Skip to content

The Summit

1400 Enterprise Drive, Lynchburg, Virginia 24502

Operator:
Virginia Baptist Homes, Inc. dba LifeSpire of Virginia
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Baptist (Baptist General Association of Virginia)
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Owned by Lynchburg Baptist Retirement Community, LLC, a subsidiary of LifeSpire of Virginia; joined LifeSpire October 1, 2021.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$133,000 to $891,000p. 12

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,127 to $4,764p. 12

Refund plans offered

  • Declining RefundableCan decline to nothing
  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

266 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 66Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group

Independent living occupancy

96.2% (2025)p. 19

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Residents moving to The Summit Assisted Living pay its full published daily rate, with priority access. The Summit does not provide nursing care; a cooperation agreement with the adjacent, unaffiliated Summit Health and Rehab Center gives residents priority admission, at that facility’s own charges. Each independent living resident also has a one-time Long-Term Care Benefit of $550 a month, capped at $6,600, on moving to assisted living or a nursing facility.p. 45

Assisted living
Published Assisted Living Daily Rate (Jan 2026: $184 studio, $218 one bedroom, $244 one bedroom grand; $150 second person). A permanent move replaces the Monthly Fee; a temporary stay is the daily rate plus the Monthly Fee. A one-time Long-Term Care Benefit pays $550 a month toward assisted living or outside nursing, up to $6,600 in total.
Nursing care
Not provided by the community. Residents pay all fees and charges at the adjacent Summit Health and Rehab Center (unaffiliated), plus their Monthly Fee if they keep their residence.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 19
Independent living105
Assisted living43
Memory careNone on campus
Nursing careNone on campus

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Fee for Service · Type C (fee for service) (28 prices, $133,000 to $891,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Poplar (Apartment)Declining Refundable$133,000p. 12$13,000
Poplar (Apartment)90% Refundable$245,000p. 12$26,000
James (Apartment)Declining Refundable$192,000p. 12$13,000
James (Apartment)90% Refundable$354,000p. 12$26,000
Birch (Apartment)Declining Refundable$203,000p. 12$13,000
Birch (Apartment)90% Refundable$371,000p. 12$26,000
Peaks of Otter (Apartment)Declining Refundable$260,000p. 12$13,000
Peaks of Otter (Apartment)90% Refundable$481,000p. 12$26,000
Magnolia (Apartment)Declining Refundable$272,000p. 12$13,000
Magnolia (Apartment)90% Refundable$500,000p. 12$26,000
Chestnut (Apartment)Declining Refundable$289,000p. 12$13,000
Chestnut (Apartment)90% Refundable$532,000p. 12$26,000
Skyline (Apartment)Declining Refundable$296,000p. 12$13,000
Skyline (Apartment)90% Refundable$546,000p. 12$26,000
Cumberland (Cottage)Declining Refundable$259,000p. 12$13,000
Cumberland (Cottage)90% Refundable$468,000p. 12$26,000
Chesapeake (Cottage)Declining Refundable$279,000p. 12$13,000
Chesapeake (Cottage)90% Refundable$504,000p. 12$26,000
Blue Ridge (Cottage)Declining Refundable$326,000p. 12$13,000
Blue Ridge (Cottage)90% Refundable$589,000p. 12$26,000
Shenandoah (Cottage)Declining Refundable$355,000p. 12$13,000
Shenandoah (Cottage)90% Refundable$643,000p. 12$26,000
Appalachian (Cottage)Declining Refundable$403,000p. 12$13,000
Appalachian (Cottage)90% Refundable$731,000p. 12$26,000
Piedmont (Cottage)Declining Refundable$437,000p. 12$13,000
Piedmont (Cottage)90% Refundable$789,000p. 12$26,000
Buena Vista (Cottage)Declining Refundable$493,000p. 12$13,000
Buena Vista (Cottage)90% Refundable$891,000p. 12$26,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Fee for Service · Type C (fee for service) (14 prices, $3,127 to $4,764)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Poplar (Apartment)Independent living$3,127p. 12$1,087
James (Apartment)Independent living$3,293p. 12$1,087
Birch (Apartment)Independent living$3,437p. 12$1,087
Peaks of Otter (Apartment)Independent living$3,521p. 12$1,087
Magnolia (Apartment)Independent living$3,777p. 12$1,087
Chestnut (Apartment)Independent living$3,829p. 12$1,087
Skyline (Apartment)Independent living$3,938p. 12$1,087
Cumberland (Cottage)Independent living$3,853p. 12$1,087
Chesapeake (Cottage)Independent living$3,853p. 12$1,087
Blue Ridge (Cottage)Independent living$3,944p. 12$1,087
Shenandoah (Cottage)Independent living$4,128p. 12$1,087
Appalachian (Cottage)Independent living$4,417p. 12$1,087
Piedmont (Cottage)Independent living$4,554p. 12$1,087
Buena Vista (Cottage)Independent living$4,764p. 12$1,087

