Skip to content

Kendal at Lexington

160 Kendal Drive, Lexington, Virginia 24450

Operator:
Lexington Retirement Community, Inc. (d/b/a Kendal at Lexington)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
2000

Single legal entity, a Virginia 501(c)(3); an affiliate of The Kendal Corporation, which has no ownership and is not responsible for its obligations.

  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for Kendal at Lexington, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$197,900 to $1,578,710p. 18p. 20

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,061 to $6,146p. 18

Refund plans offered

  • 2% Declining Refund PlanCan decline to nothing
  • 50% Refund PlanNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% Refund PlanNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

1,047 (FY2024)p. 111Its lenders require at least 120.

Independent living occupancy

94.2% (2024)p. 171

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)

The extensive (Lifecare) contract covers unlimited assisted living and nursing care for the resident's monthly fee, plus a charge for the two extra daily meals.p. 15

Assisted living
Unlimited lifetime assisted living included in the monthly fee; additional charge for two additional meals per day.
Nursing care
Unlimited lifetime use of the licensed nursing facility included; additional charge for two additional meals per day.

Type B (modified)

The modified contract includes unlimited assisted living and 60 lifetime days of nursing care, then the per diem rate. It costs $35,000 less per person in entry fee and $230 less per person monthly than the extensive contract (declining-refund option), or $47,250 / $66,500 less per person with the 50% / 90% refund options.p. 15

Assisted living
Unlimited lifetime assisted living included; additional charge for two additional meals per day.
Nursing care
Sixty days of nursing care included; after the benefit is exhausted the resident pays the then-current per diem for the nursing unit (non-contract companion suite rate $335/day).
Care days included
60
Units on campusp. 171
Independent living150
Assisted living20
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Nursing care60

