Skip to content

Legacy at Mills River

582 Jeffress Rd, Mills River, North Carolina 28759

Operator:
Legacy at Mills River Club, Inc. (to be formed); developer and owner Blue Ridge Retirement Partners, LLC; management by Liberty Living Management, LLC (or affiliate)
Ownership:
Mixed nonprofit and for-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

For-profit developer Blue Ridge Retirement Partners, LLC (managers Grant Investment Group, LLC and LSL Properties of Mills River, LLC; Liberty Management holds 33.33% from January 1, 2026) develops and sells the homes; the contracting provider Legacy at Mills River Club, Inc. and the condominium Owners Association are nonprofits that had not yet been incorporated as of the statement date.

  • Equity
  • Type B (modified)
  • Type A (life care)

This campus is not open yet. The filing describes a community under development, so its fees are the ones the developer anticipates charging, and there is no occupancy or operating history to show.

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

In this filing

  • FY2025: The auditor's report includes a going-concern paragraph: substantial doubt about the organisation's ability to continue operating.p. 45
  • 2026-05: The auditor's report on Blue Ridge Retirement Partners, LLC's FY2025 financial statements (Cherry Bekaert LLP, dated May 15, 2026) includes a paragraph headed 'Substantial Doubt About the Company's Ability to Continue as a Going Concern', stating that the company 'has a members' deficit of approximately $9.9 million and is dependent on member contributions to continue to fund the project.' Note 7, to which that paragraph refers, says the company is working with banks to obtain outside financing for the project and that 'no assurance can be given regarding the success of management's efforts to obtain financing on reasonable terms.'p. 43

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$588,430 to $1,940,885p. 65p. 66

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,500 to $4,900p. 22

Refund plans offered

  • Home ownership (resale at market price)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

1 (FY2025)p. 35Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Development-stage developer with no operations: $3,368 of unrestricted cash at year end. The $12.4M on the balance sheet is buyers' purchase deposits held in escrow. The auditor's report includes a paragraph headed 'Substantial Doubt About the Company's Ability to Continue as a Going Concern'.

Independent living occupancy

Not open yet

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Equity: You buy your unit.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.
  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Continuing Care Modified; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Members get 15 eligible days a year in the Health Care Facility, up to 30 banked, paying only their Monthly Payment plus two extra meals and supplies. After that they pay the Health Care Rate on top of the Monthly Payment until the home is resold, then the Health Care Rate alone. No discount on the rate is stated.p. 110

Assisted living
15 eligible days a year (up to 30 banked) with no room-and-board fee, then the Health Care Rate in addition to the Monthly Payment until the home is resold; contract Schedule A Initial Health Care Rate: assisted $141.00, private (unit not printed). Section 21 Table 21.1 instead lists $9,400 a month
Nursing care
15 eligible days a year, then the Health Care Rate; contract Schedule A Initial Health Care Rate: skilled $237.00, private (unit not printed). Section 21 Table 21.1 instead lists $14,000 a month
Care days included
15

Type A (life care)The filing calls it Life Care Option; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Optional upgrade for a one-time $22,000 single / $33,000 double (non-refundable) and $920 a month: once eligible days are used, the Health Care Rate becomes the member's Monthly Payment plus the Life Care monthly fee rather than the market Health Care Rate.p. 122

