Skip to content

Brandermill Woods

14311 Brandermill Woods Trail, Midlothian, Virginia 23112

Operator:
Senior Living Choices of Virginia, Inc. (self-managed)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
1985

Virginia nonprofit nonstock corporation, 501(c)(3), incorporated 2001; owns the 41.87-acre campus and the health care facilities (p3). Acquired in 1991 from the original developers, Brandermill Woods, Ltd. and Continuing Care Consultants, Inc. (p3).

  • Rental
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$57,096p. 12

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,669 to $7,019p. 27

Refund plans offered

  • Refundable escrowed Entrance FeeNever less than 100% of the fee

Days cash on hand

243 (FY2025)p. 63Its lenders require at least 150.

Independent living occupancy

97% (2025)p. 75

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Entry Fee/CCRC Agreement (CCRC Benefit); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Entry Fee/CCRC residents get priority admission and a 5% discount on assisted living and nursing fees, and may pay care costs out of their escrowed entrance fee until it runs out.p. 9

Assisted living
Assisted living Monthly Service Fee less a 5% discount
Nursing care
Nursing per diem less a 5% discount (after insurance); 2025 rates $316-$510 per day
Discount on care
5%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

RentalThe filing calls it Fee for Service rental agreement; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Rental residents pay the regular assisted living and nursing rates. Residents who have signed a Residency Agreement get priority over outside admissions to The Haven, and all residents get a once-a-year $1,000 credit after a 30-day health-care stay not covered by insurance.p. 8

Assisted living
Assisted living $5,760-$7,943 a month; memory care $7,405-$8,829 a month (July 2025), plus level-of-care charges
Nursing care
The Haven per diem: $316 semi-private Bed A, $357 semi-private Bed B, $435 private, $510 private rehab suite (July 2025)
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 7
Independent living277
Assisted living40
Memory care19
Nursing care60

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Entry Fee/CCRC Agreement · Type B (modified) (1 prices, $57,096)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Residential Living units B112 and B116Refundable escrowed Entrance Feefrom $57,096p. 12$10,800

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Fee for Service rental agreement · Rental (18 prices, $4,669 to $7,019)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Club Apartment (expansion) - One Bedroom Essex (985 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,611p. 26$900
Club Apartment (expansion) - One Bedroom Den Hampshire (1130 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,825p. 26$900
Club Apartment (expansion) - Two Bedroom Cornwall (1236 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,035p. 26$900
Club Apartment (expansion) - Two Bedroom Wiltshire (1375 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,596p. 26$900
Apartment - One Bedroom Chelsea (930 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,946p. 26$900
Apartment - Two Bedroom Stratford/Franklin (A Building) (1207 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,485p. 26$900
Apartment - Two Bedroom Stratford/Franklin (B Building) (1246 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,485p. 26$900
Cottage - One Bedroom Wyndham (1057 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $4,669p. 27$900
Cottage - Two Bedroom Windsor (1231 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,101p. 27$900
Cottage - Two Bedroom Windsor End (1331 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,465p. 27$900
Cottage - Two Bedroom Windsor Lower Level (2302 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,858p. 27$900
Cottage - Two Bedroom Queensbury (1231 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,359p. 27$900
Cottage - Two Bedroom Queensbury End (1331 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $5,532p. 27$900
Cottage - Two Bedroom Queensbury Lower Level (2302 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,253p. 27$900
Cottage - Two Bedroom Queensbury End Lower Level (2376 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,298p. 27$900
Cottage - Three Bedroom Kent/Brighton (1412 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,253p. 27$900
Cottage - Three Bedroom Brighton XL (1495 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $6,618p. 27$900
Cottage - Three Bedroom Kent/Brighton Lower Level (2867 sq ft)Independent livingfrom $7,019p. 27$900
Assisted living · Rental (6 prices, $5,760 to $8,829)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
The Chesterfield - StudioAssisted living$5,760 to $6,392p. 28Not listed
The Chesterfield - AlcoveAssisted living$6,677 to $7,658p. 28Not listed
The Chesterfield - One BedroomAssisted livingfrom $7,943p. 28Not listed
The Holly Inn - StudioMemory carefrom $7,405p. 28Not listed
The Holly Inn - AlcoveMemory care$7,595 to $8,292p. 28Not listed
The Holly Inn - One BedroomMemory carefrom $8,829p. 28Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 0%20212022: 3%20222023: 2%20232024: 3%20242025: 2%20252026: 2%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units2%Percent onlyp. 13
2025Independent livingAll units2%Percent onlyp. 13
2024Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 13
2023Independent livingAll units2%Percent onlyp. 13
2022Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 13
2021Independent livingAll units0%Percent onlyp. 13
2026Assisted livingAll units2%Percent onlyp. 13
2025Assisted livingAll units2%Percent onlyp. 13
2024Assisted livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 13
2023Assisted livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 13
2022Assisted livingAll units2%Percent onlyp. 13
2021Assisted livingAll units0%Percent onlyp. 13
2026Memory careAll units2%Percent onlyp. 13
2025Memory careAll units2%Percent onlyp. 13
2024Memory careAll units3%Percent onlyp. 13
2023Memory careAll units3%Percent onlyp. 13
2022Memory careAll units2%Percent onlyp. 13
2021Memory careAll units0%Percent onlyp. 13
2026Nursing careAll units6%Percent onlyp. 13
2025Nursing careAll units6%Percent onlyp. 13
2024Nursing careAll units2.5%Percent onlyp. 13
2023Nursing careAll units3%Percent onlyp. 13
2022Nursing careAll units2%Percent onlyp. 13
2021Nursing careAll units0%Percent onlyp. 13

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Refundable escrowed Entrance Feep. 14

The entrance fee is held in an escrow account in the resident's name and refunded with any interest, less unpaid charges and refurbishing costs and less anything the resident chose to draw from it for care or fees, within 30 days of death or termination. No refund while one member of a couple still lives there.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
100% of the fee
Longest wait
1 month
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $57,096 (100% of the fee)

When it is paid: within a fixed number of days. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Senior Living Choices of Virginia, Inc.

Days cash on hand

243 days FY2025p. 63

Debt service coverage

1.81x FY2025p. 63

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 63FY2024p. 54
Days cash on hand243 daysNot disclosed
Debt service coverage1.81xNot disclosed
Total assets$109.1 million$109.4 million
Total liabilities$62.2 million$64.7 million
Long-term debt$59.5 million$63.0 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$46.9 million$44.7 million

Auditor: Dauby O'Connor & Zaleski, LLC. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 63

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 75
Independent living97%
Assisted living97%
Memory care92%
Nursing care79%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 0. THE HAVEN AT BRANDERMILL WOODS on Care Compare

In brief

Brandermill Woods is a self-managed nonprofit retirement community in Midlothian, Chesterfield County, with 277 independent-living apartments and cottages, 40 assisted living and 19 memory care units, and the 60-bed Haven nursing center. Most residents rent, at $4,669 to $7,019 a month in 2025 plus a $5,000 community fee; a limited Entry Fee/CCRC option adds an escrowed entrance fee, refundable less unpaid charges and refurbishing costs, of 12 monthly fees in exchange for priority access and a 5% discount on assisted living and nursing.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • Lucy Corr

    Chesterfield · 10 miles away

    Entrance fee: $128,750 to $440,563

  • Lakewood

    Richmond · 10 miles away

    Entrance fee: $78,000 to $1,410,000

  • Cedarfield

    Richmond · 13 miles away

    Entrance fee: $183,600 to $908,300

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.