Skip to content

The Glebe

200 The Glebe Boulevard, Daleville, Virginia 24083

Operator:
Virginia Baptist Homes, Inc. dba LifeSpire of Virginia
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Baptist (Baptist General Association of Virginia)
Opened:
2005

The Glebe, Inc. is a subsidiary of LifeSpire of Virginia.

  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$165,000 to $875,000p. 14

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,726 to $6,954p. 14

Refund plans offered

  • Standard RefundableCan decline to nothing
  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

266 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 98Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group

Independent living occupancy

97.5% (2025)p. 22

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)

Life-Care residents keep paying their independent-living monthly fee in assisted living, memory support or the Health Care Center, plus two extra meals a day and ancillary charges. If a bed is not available, residents get priority admittance when a room opens.p. 78

Assisted living
Same Monthly Service Fee as the residence held at transfer (or the last one held at least a year), plus two additional meals a day and ancillary charges
Nursing care
Same Monthly Service Fee plus two additional meals a day and ancillary charges (non-Medicare stay)
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Fee for Service; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Fee for Service residents pay the published daily rate for assisted living, memory support and the Health Care Center, less 10%. If a bed is not available, residents get priority admittance when a room opens.p. 45

Assisted living
Discounted Daily Rate (published daily rate less 10%); the daily rates themselves are not printed in this statement
Nursing care
Discounted Daily Rate (published daily rate less 10%) for a non-Medicare stay
Discount on care
10%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 22
Independent living162
Assisted living32
Memory care20
Nursing care32

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Fee for Service · Type B (modified) (22 prices, $165,000 to $741,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
AlleghenyStandard Refundable$165,000p. 14$42,000
Allegheny90% Refundable$306,000p. 14$76,000
Blue RidgeStandard Refundable$220,000p. 14$42,000
Blue Ridge90% Refundable$408,000p. 14$76,000
CatawbaStandard Refundable$265,000p. 14$42,000
Catawba90% Refundable$490,000p. 14$76,000
DraperStandard Refundable$268,000p. 14$42,000
Draper90% Refundable$500,000p. 14$76,000
EllistonStandard Refundable$301,000p. 14$42,000
Elliston90% Refundable$560,000p. 14$76,000
Elliston DeluxeStandard Refundable$301,000p. 14$42,000
Elliston Deluxe90% Refundable$560,000p. 14$76,000
FairviewStandard Refundable$397,000p. 14$42,000
Fairview90% Refundable$741,000p. 14$76,000
FincastleStandard Refundable$349,000p. 14$42,000
Fincastle90% Refundable$650,000p. 14$76,000
GreyledgeStandard Refundable$358,000p. 14$42,000
Greyledge90% Refundable$668,000p. 14$76,000
HawthorneStandard Refundable$361,000p. 14$42,000
Hawthorne90% Refundable$675,000p. 14$76,000
SantillaneStandard Refundable$383,000p. 14$42,000
Santillane90% Refundable$714,000p. 14$76,000
Life-Care · Type A (life care) (22 prices, $195,000 to $875,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
AlleghenyStandard Refundable$195,000p. 14$48,000
Allegheny90% Refundable$363,000p. 14$88,000
Blue RidgeStandard Refundable$249,000p. 14$48,000
Blue Ridge90% Refundable$467,000p. 14$88,000
CatawbaStandard Refundable$291,000p. 14$48,000
Catawba90% Refundable$545,000p. 14$88,000
DraperStandard Refundable$310,000p. 14$48,000
Draper90% Refundable$580,000p. 14$88,000
EllistonStandard Refundable$349,000p. 14$48,000
Elliston90% Refundable$650,000p. 14$88,000
Elliston DeluxeStandard Refundable$349,000p. 14$48,000
Elliston Deluxe90% Refundable$650,000p. 14$88,000
FairviewStandard Refundable$470,000p. 14$48,000
Fairview90% Refundable$875,000p. 14$88,000
FincastleStandard Refundable$410,000p. 14$48,000
Fincastle90% Refundable$767,000p. 14$88,000
GreyledgeStandard Refundable$431,000p. 14$48,000
Greyledge90% Refundable$802,000p. 14$88,000
HawthorneStandard Refundable$434,000p. 15$48,000
Hawthorne90% Refundable$814,000p. 15$88,000
SantillaneStandard Refundable$454,000p. 15$48,000
Santillane90% Refundable$846,000p. 15$88,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Fee for Service · Type B (modified) (11 prices, $3,726 to $5,694)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
AlleghenyIndependent living$3,726p. 14$1,516
Blue RidgeIndependent living$4,103p. 14$1,516
CatawbaIndependent living$4,663p. 14$1,516
DraperIndependent living$4,827p. 14$1,516
EllistonIndependent living$5,207p. 14$1,516
Elliston DeluxeIndependent living$5,207p. 14$1,516
FairviewIndependent living$5,694p. 14$1,516
FincastleIndependent living$5,586p. 14$1,516
GreyledgeIndependent living$5,530p. 14$1,516
HawthorneIndependent living$5,530p. 14$1,516
SantillaneIndependent living$5,585p. 14$1,516
Life-Care · Type A (life care) (11 prices, $4,360 to $6,954)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
AlleghenyIndependent living$4,360p. 14$1,833
Blue RidgeIndependent living$4,949p. 14$1,833
CatawbaIndependent living$5,344p. 14$1,833
DraperIndependent living$5,601p. 14$1,833
EllistonIndependent living$6,010p. 14$1,833
Elliston DeluxeIndependent living$6,010p. 14$1,833
FairviewIndependent living$6,954p. 14$1,833
FincastleIndependent living$6,795p. 14$1,833
GreyledgeIndependent living$6,753p. 14$1,833
HawthorneIndependent living$6,753p. 15$1,833
SantillaneIndependent living$6,821p. 15$1,833

