Skip to content

Westminster Canterbury of Lynchburg

501 V.E.S. Road, Lynchburg, Virginia 24503

Operator:
Westminster Canterbury of Lynchburg, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Episcopal Diocese of Southwestern Virginia and Synod of the Mid-Atlantic, Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) — via member corporations; not liable for obligations (p9)
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Non-stock nonprofit Virginia corporation; owns the real property (p3, p8). Members: Southwestern Episcopal Homes, Inc. and Westminster Presbyterian Homes, Inc. (p9).

  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$61,376 to $560,727p. 31p. 26

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,200 to $6,484p. 31p. 26

Refund plans offered

  • Traditional PlanCan decline to nothing
  • Guaranteed 50% PlanNever less than 50% of the fee
  • Guaranteed 90% PlanNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

554 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 162Its lenders require at least 120.

Independent living occupancy

97.33% (2025)p. 162

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)The filing calls it Unlimited LifeCare Agreement (Type A); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Unlimited assisted living, memory support and nursing care while paying the Monthly Services Fee of your residence plus two extra meals a day; the agreement also mentions an unspecified health care charge in memory support and nursing and an extra fee for an assisted living suite.p. 42

Assisted living
Then-current Monthly Services Fee of the residence plus two additional meals; additional fee for an AL suite
Nursing care
Then-current Monthly Services Fee of the residence plus two additional meals, plus a 'health care charge' in Memory Support and Health Care (amount not stated)
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Fee-for-Service Agreement (Type C); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Assisted living at the per diem rate less 5% and nursing care at the per diem rate less 15%; no care days are included. The document calls this Type C; it is mapped to B because care is billed at a stated discount.p. 10

Assisted living
Per diem rate less 5%
Nursing care
Per diem rate less 15%
Discount on care
15%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 8
Independent living262
Assisted living40
Memory care14
Nursing care105

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

LifeCare Unlimited · Type A (life care) (14 prices, $103,699 to $560,727)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
2 Bedroom (Cottage Homes)1,390Traditional Plan$458,686p. 26$54,017
2 Bedroom, Den (Cottage Homes)1,598 to 1,700Traditional Plan$519,343 to $560,727p. 26$54,017
Studio (Brookhaven & Creekside)423 to 598Traditional Plan$103,699 to $148,834p. 26$54,017
1 Bedroom (Brookhaven & Creekside)684 to 1,072Traditional Plan$219,370 to $361,454p. 26$54,017
2 Bedroom (Brookhaven & Creekside)990 to 1,710Traditional Plan$351,435 to $529,316p. 26$54,017
1 Bedroom, Den (Brookhaven & Creekside)1,021Traditional Plan$351,435p. 26$54,017
2 Bedroom, Den (Brookhaven & Creekside)1,530Traditional Plan$485,804p. 26$54,017
1 Bedroom (Woods Edge)695 to 939Traditional Plan$243,608 to $321,200p. 27$54,017
1 Bedroom, Den (Woods Edge)1,010Traditional Plan$362,936p. 27$54,017
2 Bedroom (Woods Edge)1,234 to 1,362Traditional Plan$430,203 to $464,377p. 27$54,017
2 Bedroom, Den (Woods Edge)1,367 to 1,442Traditional Plan$474,326 to $507,642p. 27$54,017
1 Bedroom, Den (Riverside)800 to 1,007Traditional Plan$314,917 to $373,490p. 27$54,017
2 Bedroom (Riverside)1,079 to 1,187Traditional Plan$383,801 to $426,172p. 27$54,017
2 Bedroom, Den (Riverside)1,356 to 1,663Traditional Plan$465,542 to $500,381p. 27$54,017
Fee-for-Service · Type B (modified) (14 prices, $63,831 to $452,592)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
2 Bedroom (Cottage Homes)1,390Traditional Plan$376,901p. 29$19,269
2 Bedroom, Den (Cottage Homes)1,598 to 1,700Traditional Plan$418,060 to $452,592p. 29$19,269
Studio (Brookhaven & Creekside)423 to 598Traditional Plan$63,831 to $102,137p. 29$19,269
1 Bedroom (Brookhaven & Creekside)684 to 1,072Traditional Plan$171,125 to $312,431p. 29$19,269
2 Bedroom (Brookhaven & Creekside)990 to 1,710Traditional Plan$298,000 to $440,347p. 29$19,269
1 Bedroom, Den (Brookhaven & Creekside)1,021Traditional Plan$302,556p. 29$19,269
2 Bedroom, Den (Brookhaven & Creekside)1,530Traditional Plan$406,068p. 29$19,269
1 Bedroom (Woods Edge)695 to 939Traditional Plan$196,308 to $272,762p. 30$19,269
1 Bedroom, Den (Woods Edge)1,010Traditional Plan$313,885p. 30$19,269
2 Bedroom (Woods Edge)1,234 to 1,362Traditional Plan$356,641 to $386,203p. 30$19,269
2 Bedroom, Den (Woods Edge)1,367 to 1,442Traditional Plan$394,894 to $405,974p. 30$19,269
1 Bedroom, Den (Riverside)800 to 1,007Traditional Plan$276,685 to $324,872p. 30$19,269
2 Bedroom (Riverside)1,079 to 1,187Traditional Plan$338,427 to $347,667p. 30$19,269
2 Bedroom, Den (Riverside)1,356 to 1,663Traditional Plan$388,935 to $411,162p. 30$19,269
Azalea Option LifeCare · Type A (life care) (1 prices, $103,699)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Azalea Option (before moving to campus)Traditional Plan$103,699p. 31$54,017
Azalea Option Fee-for-Service · Type B (modified) (1 prices, $61,376)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Azalea Option (before moving to campus)Traditional Plan$61,376p. 31$18,527

