Skip to content

Carmel Hills

2801 Carmel Road, Charlotte, North Carolina 28226 · Community website

Operator:
Carmel Hills, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Plymouth Brethren (board drawn from the fellowship, approved by Charlotte Gospel Hall)
Opened:
1980
  • Type B (modified)
  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2026 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$12,005 to $279,035p. 15

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,810 to $4,840p. 13

Refund plans offered

  • Maple Declining Refund (0% after 21 months)Can decline to nothing
  • Magnolia Residency Fee (nonrefundable after 30 days)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

199 (FY2026)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Coverage swings widely (1.33x to 6.85x) because Carmel Hills is paying off small individually held bonds as they mature; debt service is about $56,000 a year (p26, p31).

Independent living occupancy

97.9% (2026)p. 10

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.
  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Declining Refund Contract (Maple plan); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Guaranteed admission to the on-site assisted living unit at a fixed reduced monthly fee of $4,050 (about 37-39% below the Magnolia rate). For nursing care outside, Carmel Hills pays the facility's basic semi-private charge not covered by insurance, as long as the resident keeps paying the monthly fee.p. 74

Assisted living
Fixed $4,050 a month for a semi-private room (the duplex monthly rate plus an additional fee set by the Board), against $6,395-$6,635 under the Magnolia plan; $2,000 private room surcharge.
Nursing care
No nursing beds on site. If moved to an approved outside nursing facility, Carmel Hills pays its basic semi-private monthly charge not covered by insurance or Medicare, while the resident keeps paying the Monthly Cost-of-Care plus additional fees; ancillaries excluded.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type C (fee for service)The filing calls it No Entrance Fee Contract (Magnolia plan); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Priority over outside applicants for the assisted living unit, but no guaranteed bed and no discount on assisted living fees.p. 84

Assisted living
Current assisted living rate: $6,395-$6,635 a month for a semi-private room, plus $2,000 private room surcharge.
Nursing care
No nursing beds on site; no nursing benefit stated in the contract.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 9
Independent living39
Assisted living32
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing careNone on campus

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Magnolia Plan (No Entrance Fee Contract) · Type C (fee for service) (7 prices, $12,005 to $19,210)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
A (Studio)Magnolia Residency Fee (nonrefundable after 30 days)$12,005p. 15Not listed
B (Studio)Magnolia Residency Fee (nonrefundable after 30 days)$12,895p. 15$9,475
C (1 bed/bath)Magnolia Residency Fee (nonrefundable after 30 days)$15,320p. 15$9,475
D (2 bed/bath)Magnolia Residency Fee (nonrefundable after 30 days)$17,920p. 15$9,475
E (2 bed/bath)Magnolia Residency Fee (nonrefundable after 30 days)$17,920p. 15$9,475
DuplexMagnolia Residency Fee (nonrefundable after 30 days)$19,210p. 15$9,475
CabinMagnolia Residency Fee (nonrefundable after 30 days)$16,600p. 15$9,475
Maple Plan (Declining Refund Contract) · Type B (modified) (7 prices, $115,665 to $279,035)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
A (Studio)Maple Declining Refund (0% after 21 months)$115,665p. 15Not listed
B (Studio)Maple Declining Refund (0% after 21 months)$140,770p. 15$100,505
C (1 bed/bath)Maple Declining Refund (0% after 21 months)$175,820p. 15$100,505
D (2 bed/bath)Maple Declining Refund (0% after 21 months)$251,130p. 15$100,505
E (2 bed/bath)Maple Declining Refund (0% after 21 months)$251,130p. 15$100,505
DuplexMaple Declining Refund (0% after 21 months)$279,035p. 15$100,505
CabinMaple Declining Refund (0% after 21 months)$213,480p. 15$100,505