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement for Extensive Coverage of Continuing Care · Type A (life care) (78 prices, $197,900 to $1,578,710)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (A)5502% Declining Refund Plan$197,900p. 18Not listed
Studio (A)55050% Refund Plan$267,165p. 19Not listed
Studio (A)55090% Refund Plan$376,010p. 19Not listed
One Bedroom (B)7502% Declining Refund Plan$297,500p. 18$121,600
One Bedroom (B)75050% Refund Plan$401,625p. 19$164,200
One Bedroom (B)75090% Refund Plan$565,250p. 19$231,100
One Bedroom/Den (C)8862% Declining Refund Plan$355,700p. 18$121,600
One Bedroom/Den (C)88650% Refund Plan$480,195p. 19$164,200
One Bedroom/Den (C)88690% Refund Plan$675,830p. 19$231,100
Two Bedroom (D&E)1,1702% Declining Refund Plan$460,400p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom (D&E)1,17050% Refund Plan$621,540p. 19$164,200
Two Bedroom (D&E)1,17090% Refund Plan$874,760p. 19$231,100
Two Bedroom/Den (F)1,3202% Declining Refund Plan$511,600p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom/Den (F)1,32050% Refund Plan$690,660p. 19$164,200
Two Bedroom/Den (F)1,32090% Refund Plan$972,040p. 19$231,100
One Bedroom/Den (G)1,0002% Declining Refund Plan$407,000p. 18$121,600
One Bedroom/Den (G)1,00050% Refund Plan$549,450p. 19$164,200
One Bedroom/Den (G)1,00090% Refund Plan$773,300p. 19$231,100
One Bedroom/Den (H)1,1802% Declining Refund Plan$466,500p. 18$121,600
One Bedroom/Den (H)1,18050% Refund Plan$629,775p. 19$164,200
One Bedroom/Den (H)1,18090% Refund Plan$886,350p. 19$231,100
Two Bedroom (I)1,3002% Declining Refund Plan$511,600p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom (I)1,30050% Refund Plan$690,660p. 19$164,200
Two Bedroom (I)1,30090% Refund Plan$972,040p. 19$231,100
Two Bedroom/Den (J)1,5002% Declining Refund Plan$602,900p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom/Den (J)1,50050% Refund Plan$813,915p. 19$164,200
Two Bedroom/Den (J)1,50090% Refund Plan$1,145,510p. 19$231,100
Two Bedroom/Den Deluxe (K)1,7252% Declining Refund Plan$687,500p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom/Den Deluxe (K)1,72550% Refund Plan$928,125p. 19$164,200
Two Bedroom/Den Deluxe (K)1,72590% Refund Plan$1,306,250p. 19$231,100
One Bedroom (L)7952% Declining Refund Plan$309,500p. 18$121,600
One Bedroom (L)79550% Refund Plan$417,825p. 19$164,200
One Bedroom (L)79590% Refund Plan$588,050p. 19$231,100
Isabel’s Cottage (Z)7952% Declining Refund Plan$321,000p. 18$121,600
Isabel’s Cottage (Z)79550% Refund Plan$433,350p. 19$164,200
Isabel’s Cottage (Z)79590% Refund Plan$609,900p. 19$231,100
One Bedroom/Den (M)9502% Declining Refund Plan$381,000p. 18$121,600
One Bedroom/Den (M)95050% Refund Plan$514,350p. 19$164,200
One Bedroom/Den (M)95090% Refund Plan$723,900p. 19$231,100
Two Bedroom (N)1,2402% Declining Refund Plan$483,600p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom (N)1,24050% Refund Plan$652,860p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom (N)1,24090% Refund Plan$918,840p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom/Den (O)1,3752% Declining Refund Plan$546,600p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom/Den (O)1,37550% Refund Plan$737,910p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom/Den (O)1,37590% Refund Plan$1,038,540p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom/Den (P)1,4202% Declining Refund Plan$577,900p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom/Den (P)1,42050% Refund Plan$780,165p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom/Den (P)1,42090% Refund Plan$1,098,010p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom/Den (Q)1,4602% Declining Refund Plan$587,100p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom/Den (Q)1,46050% Refund Plan$792,585p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom/Den (Q)1,46090% Refund Plan$1,115,490p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom/Den (R)1,6002% Declining Refund Plan$637,100p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom/Den (R)1,60050% Refund Plan$860,085p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom/Den (R)1,60090% Refund Plan$1,210,490p. 20$231,100
One Bedroom/Den (S)1,3002% Declining Refund Plan$522,700p. 18$121,600
One Bedroom/Den (S)1,30050% Refund Plan$705,645p. 20$164,200
One Bedroom/Den (S)1,30090% Refund Plan$993,130p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom (T)1,5002% Declining Refund Plan$609,900p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom (T)1,50050% Refund Plan$823,365p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom (T)1,50090% Refund Plan$1,158,810p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom (T+)1,5002% Declining Refund Plan$652,700p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom (T+)1,50050% Refund Plan$881,145p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom (T+)1,50090% Refund Plan$1,240,130p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom/Den (U)2,0002% Declining Refund Plan$785,400p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom/Den (U)2,00050% Refund Plan$1,060,290p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom/Den (U)2,00090% Refund Plan$1,492,260p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom/Den (U+)2,0002% Declining Refund Plan$830,900p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom/Den (U+)2,00050% Refund Plan$1,121,715p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom/Den (U+)2,00090% Refund Plan$1,578,710p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom (S3)1,4002% Declining Refund Plan$561,700p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom (S3)1,40050% Refund Plan$758,295p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom (S3)1,40090% Refund Plan$1,067,230p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom (TX3)1,5002% Declining Refund Plan$609,900p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom (TX3)1,50050% Refund Plan$823,365p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom (TX3)1,50090% Refund Plan$1,158,810p. 20$231,100
Two Bedroom/Den (U3)1,7502% Declining Refund Plan$709,200p. 18$121,600
Two Bedroom/Den (U3)1,75050% Refund Plan$957,420p. 20$164,200
Two Bedroom/Den (U3)1,75090% Refund Plan$1,347,480p. 20$231,100