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 5%20222023: 8%20232024: 4.45%20242025: 3.95%20252026: 3.75%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units3.75%Percent onlyp. 13
2026Assisted livingAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 13
2025Independent livingAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 13
2025Assisted livingAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 13
2024Independent livingAll units4.45%Percent onlyp. 13
2024Assisted livingAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 13
2023Independent livingAll units8%Percent onlyp. 13
2023Assisted livingAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 13
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 13
2022Assisted livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 13

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Refundablep. 47

A 4% administrative charge is kept; the rest amortizes at 2% a month and nothing is refundable after 50 months. Any refund is paid only after your residence is reoccupied by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refundablep. 55

A 4% administrative charge is kept; the rest amortizes 1% a month for 10 months, leaving at least 90% of the fee net of the charge. The refund is paid only after your residence is reoccupied by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 10 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • The Summit is part of LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group (LifeSpire, The Culpeper, Lakewood, The Chesapeake, The Glebe, The Summit).
  • Balance sheet: Virginia Baptist Homes, Inc. dba LifeSpire of Virginia and Subsidiaries (consolidated).
  • Ratios: LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

266 days FY2025p. 66

Debt service coverage

2.31x FY2025p. 66

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 66FY2024p. 66
Days cash on hand266 daysNot disclosed
Debt service coverage2.31xNot disclosed
Total assets$561.3 million$548.6 million
Total liabilities$569.2 million$576.6 million
Long-term debt$329.7 million$356.0 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$154.4 million$120.5 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$56.7 million$68.3 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$7.9 million−$28.0 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 66

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 19
Independent living96.2%
Assisted living95.3%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosed

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025Credit rating Fitch reaffirmed LifeSpire’s BBB rating with a stable outlook.p. 17
  • 2024-10 The Obligated Group issued a $168,825,000 note (Series 2024A and Entrance Fee Principal Redemption Series 2024B-1/B-2) to refund the Series 2014A bonds and 2021 Taxable Loan and fund expansions at The Glebe and The Summit.p. 15
  • 2021-10Ownership change The Summit joined LifeSpire of Virginia on October 1, 2021; the purchase was financed in part by the Obligated Group’s Series 2021 bonds.p. 10

Nursing care on campus

The filing lists no nursing beds on campus, so there is no CMS nursing-home record to show.

In brief

The Summit is a LifeSpire of Virginia community on about 32 acres in Lynchburg with 105 independent living units and 43 assisted living units; nursing care is through an adjacent, unaffiliated facility. It offers a Fee for Service contract with a Declining Refundable or 90% Refundable entrance fee; 2026 entrance fees run from $133,000 to $891,000. Finances are reported for LifeSpire and its subsidiaries together, which ended 2025 with a net deficit of $7.9 million; the Obligated Group reported 266 days cash on hand against a 120-day covenant.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.