Skip to content

The Forest at Duke

2701 Pickett Road, Durham, North Carolina 27705 · Community website

Operator:
The Forest at Duke, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1992
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$50,000 to $680,585p. 39p. 24

Monthly fee, independent living

$950 to $7,893p. 39p. 26

Refund plans offered

  • Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)Can decline to nothing
  • Early Acceptance Declining Balance (0% after 25 months)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

678 (FY2025)p. 31Its lenders require at least 120.
Read the note on this figure

Counts the $6.83M statutory operating reserve and $4.99M of board-designated funds; cash and investments alone ($38.7M) ≈ 521 days, or ≈ 588 days with the board-designated funds but without the statutory reserve.

Independent living occupancy

95% (2025)p. 35

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Life care; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

15 pre-paid days, then 60% or 40% of the per diem: the 15 pre-paid Health Center days re-accrue one a month up to 15; after that a temporary stay costs the monthly fee plus 60% of the $579 per diem (effective 10/1/2025), and a permanent move costs 40% of the per diem in place of the monthly fee. A resident who moves permanently out of a two-person apartment keeps paying the second-person monthly fee plus 15% of the per diem. People admitted directly before moving in pay $14,720/month for skilled nursing or $11,636/month for adult care.p. 27

Assisted living
15 pre-paid days, then the monthly fee plus 60% of the per diem while temporary; 40% of the per diem (no monthly fee) once permanent
Nursing care
15 pre-paid days, then the monthly fee plus 60% of the per diem while temporary; 40% of the per diem (no monthly fee) once permanent
Care days included
15
Units on campusp. 2
Independent living304
Assisted living32
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care58

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (21 prices, $99,729 to $680,585)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - Ash (1 BDR)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$99,729p. 24$42,000
Apartment - Beech (1 BDR exp)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$148,277p. 24$42,000
Apartment - Cedar (1 BDR w/den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$220,291p. 24$42,000
Apartment - Dogwood (2 BDR)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$289,843p. 24$42,000
Apartment - Elm (2 BDR w/den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$310,098p. 24$42,000
Apartment - Aspen (1BDR w/den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$416,494p. 24$41,000
Apartment - Bradford (2BDR/2B)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$431,246p. 24$41,000
Apartment - Cypress (2 BDR/2B)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$488,614p. 24$41,000
Apartment - Spruce (2 BDR/2.5B +den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$524,674p. 24$41,000
Apartment - Oak (2BDR/2.5B +den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$527,953p. 24$41,000
Apartment - Willow (2BDR/2.5B + den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$560,734p. 24$41,000
Apartment - Linden (2BDR/2.5B + den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$563,685p. 24$41,000
Apartment - Juniper (2BDR/2.5B +den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$570,569p. 24$41,000
Apartment - Maple (2BDR/2.5B+den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$570,569p. 24$41,000
Apartment - Hawthorn (2BDR/2.5B +den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$588,599p. 24$41,000
Cottage - Alder (1 BDR w/den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$333,106p. 24$42,000
Cottage - Birch (2 BDR)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$394,082p. 24$42,000
Cottage - Chestnut (2 BDR w/den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$452,256p. 24$42,000
Cottage - Pine (2 BDR w/study)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$626,838p. 24$62,000
Cottage - Holly (2 BDR w/study)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$653,718p. 24$42,000
Cottage - Magnolia (2 BDR w/study)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$680,585p. 24$42,000
Early Acceptance Agreement · Type B (modified) (1 prices, $50,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Early Acceptance (lives off campus)Early Acceptance Declining Balance (0% after 25 months)$50,000p. 39Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (21 prices, $4,300 to $7,893)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - Ash (1 BDR)Independent living$4,300p. 26$2,203
Apartment - Beech (1 BDR exp)Independent living$4,984p. 26$2,203
Apartment - Cedar (1 BDR w/den)Independent living$5,641p. 26$2,203
Apartment - Dogwood (2 BDR)Independent living$6,414p. 26$2,203
Apartment - Elm (2 BDR w/den)Independent living$6,883p. 26$2,203
Apartment - Aspen (1BDR w/den)Independent living$6,436p. 26$2,196
Apartment - Bradford (2BDR/2B)Independent living$6,500p. 26$2,196
Apartment - Cypress (2 BDR/2B)Independent living$6,758p. 26$2,196
Apartment - Spruce (2 BDR/2.5B +den)Independent living$6,937p. 26$2,196
Apartment - Oak (2BDR/2.5B +den)Independent living$6,950p. 26$2,196
Apartment - Willow (2BDR/2.5B + den)Independent living$7,098p. 26$2,196
Apartment - Linden (2BDR/2.5B + den)Independent living$7,110p. 26$2,196
Apartment - Juniper (2BDR/2.5B +den)Independent living$7,144p. 26$2,196
Apartment - Maple (2BDR/2.5B+den)Independent living$7,144p. 26$2,196
Apartment - Hawthorn (2BDR/2.5B +den)Independent living$7,207p. 26$2,196
Cottage - Alder (1 BDR w/den)Independent living$6,534p. 26$2,203
Cottage - Birch (2 BDR)Independent living$6,883p. 26$2,203
Cottage - Chestnut (2 BDR w/den)Independent living$7,247p. 26$2,203
Cottage - Pine (2 BDR w/study)Independent living$7,493p. 26$2,203
Cottage - Holly (2 BDR w/study)Independent living$7,734p. 26$2,203
Cottage - Magnolia (2 BDR w/study)Independent living$7,893p. 26$2,203
Early Acceptance Agreement · Type B (modified) (1 prices, $950)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Early Acceptance (lives off campus)Independent living$950p. 39Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3.5%20212022: 4.5%20222023: 6%20232024: 4.5%20242025: 4.3%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4.3%Percent onlyp. 28
2025Assisted livingAll units4.3%Percent onlyp. 29
2025Nursing careAll units4.3%Percent onlyp. 29
2024Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 28
2024Assisted livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 29
2024Nursing careAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 29
2023Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 28
2023Assisted livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 29
2023Nursing careAll units6%Percent onlyp. 29
2022Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 28
2022Assisted livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 29
2022Nursing careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 29
2021Independent livingAll units3.5%Percent onlyp. 28
2021Assisted livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 29
2021Nursing careAll units4%Percent onlyp. 29