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

LifeCare Unlimited · Type A (life care) (14 prices, $3,188 to $6,484)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
2 Bedroom (Cottage Homes)Independent living$5,329p. 26$1,600
2 Bedroom, Den (Cottage Homes)Independent living$5,330 to $6,484p. 26$1,600
Studio (Brookhaven & Creekside)Independent living$3,188 to $3,490p. 26$1,600
1 Bedroom (Brookhaven & Creekside)Independent living$3,641 to $4,528p. 26$1,600
2 Bedroom (Brookhaven & Creekside)Independent living$4,518 to $5,318p. 26$1,600
1 Bedroom, Den (Brookhaven & Creekside)Independent living$4,518p. 26$1,600
2 Bedroom, Den (Brookhaven & Creekside)Independent living$5,076p. 26$1,600
1 Bedroom (Woods Edge)Independent living$3,658 to $4,407p. 27$1,600
1 Bedroom, Den (Woods Edge)Independent living$4,877p. 27$1,600
2 Bedroom (Woods Edge)Independent living$4,956 to $4,976p. 27$1,600
2 Bedroom, Den (Woods Edge)Independent living$5,078 to $5,217p. 27$1,600
1 Bedroom, Den (Riverside)Independent living$4,380 to $4,872p. 27$1,600
2 Bedroom (Riverside)Independent living$4,895 to $4,920p. 27$1,600
2 Bedroom, Den (Riverside)Independent living$4,951 to $5,213p. 27$1,600
Fee-for-Service · Type B (modified) (14 prices, $2,182 to $5,232)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
2 Bedroom (Cottage Homes)Independent living$4,151p. 29$1,022
2 Bedroom, Den (Cottage Homes)Independent living$4,151 to $5,232p. 29$1,022
Studio (Brookhaven & Creekside)Independent living$2,182 to $2,386p. 29$1,022
1 Bedroom (Brookhaven & Creekside)Independent living$2,485 to $3,426p. 29$1,022
2 Bedroom (Brookhaven & Creekside)Independent living$3,406 to $4,287p. 29$1,022
1 Bedroom, Den (Brookhaven & Creekside)Independent living$3,414p. 29$1,022
2 Bedroom, Den (Brookhaven & Creekside)Independent living$4,129p. 29$1,022
1 Bedroom (Woods Edge)Independent living$2,510 to $3,348p. 30$1,022
1 Bedroom, Den (Woods Edge)Independent living$3,593p. 30$1,022
2 Bedroom (Woods Edge)Independent living$3,954 to $3,974p. 30$1,022
2 Bedroom, Den (Woods Edge)Independent living$3,974 to $4,047p. 30$1,022
1 Bedroom, Den (Riverside)Independent living$3,323 to $3,700p. 30$1,022
2 Bedroom (Riverside)Independent living$3,859 to $3,926p. 30$1,022
2 Bedroom, Den (Riverside)Independent living$3,962 to $4,106p. 30$1,022
Azalea Option LifeCare · Type A (life care) (1 prices, $1,200)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Azalea Option (before moving to campus)Independent living$1,200p. 31$600

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 3%20222023: 3.9%20232024: 6%20242025: 4%20252026: 2.9%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units2.9%Percent onlyp. 33
2025Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 33
2024Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 33
2023Independent livingAll units3.9%Percent onlyp. 33
2022Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 33

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Traditional Planp. 52

Refund is the entrance fee less 2% for each month after the agreement date, never more than 96% of the fee; nothing is refunded after 50 months. Paid only after the residence is re-occupied by a new resident who has paid an entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Guaranteed 50% Planp. 52

Costs 50% more than the posted entry fee. Refund declines 2% a month (capped at 96%) for 25 months, then 50% of the fee is guaranteed; paid after the residence is re-occupied by a new entrance-fee payer.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Guaranteed 90% Planp. 53

Costs 90% more than the posted entry fee. Refund declines 2% a month (capped at 96%) for 5 months, then 90% of the fee is guaranteed; paid after the residence is re-occupied by a new entrance-fee payer.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
2% a month for 5 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Westminster Canterbury of Lynchburg, Inc. (consolidated).
  • Ratios: Westminster Canterbury of Lynchburg, Inc.
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

554 days FY2025p. 162

Debt service coverage

2.57x FY2025p. 162

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 132
Total assets$165.2 million
Total liabilities$126.1 million
Long-term debt$62.8 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$53.8 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$3.6 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$39.1 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 132

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 1622024p. 162
Independent living97.33%96.95%
Assisted livingNot disclosed97.5%
Memory care92.86%92.86%
Nursing care95.24%96.19%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 2. WESTMINSTER-CANTERBURY OF LYNCHBURG INC on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 1987. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Westminster Canterbury of Lynchburg is a nonprofit continuing care community on about 52 acres in Lynchburg with 36 cottages, 226 independent living apartments, 40 assisted living beds, a 14-bed memory support center and 105 nursing beds. It offers an unlimited LifeCare contract and a fee-for-service contract with nursing at 15% off the daily rate, each with refund plans that decline 2% a month; LifeCare entry fees (traditional plan) run from $103,699 to $560,727 for one person. Management reported 554 days cash on hand and 2.57x debt service coverage for FY2025.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • The Summit

    Lynchburg · 7 miles away

    Entrance fee: $133,000 to $891,000

  • Kendal at Lexington

    Lexington · 27 miles away

    Entrance fee: $197,900 to $1,578,710

  • The Glebe

    Daleville · 40 miles away

    Entrance fee: $165,000 to $875,000

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.