Skip to content

Well-Spring, A Life Plan Community

4100 Well Spring Drive, Greensboro, North Carolina 27410 · Community website

Operator:
Well-Spring Retirement Community, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1993
  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$138,000 to $648,000p. 26

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,817 to $7,579p. 24

Refund plans offered

  • One (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining RefundCan decline to nothing
  • Ninety Percent (90%) RefundNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

565 (FY2025)p. 40Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for Well-Spring Retirement Community (community only)
Read the note on this figure

The 565 days counts the community's $9.4M statutory operating reserve ($56.4M of 'unrestricted cash and investments', p36). Cash ($1.7M) and investments ($45.3M) alone are about 484 days of cash operating expenses (p87, p89). The Well-Spring Services obligated group (with The Village at Brookwood) reports 433 days and 3.97x (p40, p42).

Independent living occupancy

96.92% (2025)p. 21

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)The filing calls it LifeCare; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

LifeCare residents who need assisted living, memory care or skilled nursing get priority admission to the Health Center and keep paying their independent living monthly fee, plus the cost of two extra daily meals and items such as pharmaceuticals and supplies.p. 108

Assisted living
Same monthly fee as independent living, plus two additional daily meals and care supplies
Nursing care
Same monthly fee as independent living, plus two additional daily meals, pharmaceuticals and supplies
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Modified LifeCare; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Modified LifeCare residents keep paying their monthly fee for the first 14 Health Center days, then stop the monthly fee and pay the Health Center per diem less a 15% discount (assisted living $344/day; skilled nursing, enhanced assisted living and memory support $557/day before the discount). They also get priority admission.p. 25

Assisted living
Monthly fee for the first 14 days, then the assisted living per diem ($344/day) less 15%
Nursing care
Monthly fee for the first 14 days, then the skilled nursing/memory per diem ($557/day) less 15%
Care days included
14
Discount on care
15%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 20
Independent living264
Assisted living58
Memory care20
Nursing care60

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

LifeCare Residence and Care Agreement · Type A (life care) (17 prices, $189,000 to $648,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Azalea (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$189,000p. 25Not listed
Birch (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$189,000p. 25Not listed
Camellia (One Bedroom, One Bathroom Deluxe) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$260,000p. 25$93,000
Dogwood (Two Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$347,000p. 25$105,000
Elm (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$376,000p. 25$106,000
Chestnut (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$520,000p. 25$153,000
Rosemary (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Balcony) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$527,000p. 25$127,000
Sage (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Balcony) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$587,000p. 25$127,000
Forsythia (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL Garden HomeOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$251,000p. 25$93,000
Gardenia (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) - IL Garden HomeOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$356,000p. 26$101,000
Holly (Two Bedroom, One and a Half Bath) - IL Garden HomeOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$344,000p. 26$101,000
Ivy (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$390,000p. 26$102,000
Juniper (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Study) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$471,000p. 26$111,000
Laurel (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$528,000p. 26$119,000
Maple (Three Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$648,000p. 26$153,000
Oak (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$528,000p. 26$119,000
Pine (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Study) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$648,000p. 26$153,000
Modified LifeCare Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (17 prices, $138,000 to $473,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Azalea (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$138,000p. 26Not listed
Birch (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$138,000p. 26Not listed
Camellia (One Bedroom, One Bathroom Deluxe) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$190,000p. 26$68,000
Dogwood (Two Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$253,000p. 26$76,000
Elm (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$274,000p. 26$77,000
Chestnut (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$435,000p. 26$58,000
Rosemary (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Balcony) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$396,000p. 26$82,000
Sage (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Balcony) -IL AptOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$428,000p. 27$93,000
Forsythia (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL Garden HomeOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$183,000p. 27$68,000
Gardenia (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) - IL Garden HomeOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$251,000p. 27$73,000
Holly (Two Bedroom, One and a Half Bath) - IL Garden HomeOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$260,000p. 27$73,000
Ivy (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$285,000p. 27$75,000
Juniper (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Study) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$344,000p. 27$81,000
Laurel (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$386,000p. 27$87,000
Maple (Three Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$473,000p. 27$112,000
Oak (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$386,000p. 27$87,000
Pine (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Study) - IL VillaOne (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refund$473,000p. 27$112,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

