Skip to content

Vinson Hall Retirement Community

6251 Old Dominion Drive, McLean, Virginia 22101

Operator:
Vinson Hall, LLC (sole member: Navy Marine Coast Guard Residence Foundation)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Military/uniformed services: independent living restricted to former commissioned officers of the uniformed services and family, plus senior (GS-14+) federal civil servants capped at 25% of residents (p21-22). Not affiliated with a religious organization (p8).
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2023 filing

Vinson Hall, LLC owns all real property and is managed by its sole member, NMCGRF Inc., a Virginia non-stock 501(c)(3) corporation; the Foundation holds all entry fees and states it guarantees fiscal solvency (p3, p8-9).

  • Type C (fee for service)
  • Rental

Figures from the 2023 disclosure statement (fiscal 2022 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2022; this is the newest statement we have for Vinson Hall Retirement Community, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$106,180 to $1,230,633p. 136p. 140

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,061 to $6,682p. 143p. 142

Refund plans offered

  • 90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)Never less than 90% of the fee
  • Declining Balance (Vinson Hall)Can decline to nothing
  • 90% Refundable (Willow Oak)Never less than 90% of the fee
  • Declining Balance (Willow Oak)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

564 (FY2022, calculated by us)p. 153Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Days cash computed from the FY2022 balance sheet: cash $779,755 + investments $47,630,483, over cash expenses ($37,001,588 total expenses less $5,672,258 depreciation and amortization) / 365 = 564 days. The FY2022 audit's liquidity note prints 685 days (Dec 2022) and 800 (Dec 2021), but that note repeats the FY2021 audit word for word, where the same 685 and 800 are dated December 2021 and 2020. The donor-restricted endowment fund, donor-restricted investments and the interest rate swap asset are excluded.

Independent living occupancy

97.9% (2022)p. 221

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.
  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Assisted living, nursing and memory care are paid at daily rates with no entrance fee; Vinson Hall and Willow Oak residents get admission priority. The Foundation may help residents who cannot pay, but that help is not contractually guaranteed.p. 144

Assisted living
Arleigh Burke Pavilion assisted living $249-$415 per day (2022); The Sylvestery memory care $268-$377 per day by care level
Nursing care
Health Center private pay $383-$557 per day (2022); Community Building skilled room & board $525 per day
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 221
Independent living237
Assisted living21
Memory care36
Nursing care49