Assisted living
Monthly Payment plus the $920 Life Care monthly fee, after eligible days
Nursing care
Monthly Payment plus the $920 Life Care monthly fee, after eligible days
Care days included
15
Units on campusp. 17
Independent living376
Assisted livingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Purchase and Sale Agreement + Membership Agreement · Equity (34 prices, $588,430 to $1,940,885)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Manor Building Apartment – Ironwood (anticipated price)811Home ownership (resale at market price)$588,430p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Alderleaf (anticipated price)1,266Home ownership (resale at market price)$995,678p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Birchpeak (anticipated price)1,266Home ownership (resale at market price)$877,250p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Cherrybud (anticipated price)1,519Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,357,469p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Timberfine (anticipated price)1,325Home ownership (resale at market price)$928,600p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Walnut (anticipated price)1,344Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,071,991p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Hickory (anticipated price)1,769Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,263,750p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Hawthorne (anticipated price)1,586Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,082,916p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Chestnut (anticipated price)1,583Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,254,743p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Cypress (anticipated price)1,355Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,036,144p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Olivescape (anticipated price)1,290Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,189,154p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Willowgreen (anticipated price)1,351Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,159,998p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Elmlace (anticipated price)1,592Home ownership (resale at market price)$970,250p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – HeartPine (anticipated price)1,593Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,153,973p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Lacegreen (anticipated price)1,657Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,330,213p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Applemoss (anticipated price)1,946Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,206,550p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Plumbraid (anticipated price)2,195Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,807,630p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Combo 310/312 (anticipated price)2,136Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,296,900p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Penthouse V (anticipated price)2,433Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,765,000p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Penthouse IV (anticipated price)2,370Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,478,950p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Penthouse III (anticipated price)2,210Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,307,000p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Penthouse II (anticipated price)1,130Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,129,615p. 65Not listed
Manor Building Apartment – Penthouse I (anticipated price)1,270Home ownership (resale at market price)$897,700p. 65Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Huntington (anticipated price)1,275Home ownership (resale at market price)$930,697p. 66Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Brantwood (anticipated price)1,475Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,245,222p. 66Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Springcot (anticipated price)1,690Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,158,000p. 66Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Roycroft (anticipated price)1,645Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,379,449p. 66Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Penlee (anticipated price)1,925Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,323,071p. 66Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Maytham (anticipated price)2,075Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,543,150p. 66Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Ashbee (anticipated price)2,252Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,940,885p. 66Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Bramhall (anticipated price)2,090Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,588,404p. 66Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Blackwell (anticipated price)2,496Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,923,987p. 66Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Standen (anticipated price)2,388Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,600,500p. 66Not listed
Estate/Village Home – Sledmere (anticipated price)1,970Home ownership (resale at market price)$1,482,200p. 66Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Membership Agreement - Continuing Care Modified · Type B (modified) (5 prices, $4,500 to $4,900)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – ApartmentIndependent living$4,500p. 22$1,200
Independent Living – CottageIndependent living$4,900p. 22$1,200
Assisted Living / Memory CareAssisted livingNot disclosedp. 122Not listed
Assisted Living / Memory CareMemory careNot disclosedp. 122Not listed
Skilled NursingNursing careNot disclosedp. 122Not listed
Membership Agreement - Life Care Option · Type A (life care) (2 prices, $4,500 to $4,900)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – ApartmentIndependent living$4,500p. 22$1,200
Independent Living – CottageIndependent living$4,900p. 22$1,200

Fee increases, year by year

No year-by-year increase history was recorded from the 2026 filing.

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Home ownership (resale at market price)p. 73

Not an entrance fee: the resident owns the home and its resale price is set by the market, to a buyer who qualifies for membership. On each resale a 'Membership Fee' of 10% of the resale purchase price is paid to the developer; the statement does not say whether it comes out of the seller's proceeds. Monthly fees continue until the home is resold.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Blue Ridge Retirement Partners, LLC (developer).
  • Ratios: Blue Ridge Retirement Partners, LLC.

Days cash on hand

1 days FY2025p. 35

Debt service coverage

-1.68x FY2025p. 35

Read with these figuresDevelopment-stage developer with no operations: $3,368 of unrestricted cash at year end. The $12.4M on the balance sheet is buyers' purchase deposits held in escrow. The auditor's report includes a paragraph headed 'Substantial Doubt About the Company's Ability to Continue as a Going Concern'.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 45FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand1 days17 days2 days
Debt service coverage-1.68x-4.60x-0.17x
Total assets$24.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$34.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$700,001Not disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$9.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Cherry Bekaert LLP. Opinion: Going-concern doubt raised by the auditorp. 45

Occupancy

Not open yet, so there is no occupancy to report.

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2026-05 The auditor's report on Blue Ridge Retirement Partners, LLC's FY2025 financial statements (Cherry Bekaert LLP, dated May 15, 2026) includes a paragraph headed 'Substantial Doubt About the Company's Ability to Continue as a Going Concern', stating that the company 'has a members' deficit of approximately $9.9 million and is dependent on member contributions to continue to fund the project.' Note 7, to which that paragraph refers, says the company is working with banks to obtain outside financing for the project and that 'no assurance can be given regarding the success of management's efforts to obtain financing on reasonable terms.'p. 43
  • 2026-01Ownership change Liberty Management acquired a 33.33% membership interest in Blue Ridge Retirement Partners, LLC under an amended operating agreement and was engaged for property management.p. 53

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Legacy at Mills River is a planned ownership-model continuing care community on about 112 acres in Mills River that had not opened as of the end of 2025: residents buy a condominium home and join a nonprofit Club for services, with up to 376 independent homes and up to 48 health care units planned in phases. Anticipated purchase prices from management's prospective price table run from $588,430 to $1,940,885 per home, with monthly fees from $4,500 for one person and 15 health care days a year included before the Health Care Rate applies; a Life Care Option is available for an extra fee. The developer's auditor included a paragraph in its FY2025 report headed 'Substantial Doubt About the Company's Ability to Continue as a Going Concern', citing a members' deficit of approximately $9.9 million and dependence on member contributions to continue to fund the project.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.