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Magnolia Plan (No Entrance Fee Contract) · Type C (fee for service) (15 prices, $2,705 to $6,635)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Non-Lakeview A Unit (Studio)Independent living$2,705p. 13$2,130
Non-Lakeview B Unit (Studio)Independent living$2,905p. 13$2,130
Non-Lakeview C Unit (1 bed/bath)Independent living$3,445p. 13$2,130
Non-Lakeview D Unit (2 bed/bath)Independent living$4,030p. 13$2,130
Non-Lakeview E Unit (2 bed/bath)Independent living$4,030p. 13$2,130
Non-Lakeview Cabin (1 bed/bath)Independent living$3,740p. 13$2,130
Non-Lakeview Cottage/Duplex (2 bed/bath)Independent living$4,320p. 13$2,130
Lakeview A Unit (Studio)Independent living$3,030p. 13$2,130
Lakeview B Unit (Studio)Independent living$3,225p. 13$2,130
Lakeview C Unit (1 bed/bath)Independent living$3,855p. 13$2,130
Lakeview D Unit (2 bed/bath)Independent living$4,515p. 13$2,130
Lakeview Cottage/Duplex (2 bed/bath)Independent living$4,840p. 13$2,130
Assisted Living semi-private room with full bathAssisted living$6,635p. 13Not listed
Assisted Living semi-private room with no showerAssisted living$6,500p. 13Not listed
Assisted Living semi-private room with shared restroomAssisted living$6,395p. 13Not listed
Maple Plan (Declining Refund Contract) · Type B (modified) (15 prices, $1,810 to $4,050)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Non-Lakeview A Unit (Studio)Independent living$1,810p. 13$1,390
Non-Lakeview B Unit (Studio)Independent living$1,865p. 13$1,390
Non-Lakeview C Unit (1 bed/bath)Independent living$2,190p. 13$1,390
Non-Lakeview D Unit (2 bed/bath)Independent living$2,380p. 13$1,390
Non-Lakeview E Unit (2 bed/bath)Independent living$2,380p. 13$1,390
Non-Lakeview Cabin (1 bed/bath)Independent living$2,280p. 13$1,390
Non-Lakeview Cottage/Duplex (2 bed/bath)Independent living$2,515p. 13$1,390
Lakeview A Unit (Studio)Independent living$2,025p. 13$1,390
Lakeview B Unit (Studio)Independent living$2,085p. 13$1,390
Lakeview C Unit (1 bed/bath)Independent living$2,450p. 13$1,390
Lakeview D Unit (2 bed/bath)Independent living$2,665p. 13$1,390
Lakeview Cottage/Duplex (2 bed/bath)Independent living$2,815p. 13$1,390
Assisted Living semi-private room with full bathAssisted living$4,050p. 13Not listed
Assisted Living semi-private room with no showerAssisted living$4,050p. 13Not listed
Assisted Living semi-private room with shared restroomAssisted living$4,050p. 13Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 5%20222023: 3.5%20232024: 3%20242025: 2.5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingNon-Lakeview units3%Percent onlyp. 14
2025Independent livingAll units2.5%Percent onlyp. 14
2024Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingAll units3.5%Percent onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 14
2026Assisted livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 14
2025Assisted livingAll units2.5%Percent onlyp. 14
2024Assisted livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 14
2023Assisted livingAll units20%Percent onlyp. 14
2022Assisted livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 14

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Maple Declining Refund (0% after 21 months)p. 20

Refundable, less cleaning and repair costs, within the 30-day rescission period (the contract counts it from signing or receipt of the disclosure; the disclosure narrative says the first 30 days after move-in). After that 75% is refundable until day 90, then the refund drops by a further 4% of the entrance fee for each 30-day period, reaching nothing after 21 months. Any refund is paid only once the unit is available for re-occupancy, less $100 a day for any assisted living or nursing days in the first month.

Kept on move-in
25% of the fee
Declines by
4% a month for 21 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Magnolia Residency Fee (nonrefundable after 30 days)p. 21

Refunded in full (less the application fee) only if the agreement is rescinded or cancelled before move-in. The Magnolia contract lets Carmel Hills keep the entire residency fee once occupancy has begun (para 12(a)); the disclosure narrative (Sections 22.1, 24.2) instead describes a full refund, less repair costs, during the first 30 days after move-in.

Kept on move-in
100% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Carmel Hills, Inc.

Days cash on hand

199 days FY2026p. 2

Debt service coverage

6.85x FY2026p. 2

Read with these figuresCoverage swings widely (1.33x to 6.85x) because Carmel Hills is paying off small individually held bonds as they mature; debt service is about $56,000 a year (p26, p31).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2026p. 39FY2025p. 2FY2024p. 2
Days cash on hand199 days93 days119 days
Debt service coverage6.85x1.33x1.62x
Operating margin4.2%3.8%3.1%
Total assets$4.7 million$3.6 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$3.7 million$2.9 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$149,500$222,525Not disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$3.0 million$2.0 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$310,542$399,652Not disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$985,535$733,826Not disclosed

Auditor: Foard & Company, P.A.. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 39

Occupancy

Level of care2026p. 102025p. 102024p. 102023p. 102022p. 10
Independent living97.9%99.4%99.8%96.3%94.6%
Assisted living95.5%93.9%93.5%93.7%92.9%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed

Nursing care on campus

The filing lists no nursing beds on campus, so there is no CMS nursing-home record to show.

In brief

Carmel Hills in Charlotte, NC is a nonprofit retirement community formed for people associated with the Plymouth Brethren, with 39 independent living units and 32 assisted living beds and no nursing beds. It offers a Maple plan (entrance fee from $115,665 declining to no refund after 21 months, guaranteed assisted living at a fixed reduced fee) and a Magnolia plan (residency fee from $12,005, higher monthly fees, assisted living at the full rate). Affiliated applicants pay about 17% less.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.