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement for Extensive Coverage of Continuing Care · Type A (life care) (26 prices, $4,061 to $6,146)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (A)Independent living$4,061p. 18Not listed
One Bedroom (B)Independent living$4,443p. 18$2,017
One Bedroom/Den (C)Independent living$4,847p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom (D&E)Independent living$5,210p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom/Den (F)Independent living$5,498p. 18$2,017
One Bedroom/Den (G)Independent living$5,089p. 18$2,017
One Bedroom/Den (H)Independent living$5,182p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom (I)Independent living$5,476p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom/Den (J)Independent living$5,854p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom/Den Deluxe (K)Independent living$6,146p. 18$2,017
One Bedroom (L)Independent living$4,443p. 18$2,017
Isabel’s Cottage (Z)Independent living$4,368p. 18$2,017
One Bedroom/Den (M)Independent living$4,847p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom (N)Independent living$5,210p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom/Den (O)Independent living$5,498p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom/Den (P)Independent living$5,690p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom/Den (Q)Independent living$5,690p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom/Den (R)Independent living$5,880p. 18$2,017
One Bedroom/Den (S)Independent living$5,476p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom (T)Independent living$5,854p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom (T+)Independent living$5,854p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom/Den (U)Independent living$6,146p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom/Den (U+)Independent living$6,146p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom (S3)Independent living$5,691p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom (TX3)Independent living$5,854p. 18$2,017
Two Bedroom/Den (U3)Independent living$6,146p. 18$2,017

Fee increases, year by year

2020: 2.5%20202021: 2.75%20212022: 4%20222023: 6%20232024: 4.75%20242025: 4%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 22
2025Assisted livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 22
2024Independent livingAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 22
2024Assisted livingAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 22
2023Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 22
2023Assisted livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 22
2022Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 22
2022Assisted livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 22
2021Independent livingAll units2.75%Percent onlyp. 22
2021Assisted livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 22
2020Independent livingAll units2.5%Percent onlyp. 22
2020Assisted livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 22

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

2% Declining Refund Planp. 51

Within the first 90 days the entry fee is refunded less a 2% penalty. After that the refund is the entry fee less 2% for each month since the occupancy date, reaching nothing after 50 months. Refunds after occupancy are paid only once a new resident has signed for and paid the entry fee on the vacated residence.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refund Planp. 52

Same 2% monthly decline from the occupancy date, but the refund never falls below 50% of the total entry fee. Paid once the residence is reoccupied by a new resident who has paid the entry fee. Persons over 85 are not eligible for this option.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refund Planp. 52

Same 2% monthly decline from the occupancy date, but the refund never falls below 90% of the total entry fee. Paid once the residence is reoccupied by a new resident who has paid the entry fee. Persons over 85 are not eligible for this option.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Declines by
2% a month for 5 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Lexington Retirement Community, Inc.

Days cash on hand

1,047 days FY2024p. 111

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2024p. 111FY2023p. 111
Days cash on hand1047 daysNot disclosed
Total assets$120.6 million$113.7 million
Total liabilities$96.8 million$94.3 million
Long-term debt$40.4 million$41.8 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$50.4 million$46.3 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$2.1 million$2.1 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$23.8 million$19.4 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 111

Occupancy

Level of care2024p. 171
Independent living94.2%
Assisted living82.8%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care60.8%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $10,033. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 15. KENDAL AT LEXINGTON on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 2009. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Kendal at Lexington, operated by Lexington Retirement Community, Inc., a nonprofit affiliate of The Kendal Corporation, has 150 independent living residences, 20 assisted living apartments and a 60-bed nursing facility in Lexington, Virginia. Extensive (Lifecare) entry fees range from $197,900 to $830,900 single with a 2% monthly declining refund, and up to $1,578,710 with a 90% guaranteed refund; a modified contract with 60 days of nursing care costs less. The 2024 audit reports 1,047 days cash on hand against a 120-day covenant.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.