Skip to content

Croasdaile Village Retirement Community

2600 Croasdaile Farm Parkway, Durham, North Carolina 27705 · Community website

Operator:
The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc. (managed by Life Care Services LLC)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
United Methodist (North Carolina Annual Conference); the Conference is not responsible for UMRH's obligations
Opened:
1999

Owned by The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc. (UMRH), which also owns Cypress Glen and Wesley Pines; day-to-day management under contract with Life Care Services LLC.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$70,619 to $586,998p. 34p. 58

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,606 to $6,103p. 30p. 58

Refund plans offered

  • Standard (0% after 50 months)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% Return of CapitalNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% Return of CapitalNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

700.69 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 250.Figures for UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements
Read the note on this figure

Group figure for UMRH, which also owns Cypress Glen and Wesley Pines; it is not a Croasdaile-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p72) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.

Independent living occupancy

96.9% (2025)p. 26

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

Each resident gets 6 free days a year of assisted living or nursing care combined, renewing annually and not accumulating, while still paying the monthly fee. Beyond those days, and after a permanent move, the resident pays the per diem rate for the level of care; continuing care residents take priority when there is an assisted living waitlist.p. 141

Assisted living
Per diem: assisted living 1 bedroom $360 a day ($541 double), 2 bedrooms $402 ($583 double); memory care $402 a day; after 6 free days a year.
Nursing care
Per diem: semi-private $451 a day, private $505 a day; after 6 free days a year.
Care days included
6
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 25
Independent living450
Assisted living46
Memory care16
Nursing care102

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Standard Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (47 prices, $70,619 to $586,998)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Independent Living – StudioNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$70,619p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – AlcoveNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$87,022p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – 1 Bedroom StandardNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$152,173p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – 1 Bedroom TraditionalNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$161,990p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – 1 Bedroom DeluxeNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$189,969p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – 1 Bedroom with DenNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$208,564p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – 1 Bedroom GrandeNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$203,113p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom TraditionalNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$231,864p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom ConventionalNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)Not disclosedp. 34Not listed
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom DeluxeNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)Not disclosedp. 34Not listed
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom with DenNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$293,498p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom GrandeNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$277,938p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom Grande IINot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$299,043p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom ExecutiveNot listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$329,656p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – Albemarle Apartment (1 Bedroom Den)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$290,813p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – Durham (2 Bedroom Den)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$389,090p. 34$10,031
Independent Living – Edgecombe (2 Bedroom Den)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$389,656p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Forsyth (2 Bedroom Den)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$402,507p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Graham (2 Bedroom Den)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$421,806p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Halifax (2 Bedroom Den)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$497,657p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Iredell (2 Bedroom Den)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$574,498p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Appletree Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$264,540p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Beachwood Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$297,003p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Cottonwood Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$326,058p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Dogwood Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$349,475p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Elmwood Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$392,937p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Fernwood Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$311,719p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Fernwood II Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$334,529p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Greenwood Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$353,279p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Greenwood II Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$377,795p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Heartwood Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$421,989p. 35$10,031
Independent Living – Heartwood II Duplex (Cottage)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$451,417p. 36$10,031
Independent Living – Beechwood (Free-standing Home)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$317,022p. 36$10,031
Independent Living – Cottonwood (Free-standing Home)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$356,983p. 36$10,031
Independent Living – Dogwood (Free-standing Home)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$384,366p. 36$10,031
Independent Living – Elmwood (Free-standing Home)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$421,989p. 36$10,031
Independent Living – Aspen (Park Home)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$319,726p. 36$10,031
Independent Living – Birch (Park Home)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$331,339p. 36$10,031
Independent Living – Maple (Park Home)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$377,081p. 36$10,031
Independent Living – Oak (Park Home)Not listedStandard (0% after 50 months)$415,228p. 36$10,031
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Bennett (2 Bedroom Den)1,558Standard (0% after 50 months)$451,508p. 58$10,031
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Grovewood (2 Bedroom Den)1,696Standard (0% after 50 months)$491,501p. 58$10,031
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Somerset (2 Bedroom Den)1,841Standard (0% after 50 months)$533,812p. 58$10,031
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Tryon (2 Bedroom Den)2,004Standard (0% after 50 months)$580,759p. 58$10,031
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Hawthorn1,997Standard (0% after 50 months)$586,998p. 58$10,031
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Hemlock1,997Standard (0% after 50 months)$586,998p. 58$10,031
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Hickory2,001Standard (0% after 50 months)$586,998p. 58$10,031

