Skip to content

Friends Homes West

6100 W. Friendly Avenue, Greensboro, North Carolina 27410 · Community website

Operator:
Friends Homes, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Quaker (North Carolina Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends)
Opened:
1993

Managed under contract by PHI Management Services, LLC since May 2016.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$139,000 to $510,000p. 27

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,343 to $5,305p. 25

Refund plans offered

  • StandardCan decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

741 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for Friends Homes, Inc., provider only (sole member of its own obligated group) — Friends Homes Guilford and Friends Homes West combined
Read the note on this figure

Ratios cover Friends Homes Guilford and Friends Homes West together. The 741 days counts the $12.9M held as the statutory operating reserve (Table 29.2 gives unrestricted cash and investments of $83.7M). Cash and investments alone ($70.7M) cover about 627 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses.

Independent living occupancy

99% (2025)p. 22

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

A resident moving to assisted living or nursing pays the community's published per diem rate plus ancillary charges, and keeps paying the independent living monthly charge unless and until the unit is surrendered (it must be surrendered on request after 90 days). No days of care are included and no discount is stated.p. 89

Assisted living
Published per diem rate for the accommodation, on top of the independent living monthly charge until the unit is surrendered; current assisted living monthly fees $6,593 (West).
Nursing care
Published per diem rate for the accommodation, on top of the independent living monthly charge until the unit is surrendered; current skilled nursing rates $388 a day (West).
Units on campusp. 21
Independent living243
Assisted living40
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care40

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence & Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (10 prices, $139,000 to $510,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
1 Bedroom ApartmentStandard$139,000p. 27Not listed
2 Bedroom Standard ApartmentStandard$202,000p. 27Not listed
2 Bedroom with Balcony/Patio ApartmentStandard$209,000p. 27Not listed
2 Bedroom Deluxe ApartmentStandard$216,000p. 27Not listed
2 Bedroom Villa ApartmentStandard$392,000p. 27Not listed
2 Bedroom Villa Deluxe ApartmentStandard$442,000p. 27Not listed
2 Bedroom Villa w/ Den ApartmentStandard$510,000p. 27Not listed
2 Bedroom TownhomeStandard$363,000p. 27Not listed
2 Bedroom Townhome/DenStandard$416,000p. 27Not listed
3 Bedroom CottageStandard$485,000p. 27Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence & Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (11 prices, $3,343 to $6,593)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
1 Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$3,343p. 25$786
2 Bedroom Standard ApartmentIndependent living$4,446p. 25$786
2 Bedroom with Balcony/Patio ApartmentIndependent living$4,592p. 25$786
2 Bedroom Deluxe ApartmentIndependent living$4,729p. 25$786
2 Bedroom Villa ApartmentIndependent living$4,761p. 25$1,057
2 Bedroom Villa Deluxe ApartmentIndependent living$5,032p. 25$1,057
2 Bedroom Villa w/ Den ApartmentIndependent living$5,305p. 25$1,057
2 Bedroom TownhomeIndependent living$4,421p. 25$1,057
2 Bedroom Townhome/DenIndependent living$4,625p. 25$1,057
3 Bedroom CottageIndependent living$4,753p. 25$1,057
Assisted Living – WestAssisted living$6,593p. 25Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2025: 4.5%20252026: 4.3%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.3%Percent onlyp. 27
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 27

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standardp. 94

4% of the entrance fee is non-refundable and the refund falls a further 1.6% of the fee for each calendar month (part months count as full), so nothing is refunded after 60 months. Any refund on move-out or death is paid only once the unit has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee, with no interest.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1.6% a month for 60 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Friends Homes West is part of Friends Homes, Inc.
  • Balance sheet: Friends Homes, Inc. — Friends Homes Guilford and Friends Homes West campuses combined (one audited balance sheet).
  • Ratios: Friends Homes, Inc., provider only (sole member of its own obligated group) — Friends Homes Guilford and Friends Homes West combined.

Days cash on hand

741 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.50x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresRatios cover Friends Homes Guilford and Friends Homes West together. The 741 days counts the $12.9M held as the statutory operating reserve (Table 29.2 gives unrestricted cash and investments of $83.7M). Cash and investments alone ($70.7M) cover about 627 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 51FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand741 days792 days674 days
Debt service coverage2.50x2.56x3.90x
Operating margin6.23%7.85%6.7%
Total assets$211.3 million$215.9 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$147.7 million$157.9 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$84.4 million$92.6 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance-fee liabilities, not split in the filing$50.0 million$49.4 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$63.6 million$58.0 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Turlington and Company, L.L.P.. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 51

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 222024p. 222023p. 222022p. 222021p. 22
Independent living99%98%95%92%92%
Assisted living92%94%93%89%87%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care84%91%94%89%90%

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Friends Homes West is the 1993 campus of Friends Homes, Inc., a Quaker-affiliated nonprofit in Greensboro, NC, with 243 independent living units, 40 assisted living rooms and 40 nursing rooms as of September 30, 2025. Entrance fees run from $139,000 to $510,000 and decline to no refund after 60 months; assisted living and nursing are charged at per diem rates rather than included in the monthly fee. Finances are reported for Friends Homes, Inc. as a whole, covering both its campuses.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.