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)p. 17

The $10,000 Health Care Reserve Fee is never refunded. The Residence Fee refund falls 2% for each month of residence and reaches zero after 50 months; any refund is paid 30 days after your unit is re-occupied and a full Entry Fee is received for it.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Early Acceptance Declining Balance (0% after 25 months)p. 37

The $10,000 Health Care Reserve Fee is never refunded. The $40,000 Residence Fee refund falls 4% a month to zero after 25 months, paid within 60 days after outstanding charges are settled.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
4% a month for 25 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
2 months
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: The Forest at Duke, Inc.

Days cash on hand

678 days FY2025p. 31

Debt service coverage

2.00x FY2025p. 31

Read with these figuresCounts the $6.83M statutory operating reserve and $4.99M of board-designated funds; cash and investments alone ($38.7M) ≈ 521 days, or ≈ 588 days with the board-designated funds but without the statutory reserve.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 47FY2024p. 31FY2023p. 31
Days cash on hand678 days736 days660 days
Debt service coverage2.00x2.25x4.21x
Operating margin4.2%4.6%1.5%
Total assets$243.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$231.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$149.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$46.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$7.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$12.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 47

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 35
Independent living95%
Assisted livingNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosed

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
No rating

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 1. The Forest At Duke Inc on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 2007. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

The Forest at Duke is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community on 47 acres in Durham with 223 apartments, 81 cottages and a 90-unit health center (32 assisted living, 58 nursing). Its one contract gives 15 pre-paid days, then 60% or 40% of the per diem; entry fees effective October 1, 2025 run from $99,729 to $680,585 and decline to no refund after 50 months. The audited FY2025 (September year-end) statements show 678 days cash on hand and 2.0x debt service coverage against covenants of 120 days and 1.2x.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.