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Standard Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (48 prices, $2,606 to $6,103)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – StudioIndependent living$2,606p. 30$1,647
Independent Living – AlcoveIndependent living$3,200p. 30$1,647
Independent Living – 1 Bedroom StandardIndependent living$3,896p. 30$1,647
Independent Living – 1 Bedroom TraditionalIndependent living$3,983p. 30$1,647
Independent Living – 1 Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$4,063p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – 1 Bedroom with DenIndependent living$4,217p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – 1 Bedroom GrandeIndependent living$4,278p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom TraditionalIndependent living$4,443p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom StandardIndependent living$4,507p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom ConventionalIndependent living$4,843p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$4,911p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom with DenIndependent living$5,316p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom GrandeIndependent living$5,312p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom Grande IIIndependent living$5,720p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – 2 Bedroom ExecutiveIndependent living$5,769p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – Albemarle Apartment (1 Bedroom Den)Independent living$4,424p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – Durham Apartment (2 Bedroom Den)Independent living$5,322p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – Edgecombe Apartment (2 Bedroom Den)Independent living$5,330p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – Forsyth (2 Bedroom Den)Independent living$5,487p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – Graham (2 Bedroom Den)Independent living$5,567p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – Halifax (2 Bedroom Den)Independent living$5,864p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – Iredell (2 Bedroom Den)Independent living$6,017p. 31$1,647
Independent Living – Appletree Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,089p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Beechwood Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,185p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Cottonwood Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,313p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Dogwood Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,467p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Elmwood Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,798p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Fernwood Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,560p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Fernwood II Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,268p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Greenwood Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,584p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Greenwood II Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,464p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Heartwood Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,918p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Heartwood II Duplex (Cottage)Independent living$5,648p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Beechwood (Free-standing Home)Independent living$5,515p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Cottonwood (Free-standing Home)Independent living$5,636p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Dogwood (Free-standing Home)Independent living$5,795p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Elmwood (Free-standing Home)Independent living$5,956p. 32$1,647
Independent Living – Aspen (Park Home)Independent living$4,908p. 33$1,647
Independent Living – Birch (Park Home)Independent living$4,976p. 33$1,647
Independent Living – Maple (Park Home)Independent living$5,120p. 33$1,647
Independent Living – Oak (Park Home)Independent living$5,244p. 33$1,647
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Bennett (2 Bedroom Den)Independent living$5,649p. 58$1,647
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Grovewood (2 Bedroom Den)Independent living$5,798p. 58$1,647
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Somerset (2 Bedroom Den)Independent living$5,877p. 58$1,647
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – Tryon (2 Bedroom Den)Independent living$6,021p. 58$1,647
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – HawthornIndependent living$6,103p. 58$1,647
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – HemlockIndependent living$6,103p. 58$1,647
New Croasdaile ILU (under construction) – HickoryIndependent living$6,103p. 58$1,647

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 3.75%20222023: 7%20232024: 4.8%20242025: 4.25%20252026: 4.3%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.3%Percent onlyp. 33
2025Independent livingAll units4.25%Percent onlyp. 33
2024Independent livingAll units4.8%Percent onlyp. 33
2023Independent livingAll units7%Percent onlyp. 33
2022Independent livingAll units3.75%Percent onlyp. 33

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard (0% after 50 months)p. 148

The refund falls by 2% of the entrance fee for each month of residency, so nothing is refunded after 50 months. Any refund is paid when a new resident has paid in full for your residence, or within 2 years of cancellation, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

50% Return of Capitalp. 39

The refund falls by 2% of the entrance fee a month for 25 months and never drops below 50%. It is paid when a new resident has paid in full for your residence, or within 2 years of cancellation, whichever comes first. Prices for this plan are not in the statement.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

90% Return of Capitalp. 39

The refund falls by 2% of the entrance fee a month for 5 months and never drops below 90%. It is paid when a new resident has paid in full for your residence, or within 2 years of cancellation, whichever comes first. Prices for this plan are not in the statement.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 5 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Croasdaile Village Retirement Community is part of The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc. (Croasdaile Village, Cypress Glen, Wesley Pines); Croasdaile Village and Cypress Glen file separate disclosure statements but share UMRH's group finances.
  • Balance sheet: The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc., its Affiliate, and Subsidiaries (consolidated).
  • Ratios: UMRH Obligated Group (UMRH and The United Methodist Retirement Homes Foundation, Inc.); the same group ratios are reported in the Cypress Glen and Croasdaile Village statements.

Days cash on hand

700.69 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

3.14x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresGroup figure for UMRH, which also owns Cypress Glen and Wesley Pines; it is not a Croasdaile-only ratio. Consolidated cash and investments ($132.7M, p72) cover about 598 days of consolidated FY2025 cash operating expenses; the reported 700.69 days could not be reproduced from the statements and may count assets limited as to use such as the $20.1M statutory operating reserve.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 72FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand700.69 days690.8 days574.86 days
Debt service coverage3.14x2.43x3.22x
Operating margin13.97%12.23%10.03%
Total assets$493.3 million$478.8 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$345.9 million$347.2 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$196.9 million$216.0 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$97.0 million$96.7 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$14.5 million$14.5 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$147.4 million$131.6 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 72

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 262024p. 262023p. 262022p. 262021p. 26
Independent living96.9%96.5%93.8%93.6%96.4%
Assisted living94.7%91.6%88.4%91%91.9%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care83.1%83.1%80.5%78.4%69.7%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 2 totalling $25,275. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 4. Croasdaile Village on Care Compare

In brief

Croasdaile Village in Durham, NC is a nonprofit United Methodist-related continuing care retirement community owned by The United Methodist Retirement Homes, Inc. and managed by Life Care Services, with 450 independent living units, 46 assisted living and 16 memory care units, and 102 skilled nursing beds. Standard Residency Agreement entrance fees run from $70,619 to $574,498 for one person in existing units ($451,508 to $586,998 for 58 new units under construction, all pre-sold), the fee is nonrefundable after 50 months, and residents get 6 free days of care a year before per diem rates apply. Finances are reported for UMRH as a whole, which also runs Cypress Glen and Wesley Pines.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.