LifeCare Residence and Care Agreement · Type A (life care) (17 prices, $4,387 to $7,579)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Azalea (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptIndependent living$4,387p. 23Not listed
Birch (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptIndependent living$4,387p. 23Not listed
Camellia (One Bedroom, One Bathroom Deluxe) -IL AptIndependent living$5,252p. 23$2,527
Dogwood (Two Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptIndependent living$5,627p. 23$2,527
Elm (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) -IL AptIndependent living$5,895p. 23$2,527
Chestnut (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) -IL AptIndependent living$7,160p. 23$2,527
Rosemary (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Balcony) -IL AptIndependent living$7,074p. 24$2,527
Sage (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Balcony) -IL AptIndependent living$7,337p. 24$2,527
Forsythia (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL Garden HomeIndependent living$5,393p. 24$2,527
Gardenia (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$5,910p. 24$2,527
Holly (Two Bedroom, One and a Half Bath) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$5,777p. 24$2,527
Ivy (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) - IL VillaIndependent living$6,146p. 24$2,527
Juniper (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Study) - IL VillaIndependent living$6,851p. 24$2,527
Laurel (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaIndependent living$7,224p. 24$2,527
Maple (Three Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaIndependent living$7,579p. 24$2,527
Oak (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaIndependent living$7,224p. 24$2,527
Pine (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Study) - IL VillaIndependent living$7,579p. 24$2,527
Modified LifeCare Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (17 prices, $3,817 to $6,594)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Azalea (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptIndependent living$3,817p. 24Not listed
Birch (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptIndependent living$3,817p. 24Not listed
Camellia (One Bedroom, One Bathroom Deluxe) -IL AptIndependent living$4,570p. 24$2,199
Dogwood (Two Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL AptIndependent living$4,896p. 24$2,199
Elm (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) -IL AptIndependent living$5,130p. 24$2,199
Chestnut (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) -IL AptIndependent living$6,081p. 24$2,199
Rosemary (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Balcony) -IL AptIndependent living$6,155p. 24$2,199
Sage (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Balcony) -IL AptIndependent living$6,383p. 24$2,199
Forsythia (One Bedroom, One Bathroom) -IL Garden HomeIndependent living$4,692p. 24$2,199
Gardenia (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$5,142p. 24$2,199
Holly (Two Bedroom, One and a Half Bath) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$5,027p. 24$2,199
Ivy (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) - IL VillaIndependent living$5,347p. 24$2,199
Juniper (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Study) - IL VillaIndependent living$5,960p. 24$2,199
Laurel (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaIndependent living$6,285p. 24$2,199
Maple (Three Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaIndependent living$6,594p. 24$2,199
Oak (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Sunroom) - IL VillaIndependent living$6,285p. 24$2,199
Pine (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom w/ Study) - IL VillaIndependent living$6,594p. 25$2,199

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 5.01%20222023: 7%20232024: 5.75%20242025: 5.25%20252026: 4.75%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 25
2025Independent livingAll units5.25%Percent onlyp. 25
2024Independent livingAll units5.75%Percent onlyp. 25
2023Independent livingAll units7%Percent onlyp. 25
2022Independent livingAll units5.01%Percent onlyp. 25

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

One (1) Year, Four Percent (4%) Per Month Declining Refundp. 172

You get back 90% of the entrance fee if you leave within 60 days of moving in; after that the refund drops by 4% of the total fee each month, to no less than 50%. If you leave more than 12 months after moving in, you get nothing back. Well-Spring may hold any refund until a new resident pays an entrance fee for your unit or two years after termination, whichever comes first (no two-year cap if Well-Spring terminates the agreement).

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
4% a month for 12 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Ninety Percent (90%) Refundp. 108

LifeCare only: 90% of the entrance fee is refunded when the contract ends. No entrance-fee prices for this plan are printed in the statement, and the projections assume no new resident chooses it. Refund timing follows the agreement: until a new resident pays an entrance fee for the unit or two years after termination, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Well-Spring, A Life Plan Community is part of Well-Spring Services, Inc. obligated group (Well-Spring Retirement Community and The Village at Brookwood); parent Kintura.
  • Balance sheet: Well-Spring Retirement Community, Inc. (column of the Well-Spring Services consolidating balance sheet).
  • Ratios: Well-Spring Retirement Community (community only).

Days cash on hand

565 days FY2025p. 40

Debt service coverage

4.59x FY2025p. 40

Read with these figuresThe 565 days counts the community's $9.4M statutory operating reserve ($56.4M of 'unrestricted cash and investments', p36). Cash ($1.7M) and investments ($45.3M) alone are about 484 days of cash operating expenses (p87, p89). The Well-Spring Services obligated group (with The Village at Brookwood) reports 433 days and 3.97x (p40, p42).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 88FY2024p. 40FY2023p. 40
Days cash on hand565 days497 days476 days
Debt service coverage4.59x2.42x2.18x
Operating margin3.41%-0.64%1.36%
Total assets$148.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$95.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$37.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$51.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$355,996Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$53.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 88

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 212024p. 212023p. 212022p. 212021p. 21
Independent living96.92%97.73%94.77%95.09%95.02%
Assisted living85.2%89.66%84.48%70.69%77.59%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care92.94%96.25%82.5%82.5%80%

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Well-Spring, A Life Plan Community in Greensboro has 264 independent living residences plus assisted living, memory care and skilled nursing, and is part of Kintura. It offers a LifeCare contract (care at the independent living monthly fee) and a Modified LifeCare contract (14 days at the monthly fee, then 15% off the per diem), with 2026 single entrance fees of $189,000-$648,000 and $138,000-$473,000 respectively. Under the refund option the fee tables are priced on, you get back 90% if you leave within 60 days, declining monthly to 50%, and nothing at all if you leave more than 12 months after moving in.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.