Home › Compare
Warwick Forest and Williamsburg Landing compared
Two Virginia communities about 13 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Warwick Forest | Williamsburg Landing |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Newport News, VA | Williamsburg, VA |
| Filing used | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF | 2023 statement, fiscal 2022 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $148,328 to $377,659p. 127 | $48,067 to $1,054,547p. 27p. 25 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,388 to $4,486p. 127 | $4,195 to $6,450p. 26p. 25 |
| Refund plans | BASE Plan (Declining Refund); Plan 90; Plan 50p. 45p. 46 | 0% Refundable; 50% Refundable; 70% Refundable; 90% Refundable; AL 0% Refundable; AL 50% Refundable; MC 0% Refundable; MC 50% Refundablep. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 90% of the feep. 45p. 46 | 90% of the feep. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 45p. 46 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid; Within a fixed number of daysp. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| Days cash on hand | 609 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 40Figures for Warwick Forest division. Computed by us from Riverside Health's divisional schedule (p176-178): Warwick Forest's $26.0M of investments and $1K cash over cash operating expenses. The same column shows a net $14.9M due to Riverside affiliates; net of that, cash and investments cover about 260 days. | 340 days (FY2022, interim)p. 269 |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | At least 120 daysp. 269 |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Warwick Forest division. Computed by us from Riverside Health's divisional schedule (p176-178): Warwick Forest's $26.0M of investments and $1K cash over cash operating expenses. The same column shows a net $14.9M due to Riverside affiliates; net of that, cash and investments cover about 260 days. | 2.31x (FY2022, interim)p. 269 |
| Independent living occupancy | 93% (2024)p. 40 | 89.8% (2022)p. 269 |
| Net position | $14.6 million (FY2024)p. 40 | −$54.3 million (FY2022)p. 234 |
| Whose finances | Warwick Forest (division of Riverside Retirement Services, Inc.; supplementary consolidating schedule in Riverside Health's audit); ratios for Warwick Forest divisionp. 40 | Williamsburg Landing, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated); ratios for Williamsburg Landing, Inc.p. 234 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, KPMG LLPp. 40 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 234 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 2 of 5 (CMS overall) | 3 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Warwick Forest
Type B (modified): LifeCare residents get 10 free days of assisted living or nursing over the life of the contract, then pay a flat monthly Health Services Resident Rate ($4,282 in 2025) that the agreement calls a discounted rate; during temporary stays they also keep paying their apartment's monthly fee.p. 50
Type C (fee for service): LifePlan residents have priority access to assisted living and the nursing center but pay the published daily market rates. The market rates are not stated in the document.p. 89
Williamsburg Landing
Type B (modified): Independent living, direct-admission assisted living and direct-admission memory support agreements each include up to 10 days of nursing-center care per calendar year (non-cumulative; they end after the year of a permanent nursing transfer). Beyond that, nursing, assisted living and memory support are paid at Williamsburg Landing's own rates; residents are offered nursing beds before non-residents.p. 40