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Refundable Resident's Contract (Aug 2018) · Type C (fee for service) (29 prices, $163,355 to $1,230,633)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Vinson Hall — Efficiency (Standard)Not listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $163,355p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — Efficiency w/BalconyNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $174,039p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — Efficiency (Large)Not listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $211,032p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, One BathNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $263,790p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, One Bath w/BalconyNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $274,977p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, One Bath (Large)Not listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $285,982p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, Two BathNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $350,046p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, Two Bath w/BalconyNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $361,232p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, Two Bath (Large)Not listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $386,056p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, One BathNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $350,046p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, One Bath w/BalconyNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $361,232p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, Two BathNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $468,068p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, Two Bath w/BalconyNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $479,757p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, Two Bath (Lge)Not listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $506,478p. 136$32,548
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, Two Bath w/DenNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $560,073p. 137$32,548
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, Two Bath, Den w/BalconyNot listed90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)from $571,762p. 137$32,548
Willow Oak — The Adams 1 BR w/Study1,24890% Refundable (Willow Oak)from $654,442p. 138$31,928
Willow Oak — The Grant 2 BR/2 BA1,29590% Refundable (Willow Oak)$612,056 to $745,083p. 138$31,928
Willow Oak — The Jackson 2 BR/2 BA w/Study1,51590% Refundable (Willow Oak)$713,783 to $869,503p. 138$31,928
Willow Oak — The Jefferson 2 BR/2 BA w/Study1,59590% Refundable (Willow Oak)$832,725 to $914,628p. 138$31,928
Willow Oak — The JFK 2 BR/2 BA w/Study1,63390% Refundable (Willow Oak)$768,298 to $936,146p. 138$31,928
Willow Oak — The Lincoln 2 BR/2 BA w/Study1,70890% Refundable (Willow Oak)$802,989 to $978,533p. 139$31,928
Willow Oak — The Madison 2 BR/3 BA w/Study1,72890% Refundable (Willow Oak)$901,064 to $989,879p. 139$31,928
Willow Oak — The Monroe 2 BR/2 BA w/Study1,73990% Refundable (Willow Oak)$906,672 to $996,009p. 139$31,928
Willow Oak — The FDR 2 BR/2.5 BA w/Study1,90490% Refundable (Willow Oak)$991,445 to $1,089,389p. 139$31,928
Willow Oak — The Washington 2 BR/2.5 BA w/Study1,91990% Refundable (Willow Oak)from $1,163,076p. 139$31,928
Willow Oak — The Roosevelt 2 BR/2.5 BA w/Study2,10090% Refundable (Willow Oak)$1,092,258 to $1,200,114p. 139$31,928
Willow Oak — The Truman 2 BR/2 BA w/Study & Den2,10090% Refundable (Willow Oak)$1,092,258 to $1,200,114p. 139$31,928
Willow Oak — The Wilson 3 BR/2.5 BA w/Study & Den2,15490% Refundable (Willow Oak)$1,119,907 to $1,230,633p. 140$31,928
Declining Balance Refund Contract (Aug 2018) · Type C (fee for service) (29 prices, $106,180 to $799,990)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Vinson Hall — Efficiency (Standard)Not listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $106,180p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — Efficiency w/BalconyNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $114,403p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — Efficiency (Large)Not listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $137,171p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, One BathNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $171,464p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, One Bath w/BalconyNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $180,012p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, One Bath (Large)Not listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $185,889p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, Two BathNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $227,530p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, Two Bath w/BalconyNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $236,078p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — One Bedroom, Two Bath (Large)Not listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $250,936p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, One BathNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $227,530p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, One Bath w/BalconyNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $236,078p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, Two BathNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $304,244p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, Two Bath w/BalconyNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $313,118p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, Two Bath (Lge)Not listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $329,211p. 136$21,698
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, Two Bath w/DenNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $364,048p. 137$21,698
Vinson Hall — Two Bedroom, Two Bath, Den w/BalconyNot listedDeclining Balance (Vinson Hall)from $372,922p. 137$21,698
Willow Oak — The Adams 1 BR w/Study1,248Declining Balance (Willow Oak)from $425,426p. 138$21,285
Willow Oak — The Grant 2 BR/2 BA1,295Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$379,778 to $484,376p. 138$21,285
Willow Oak — The Jackson 2 BR/2 BA w/Study1,515Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$463,899 to $565,105p. 138$21,285
Willow Oak — The Jefferson 2 BR/2 BA w/Study1,595Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$541,238 to $594,579p. 138$21,285
Willow Oak — The JFK 2 BR/2 BA w/Study1,633Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$499,374 to $608,535p. 138$21,285
Willow Oak — The Lincoln 2 BR/2 BA w/Study1,708Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$521,936 to $636,053p. 139$21,285
Willow Oak — The Madison 2 BR/3 BA w/Study1,728Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$585,711 to $643,486p. 139$21,285
Willow Oak — The Monroe 2 BR/2 BA w/Study1,739Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$589,363 to $647,400p. 139$21,285
Willow Oak — The FDR 2 BR/2.5 BA w/Study1,904Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$644,530 to $708,044p. 139$21,285
Willow Oak — The Washington 2 BR/2.5 BA w/Study1,919Declining Balance (Willow Oak)from $756,038p. 139$21,285
Willow Oak — The Roosevelt 2 BR/2.5 BA w/Study2,100Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$710,001 to $780,036p. 139$21,285
Willow Oak — The Truman 2 BR/2 BA w/Study & Den2,100Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$710,001 to $780,036p. 139$21,285
Willow Oak — The Wilson 3 BR/2.5 BA w/Study & Den2,154Declining Balance (Willow Oak)$727,999 to $799,990p. 140$21,285

