Skip to content

Friendship Richfield Living

Salem, Virginia

Operator:
Friendship Apartment Village Corporation
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Campus owned through Friendship RL, LLC (formerly Richfield Living), acquired by Friendship Foundation; reported with Friendship Apartment Village Corp in Exhibit E. Friendship RL also operates a skilled nursing facility and two assisted livings on the campus (p12-14).

  • Rental

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

None: rental

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,388 to $5,550p. 88

Refund plans offered

None: rental contract

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Independent living occupancy

87.3% (2025)p. 15

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Rental

No care is included or discounted in the monthly fee. Skilled nursing at the affiliated Richfield Health Center Salem and other affiliates is paid separately at daily rates (p19).p. 19

Assisted living
Not included in the monthly fee. Friendship RL, LLC operates two assisted livings and a skilled nursing facility (p14); respite stays at Eastwood, JCT or The Oaks are $188-$200/day (p19).
Nursing care
Not included in the monthly fee. Affiliates Friendship Health and Rehab Center and Richfield Health Center Salem charge $325-$485/day long-term/skilled and $355-$432/day memory care (p19).
Units on campusp. 13
Independent living173
Assisted livingNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Nursing careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2025 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

Independent living by one-year Residency Agreement with Friendship RL, LLC, automatically renewing; one-time non-refundable service initiation fee equal to one month's fee (p62-63). Monthly fee includes a $150/month meal credit at Anser Cafe (p17, p81). One legacy life lease (monthly fee $845) remained at 6/30/2025 (p15, p22).PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement (rental) · Rental (10 prices, $1,388 to $5,550)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Lake Retreat 1 BRIndependent living$3,082 to $4,072p. 87Not listed
Lake Retreat 2 BRIndependent living$4,318 to $4,811p. 87Not listed
The Villas 1 BRIndependent living$2,877 to $3,248p. 88Not listed
The Villas 2 BRIndependent living$4,268 to $5,428p. 88Not listed
Knollwood StudioIndependent living$1,388p. 88Not listed
Knollwood 1 BRIndependent living$1,736 to $1,813p. 88Not listed
Knollwood 2 BRIndependent living$2,143p. 88Not listed
Knollwood 2 BR DeluxeIndependent living$2,341p. 88Not listed
Lake Estates Patio Homes 2 BRIndependent living$4,050 to $4,670p. 88Not listed
Lake Estates Patio Homes 3 BRIndependent living$4,775 to $5,550p. 88Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingKnollwood Studio1.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,362 to $1,388p. 88
2025Independent livingKnollwood 2 BR1.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,103 to $2,143p. 88
2025Independent livingKnollwood 2 BR Deluxe1.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,297 to $2,341p. 88

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

No entrance-fee refund plan: residents rent.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Friendship Richfield Living is part of Friendship Apartment Village Corporation (Hershberger Rd campus, Roanoke, and Friendship RL, LLC / Richfield Living campus, Salem); sole member Friendship Foundation.
  • Balance sheet: Friendship Apartment Village Corp (Exhibit E summary; includes Friendship RL/Richfield Living per its narrative).

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 152FY2024p. 152
Total assets$38.5 million$37.4 million
Total liabilities$16.9 million$17.4 million
Long-term debtNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$21.5 million$20.0 million

Auditor: Brown Edwards (audit of Friendship Foundation and Subsidiaries, consolidated). Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 152

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 15
Independent living87.3%
Assisted livingNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosed

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2023-10Ownership change Friendship acquired Richfield Living (now Friendship RL, LLC) in Salem; $59,785,000 of bonds were issued in June 2024 as financing for the purchase.p. 14

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Friendship Richfield Living, formerly Richfield Living, is a Salem, Virginia campus of independent living apartments and patio homes, rented by one-year agreement with no entrance fee. Monthly fees include a $150 meal credit; FYE 6/30/2025 rents ran from $1,388 to $5,550. Care is not included in the fee.PDF

Other communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.