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 5%20222023: 8%20232024: 4.45%20242025: 3.95%20252026: 3.75%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units3.75%Percent onlyp. 15
2026Assisted livingAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 15
2026Memory careAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 15
2026Nursing careAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 15
2025Independent livingAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 15
2025Assisted livingAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 15
2025Memory careAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 15
2025Nursing careAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 15
2024Independent livingAll units4.45%Percent onlyp. 15
2024Assisted livingAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 15
2024Memory careAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 15
2024Nursing careAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 15
2023Independent livingAll units8%Percent onlyp. 15
2023Assisted livingAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 15
2023Memory careAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 15
2023Nursing careAll units10%Percent onlyp. 15
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 15
2022Assisted livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 15
2022Memory careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 15
2022Nursing careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 15

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard Refundablep. 86

A 4% administrative charge is kept; the rest amortizes at 2% a month and nothing is refundable after 50 months. Any refund is paid only after your residence is sold to a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refundablep. 86

A 4% administrative charge is kept; the rest amortizes 1% a month for 10 months, leaving at least 90% of the fee net of the charge. The refund is paid only after your residence is sold to a new resident who has paid their entrance fee; if you later need financial assistance, the refundable balance is applied to your care first.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 10 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • The Glebe is part of LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group (LifeSpire, The Culpeper, Lakewood, The Chesapeake, The Glebe, The Summit).
  • Balance sheet: Virginia Baptist Homes, Inc. dba LifeSpire of Virginia and Subsidiaries (consolidated).
  • Ratios: LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

266 days FY2025p. 98

Debt service coverage

2.31x FY2025p. 98

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 98FY2024p. 98
Days cash on hand266 daysNot disclosed
Debt service coverage2.31xNot disclosed
Total assets$561.3 million$548.6 million
Total liabilities$569.2 million$576.6 million
Long-term debt$329.7 million$356.0 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$154.4 million$120.5 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$56.7 million$68.3 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$7.9 million−$28.0 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 98

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 22
Independent living97.5%
Assisted living93.4%
Memory care95%
Nursing care93.8%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-10 The Obligated Group issued a $168,825,000 note (Series 2024A and Entrance Fee Principal Redemption Series 2024B-1/B-2) to refund the Series 2014A bonds and 2021 Taxable Loan and fund expansions at The Glebe and The Summit.p. 18
  • 2023-06Credit rating Fitch affirmed LifeSpire’s BBB issuer default rating.p. 6

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 0. THE GLEBE on Care Compare

In brief

The Glebe is a LifeSpire of Virginia community on a 65-acre site in Daleville, Botetourt County, opened in 2005, with 162 independent living, 32 assisted living, 20 memory support and 32 Health Care Center units. It offers a Life-Care contract and a Fee for Service contract (care at the daily rate less 10%), each with a Standard Refundable or 90% Refundable entrance fee; 2026 entrance fees run from $165,000 to $846,000. Finances are reported for LifeSpire and its subsidiaries together, which ended 2025 with a net deficit of $7.9 million; the Obligated Group reported 266 days cash on hand against a 120-day covenant.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.