Skip to content

WhiteStone: A Masonic and Eastern Star Community

700 South Holden Road, Greensboro, North Carolina 27407 · Community website

Operator:
The Masonic and Eastern Star Home of North Carolina, Incorporated (managed by Life Care Services LLC)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Masonic: The Grand Lodge of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of North Carolina appoints 12 and The Grand Chapter Order of The Eastern Star of North Carolina 8 of the 20 directors; neither is responsible for its obligations; no religious affiliation
Opened:
1912
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$30,900 to $510,803p. 22

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,788 to $5,843p. 21

Refund plans offered

  • Range across refund plans (plan not specified)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing
  • Traditional (0% after 50 months)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% Return-of-CapitalNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% Return-of-CapitalNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

302 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The reported 302 days only holds by counting reserves: cash ($4.3M) and investments ($11.8M) on the audited balance sheet are about 208 days of 2025 cash operating expenses (p44, p45); adding the $6.1M NC DOI operating reserve and $0.9M board-designated for entrance fee refunds (p55) gives about 297 days. The statement's own unrestricted cash figure is given as both $18,964,908 (p31) and $18,375,352 (p32). The 18.1% statutory net operating margin sits beside an audited 2025 operating loss of $2,564,421 under GAAP (p45).

Independent living occupancy

96.2% (2025)p. 17

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

Each resident gets 30 days a year of care in the Community Health Center without the per diem charge, while still living in the residence; days are per person, do not carry over and cannot be combined. Beyond those days, and after a permanent move (when the residence is surrendered and the monthly fee stops), the resident pays the Health Center's published rates. Residents get priority over non-residents for admission.p. 97

Assisted living
After the 30 annual days, assisted living private room $8,176 a month; memory care private room $337 a day (2026)
Nursing care
After the 30 annual days, semi-private $396 a day, private $449 a day (2026)
Care days included
30
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 16
Independent living210
Assisted living24
Memory care12
Nursing care88

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residency Agreement (Traditional, 50% or 90% Return-of-Capital) · Type B (modified) (8 prices, $30,900 to $510,803)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
One bedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$30,900 to $214,794p. 22Not listed
One bedroom with denRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$228,686 to $251,507p. 22Not listed
Two bedroomsRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$281,049 to $306,242p. 22Not listed
Two bedrooms with denRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$388,980 to $510,803p. 22Not listed
Two bedrooms with sunroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$319,519 to $320,506p. 22Not listed
One bedroom cottageRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$139,359p. 22Not listed
Two bedroom cottageRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$162,698p. 22Not listed
Two bedroom villaRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$361,302 to $386,302p. 22Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement (Traditional, 50% or 90% Return-of-Capital) · Type B (modified) (9 prices, $3,788 to $8,176)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
One bedroomIndependent living$3,836 to $4,403p. 21$1,300
One bedroom with denIndependent living$4,207 to $4,459p. 21$1,300
Two bedroomsIndependent living$4,706 to $4,802p. 21$1,300
Two bedrooms with denIndependent living$4,867 to $5,843p. 21$1,300
Two bedrooms with sunroomIndependent living$4,942 to $4,952p. 21$1,300
One bedroom cottageIndependent living$3,788p. 21$1,300
Two bedroom cottageIndependent living$4,149p. 21$1,300
Two bedroom villaIndependent living$4,927p. 21$1,300
Assisted Living Care - Private RoomAssisted living$8,176p. 21Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 4%20212022: 5%20222023: 8.5%20232024: 9%20242025: 5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 22
2024Independent livingAll units9%Percent onlyp. 22
2023Independent livingAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 22
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 22
2021Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 22

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Range across refund plans (plan not specified)p. 22

The published entrance fee ranges do not say which of the three refund plans they apply to; see the Traditional, 50% and 90% plans for the refund terms.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Traditional (0% after 50 months)p. 154

The repayment is the entrance fee less 2% for each month of residency, so nothing is repaid after 50 months. Repayment is made within 60 days after a new resident has reserved your residence and paid in full, or within 24 months of cancellation if it is not re-reserved.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

50% Return-of-Capitalp. 104

You are repaid 96% of the entrance fee less 2% a month for up to 23 months, so the repayment never falls below 50%. Repayment is made within 60 days after a new resident has reserved your residence and paid in full, or within 24 months of cancellation if it is not re-reserved.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 23 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

90% Return-of-Capitalp. 129

You are repaid 96% of the entrance fee less 2% a month for up to 3 months, so the repayment never falls below 90%. Repayment is made within 60 days after a new resident has reserved your residence and paid in full, or within 24 months of cancellation if it is not re-reserved.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 3 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: 0%

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: The Masonic and Eastern Star Home of North Carolina, Incorporated (WhiteStone).
  • Ratios: The Masonic and Eastern Star Home of North Carolina, Incorporated (provider only; no obligated group).

Days cash on hand

302 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

1.40x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe reported 302 days only holds by counting reserves: cash ($4.3M) and investments ($11.8M) on the audited balance sheet are about 208 days of 2025 cash operating expenses (p44, p45); adding the $6.1M NC DOI operating reserve and $0.9M board-designated for entrance fee refunds (p55) gives about 297 days. The statement's own unrestricted cash figure is given as both $18,964,908 (p31) and $18,375,352 (p32). The 18.1% statutory net operating margin sits beside an audited 2025 operating loss of $2,564,421 under GAAP (p45).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 44FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand302 days250 days267 days
Debt service coverage1.40x5.58x1.41x
Operating margin18.1%2.9%-8.2%
Total assets$135.4 million$132.9 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$124.5 million$125.4 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$80.1 million$81.2 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$32.5 million$31.6 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$6.8 million$7.7 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$10.9 million$7.5 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Baker Tilly US, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 44

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 172024p. 172023p. 172022p. 182021p. 18
Independent living96.2%90.9%85.3%89.7%89%
Assisted living89.6%53.8%36.4%89.1%91.2%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care88.9%89.9%90.9%92.5%92%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $25,490. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 6. Whitestone a Masonic and Eastern Star Community on Care Compare

In brief

WhiteStone in Greensboro, founded by North Carolina's Masons and Eastern Star in 1912, has about 210 independent living apartments, cottages and houses plus assisted living, memory care and a licensed 88-bed nursing center, managed by Life Care Services. Its three Residency Agreements include 30 days a year of Health Center care, then published rates, and differ in refund: Traditional (nothing after 50 months), 50% or 90% Return-of-Capital. 2026 entrance fees are published as ranges from $30,900 (the low end of the one-bedroom range; the next-lowest price printed is $139,359) to $510,803, without saying which refund plan they apply to, with monthly fees of $3,788-$5,843 plus $1,300 for a second person.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.