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Resident Contract (Willow Oak) · Type C (fee for service) (13 prices, $5,074 to $6,682)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Willow Oak — The Adams (1248 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,074p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The Grant (1295 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,144p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The Jackson (1515 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,442p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The Jefferson (1595 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,634p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The JFK (1633 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,752p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The Lincoln (1708 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,937p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The Madison (1728 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,980p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The Monroe (1739 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,017p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The FDR (1904 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,245p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The Washington (1919 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,297p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The Roosevelt (2100 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,610p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The Truman (2100 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,610p. 142$809
Willow Oak — The Wilson (2154 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,682p. 142$809
Resident Contract (Vinson Hall) · Type C (fee for service) (24 prices, $2,061 to $5,294)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Vinson Hall — E The Patton (efficiency) (418 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $2,061p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — EB The Patton w/Balcony (436 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $2,116p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — E-1 The Mitschner (504 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $2,327p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — O The Vandegrift (1BR/1BA) (630 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $2,718p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — O-1B Large 1 BedroomIndependent livingfrom $2,949p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — OB The Vandegrift w/balcony (648 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $2,774p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — O-1 The Puller (683 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $2,880p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — EE(S) The Doolittle (1BR/2BA) (836 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $3,356p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — EE(T) The Halsey (836 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $3,356p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — EE(T)B The Halsey w/Balcony (854 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $3,410p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — EE-1 The Roland (922 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $3,621p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — E1E1 1 Bed/2 Bath/2 alcoves (504 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $3,888p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — EEE1 2 Bed/2 Bath (1340 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,918p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — T The Bradley (2BR/1BA) (836 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $3,356p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — TB The Bradley w/Balcony (854 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $3,410p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — OE The Nimitz (2BR/2BA) (1048 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,012p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — OEB The Nimitz w/Balcony (1066 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,070p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — OE-1 The Arnold (1134 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,281p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — E101 Combo (1187 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,443p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — EEE The Richmond (1254 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,649p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — 00 Combo (1260 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,669p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — EEEB The Richmond w/Balcony (1272 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,707p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — 4E-01 ComboIndependent livingfrom $5,294p. 143$751
Vinson Hall — EE1E Combo (1426 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,985p. 143$751
Vinson Hall Rental Agreement · Rental (6 prices, $4,111 to $4,930)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Vinson Hall — E The Patton (efficiency) (418 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,111p. 143Not listed
Vinson Hall — EB The Patton w/Balcony (436 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,166p. 143Not listed
Vinson Hall — E-1 The Mitschner (504 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,377p. 143Not listed
Vinson Hall — O The Vandegrift (1BR/1BA) (630 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,768p. 143Not listed
Vinson Hall — OB The Vandegrift w/balcony (648 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,824p. 143Not listed
Vinson Hall — O-1 The Puller (683 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,930p. 143Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2018: 3%20182019: 3%20192020: 3%20202021: 3%20212022: 2.5%2022
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2022Independent livingAll units2.5%Percent onlyp. 18
2022Assisted livingAll units0%Percent onlyp. 144
2022Nursing careAll units2.5%Percent onlyp. 144
2022Memory careAll units4%Percent onlyp. 19
2021Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 18
2021Assisted livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 144
2021Nursing careAll units6%Percent onlyp. 144
2021Memory careAll units4%Percent onlyp. 19
2020Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 18
2020Assisted livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 144
2020Nursing careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 144
2020Memory careAll units3%Percent onlyp. 19
2019Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 18
2019Memory careAll units3%Percent onlyp. 19
2018Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 18

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

90% Refundable (Vinson Hall)p. 40

90% of the remaining entry fee is refunded after death or permanent departure and release of the unit, less unpaid charges and repair costs, payable within 60 days of vacancy. The entry fee is spent down first if the resident cannot pay monthly fees.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
2 months
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

Declining Balance (Vinson Hall)p. 51

The entry fee declines 2% a month for 50 months from contract origination, reaching zero; any remaining balance is refunded within 60 days of vacancy, less unpaid charges and repair costs.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
2 months
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

90% Refundable (Willow Oak)p. 62

90% of the remaining entry fee is refunded, less unpaid charges and repair costs, within 180 days after a new resident's entry fee for a Willow Oak unit has been collected.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Declining Balance (Willow Oak)p. 73

The entry fee declines 2% a month for 50 months, reaching zero; any remaining balance is refunded within 180 days after a new Willow Oak entry fee is collected.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $147,020 (90% of the fee)

When it is paid: within a fixed number of days. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Navy Marine Coast Guard Residence Foundation and Subsidiaries (consolidated, incl. Vinson Hall, LLC).
  • Ratios: Navy Marine Coast Guard Residence Foundation and Subsidiaries.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

564 days FY2022p. 153

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2023 filing

Read with these figuresDays cash computed from the FY2022 balance sheet: cash $779,755 + investments $47,630,483, over cash expenses ($37,001,588 total expenses less $5,672,258 depreciation and amortization) / 365 = 564 days. The FY2022 audit's liquidity note prints 685 days (Dec 2022) and 800 (Dec 2021), but that note repeats the FY2021 audit word for word, where the same 685 and 800 are dated December 2021 and 2020. The donor-restricted endowment fund, donor-restricted investments and the interest rate swap asset are excluded.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2022p. 153FY2021p. 207
Days cash on hand564 days685 days
Operating margin-9.7%-9.6%
Total assets$159.5 million$169.6 million
Total liabilities$157.5 million$160.7 million
Long-term debt$66.7 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$9.3 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$74.0 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$2.0 million$8.9 million

Auditor: FORVIS, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 153

Occupancy

Level of care2022p. 221
Independent living97.9%
Assisted living100%
Memory care91.67%
Nursing care89.8%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2021 Refinanced its bonds with a Series 2021 Bond (interest at Taxable Adjusted SOFR), recording a $9,726,327 loss on extinguishment of debt in 2021.p. 156

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 8. ARLEIGH BURKE PAVILION on Care Compare

In brief

Vinson Hall Retirement Community in McLean, Virginia, is run by the nonprofit Navy Marine Coast Guard Residence Foundation for former uniformed-services officers and senior federal employees, with 237 independent living apartments in Vinson Hall and Willow Oak plus assisted living, a nursing center and a 36-suite memory care residence. Entry fees in 2023 ranged from $106,180 to $1,230,633 under a 90% refundable or a 50-month declining-balance plan, and care is billed at daily rates. The consolidated group reported a $3.3 million operating loss in 2022, $74.0 million of refundable entry fees and $2.0 million of total net assets.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.