Skip to content

Friends Homes Guilford

925 New Garden Road, Greensboro, North Carolina 27410 · Community website

Operator:
Friends Homes, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Quaker (North Carolina Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends)
Opened:
1968

Managed under contract by PHI Management Services, LLC since May 2016.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$30,000 to $416,000p. 28

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,119 to $4,841p. 26p. 25

Refund plans offered

  • StandardCan decline to nothing
  • Woolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

741 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for Friends Homes, Inc., provider only (sole member of its own obligated group) — Friends Homes Guilford and Friends Homes West combined
Read the note on this figure

Ratios cover Friends Homes Guilford and Friends Homes West together. The 741 days counts the $12.9M held as the statutory operating reserve (Table 29.2 gives unrestricted cash and investments of $83.7M). Cash and investments alone ($70.7M) cover about 627 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses.

Independent living occupancy

99% (2025)p. 22

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

A resident moving to assisted living or nursing pays the community's published per diem rate plus ancillary charges, and keeps paying the independent living monthly charge unless and until the unit is surrendered (it must be surrendered on request after 90 days). No days of care are included and no discount is stated.p. 89

Assisted living
Published per diem rate for the accommodation, on top of the independent living monthly charge until the unit is surrendered; current assisted living monthly fees $5,396-$8,013 (Guilford).
Nursing care
Published per diem rate for the accommodation, on top of the independent living monthly charge until the unit is surrendered; current skilled nursing rates $388-$398 a day (Guilford).
Units on campusp. 21
Independent living199
Assisted living48
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care69

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence & Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (12 prices, $30,000 to $416,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Hobbs 1 Bedroom ApartmentStandard$139,000p. 27Not listed
2 Bedroom Hobbs ApartmentStandard$202,000p. 27Not listed
2 Bedroom Deluxe Hobbs ApartmentStandard$216,000p. 28Not listed
Woolman & Fox Studio ApartmentWoolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)$30,000p. 28Not listed
Woolman & Fox 1 Bedroom Partial Kitchen ApartmentWoolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)$59,000p. 28Not listed
Woolman & Fox 1 Bedroom Full Kitchen ApartmentWoolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)$89,000p. 28Not listed
Woolman & Fox 1 Bedroom Deluxe ApartmentWoolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)$95,000p. 28Not listed
Woolman & Fox 2 Bedroom Partial Kitchen ApartmentWoolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)$80,000p. 28Not listed
Woolman & Fox 2 Bedroom Full Kitchen ApartmentWoolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)$109,000p. 28Not listed
Woolman & Fox 2 Bedroom TownhomeWoolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)$363,000p. 28Not listed
Woolman & Fox 2 Bedroom Townhome/DenWoolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)$416,000p. 28Not listed
Woolman & Fox 2 BedroomWoolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)$416,000p. 28Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence & Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (15 prices, $2,119 to $8,013)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Hobbs 1 Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$3,405p. 25$786
2 Bedroom Hobbs ApartmentIndependent living$4,529p. 25$786
2 Bedroom Deluxe Hobbs ApartmentIndependent living$4,841p. 25$786
Woolman & Fox Studio ApartmentIndependent living$2,119p. 26Not listed
Woolman & Fox 1 Bedroom Partial Kitchen ApartmentIndependent living$3,233p. 26$786
Woolman & Fox 1 Bedroom Full Kitchen ApartmentIndependent living$3,233p. 26$786
Woolman & Fox 1 Bedroom Deluxe ApartmentIndependent living$3,842p. 26$786
Woolman & Fox 2 Bedroom Partial Kitchen ApartmentIndependent living$4,271p. 26$786
Woolman & Fox 2 Bedroom Full Kitchen ApartmentIndependent living$4,271p. 26$786
Woolman & Fox 2 Bedroom TownhomeIndependent living$4,421p. 26$1,057
Woolman & Fox 2 Bedroom Townhome/DenIndependent living$4,625p. 26$1,057
Woolman & Fox 2 BedroomIndependent living$4,625p. 26$1,057
Assisted Living Private - GuilfordAssisted living$5,396p. 26Not listed
Assisted Living Private Deluxe - GuilfordAssisted living$6,593p. 26Not listed
Assisted Living (1 Bedroom)Assisted living$8,013p. 26Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2025: 4.5%20252026: 4.3%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.3%Percent onlyp. 27
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 27

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standardp. 94

4% of the entrance fee is non-refundable and the refund falls a further 1.6% of the fee for each calendar month (part months count as full), so nothing is refunded after 60 months. Any refund on move-out or death is paid only once the unit has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee, with no interest.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1.6% a month for 60 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Woolman/Fox (Nonrefundable)p. 95

Entrance fees for Woolman & Fox units at the Guilford campus are nonrefundable after the 60-day trial period; no refund is paid on move-out or death.

Kept on move-in
100% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Friends Homes Guilford is part of Friends Homes, Inc.
  • Balance sheet: Friends Homes, Inc. — Friends Homes Guilford and Friends Homes West campuses combined (one audited balance sheet).
  • Ratios: Friends Homes, Inc., provider only (sole member of its own obligated group) — Friends Homes Guilford and Friends Homes West combined.

Days cash on hand

741 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.50x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresRatios cover Friends Homes Guilford and Friends Homes West together. The 741 days counts the $12.9M held as the statutory operating reserve (Table 29.2 gives unrestricted cash and investments of $83.7M). Cash and investments alone ($70.7M) cover about 627 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 51FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand741 days792 days674 days
Debt service coverage2.50x2.56x3.90x
Operating margin6.23%7.85%6.7%
Total assets$211.3 million$215.9 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$147.7 million$157.9 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$84.4 million$92.6 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance-fee liabilities, not split in the filing$50.0 million$49.4 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$63.6 million$58.0 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Turlington and Company, L.L.P.. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 51

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 222024p. 222023p. 222022p. 222021p. 22
Independent living99%98%95%92%92%
Assisted living92%94%93%89%87%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care84%91%94%89%90%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 2. Friends Homes at Guilford on Care Compare

In brief

Friends Homes Guilford is the original campus of Friends Homes, Inc., a Quaker-affiliated nonprofit in Greensboro, NC that opened its first apartments in 1968; it has 199 independent living units, 48 assisted living rooms and 69 nursing rooms as of September 30, 2025. Entrance fees run from $30,000 for a nonrefundable Woolman & Fox studio to $416,000, and assisted living and nursing are charged at per diem rates rather than included in the monthly fee. Finances are reported for Friends Homes, Inc. as a whole, covering both its campuses.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.