenses ($37,001,588 total expenses less $5,672,258 depreciation and amortization) / 365 = 564 days. The FY2022 audit's liquidity note prints 685 days (Dec 2022) and 800 (Dec 2021), but that note repeats the FY2021 audit word for word, where the same 685 and 800 are dated December 2021 and 2020. The donor-restricted endowment fund, donor-restricted investments and the interest rate swap asset are excluded.424 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 86Computed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2023 filingNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2023 filingDays cash computed from the FY2022 balance sheet: cash $779,755 + investments $47,630,483, over cash expenses ($37,001,588 total expenses less $5,672,258 depreciation and amortization) / 365 = 564 days. The FY2022 audit's liquidity note prints 685 days (Dec 2022) and 800 (Dec 2021), but that note repeats the FY2021 audit word for word, where the same 685 and 800 are dated December 2021 and 2020. The donor-restricted endowment fund, donor-restricted investments and the interest rate swap asset are excluded.Not disclosed in the 2025 filingComputed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's.
Independent living occupancy97.9% (2022)p. 221Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Net position$2.0 million (FY2022)p. 153$33.9 million (FY2024)p. 85
Whose financesNavy Marine Coast Guard Residence Foundation and Subsidiaries (consolidated, incl. Vinson Hall, LLC); ratios for Navy Marine Coast Guard Residence Foundation and Subsidiariesp. 153Tysons LPC, LLCp. 85
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, FORVIS, LLPp. 153Unmodified (clean) opinion, Grant Thornton LLPp. 85
Nursing care, CMS rating5 of 5 (CMS overall)No CMS record linked

What care costs later, in each contract

Vinson Hall Retirement Community

Type C (fee for service): Assisted living, nursing and memory care are paid at daily rates with no entrance fee; Vinson Hall and Willow Oak residents get admission priority. The Foundation may help residents who cannot pay, but that help is not contractually guaranteed.p. 144

The Mather

Type A (life care): Unlimited days of assisted living, memory support or skilled nursing at virtually the same Monthly Service Fee the resident would have paid in independent living; the fee itself remains subject to increases.p. 30

Type B (modified): Ninety total days of assisted living, memory support or skilled nursing at virtually the same Monthly Service Fee, used in whole days; after that the resident pays the then-current market rate. 2025 proposed market rates: assisted living $9,696/month, memory support $11,424/month, skilled nursing $527/day.p. 30

Questions to ask both communities before you sign