Skip to content

Carolina Village

600 Carolina Village Road, Hendersonville, North Carolina 28792 · Community website

Operator:
Carolina Village, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1974
  • Type A (life care)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2026 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$241,900 to $677,400p. 23p. 24

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,783 to $6,273p. 21p. 22

Refund plans offered

  • Declining Balance (0% Refundable)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

241 (FY2026)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The 241 days counts the $8.4M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve (Section 29 gives unrestricted cash and investments of $21.7M). Cash and marketable securities alone ($13.3M) cover about 148 days of 2026 cash operating expenses.

Independent living occupancy

95.3% (2026)p. 18

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)

Residents can use assisted living and skilled nursing without an increase in the monthly service fee, paying extra for meals, drugs, supplies and Medicare cost-sharing. A resident who needs a permanent move to care within the first 12 months of occupancy pays the private daily rate until 12 consecutive months of occupancy are reached. For comparison, direct-admit private rates from April 1, 2026 are $285 a day for assisted living and $480 a day for skilled nursing.p. 121

Assisted living
Same monthly service fee as in independent living, plus additional meals, drugs, supplies and insurance cost-sharing; a resident who moves permanently to care within the first 12 months pays the private daily rate until 12 months of occupancy.
Nursing care
Same monthly service fee as in independent living, plus additional meals, drugs, supplies and insurance cost-sharing; a resident who moves permanently to care within the first 12 months pays the private daily rate until 12 months of occupancy.
Units on campusp. 17
Independent living370
Assisted living60
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care58

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Occupancy Agreement (Declining Balance) · Type A (life care) (29 prices, $241,900 to $677,400)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Pisgah Apartments 1-Bedroom StandardDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$241,900p. 23$91,800
Pisgah Apartments 1-Bedroom DeluxeDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$278,500p. 23$91,800
Summit Apartments 1-BedroomDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$319,100p. 23$91,800
Summit Apartments 1-Bedroom + DenDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$404,700p. 23$91,800
Blue Ridge Apartments 2-Bedroom StandardDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$278,500p. 23$91,800
Blue Ridge Apartments 2-Bedroom ExpandedDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$321,500p. 23$91,800
Blue Ridge Apartments 2-Bedroom CustomDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$371,800p. 23$91,800
Blue Ridge Apartments 2-Bedroom DeluxeDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$428,400p. 23$91,800
Pinnacle Apartments 2-BedroomDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$438,700p. 24$91,800
Pinnacle Apartments 2-Bedroom CornerDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$516,800p. 24$91,800
Pinnacle Apartments 2-Bedroom + DenDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$519,800p. 24$91,800
Pinnacle Apartments 2-Bedroom Corner + DenDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$582,400p. 24$91,800
Smoky Mountain Apartments 1-Bedroom + DenDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$440,200p. 24$91,800
Smoky Mountain Apartments 2-BedroomDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$518,700p. 24$91,800
Smoky Mountain Apartments 2-Bedroom + DenDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$625,100p. 24$91,800
Woods Cottages 2-Bedroom ExpandedDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$379,600p. 24$91,800
Woods Cottages 2-Bedroom CustomDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$437,200p. 24$91,800
Woods Cottages 2-Bedroom DeluxeDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$504,900p. 24$91,800
Garden Cottages 2-Bedroom StandardDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$576,200p. 24$91,800
Garden Cottages 2-Bedroom ExpandedDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$626,800p. 24$91,800
Garden Cottages 2-Bedroom CustomDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$677,400p. 24$91,800
Meadows Cottages 2-Bedroom StandardDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$513,900p. 24$91,800
Meadows Cottages 2-Bedroom ExpandedDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$553,000p. 24$91,800
Meadows Cottages 2-Bedroom Custom + DenDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$584,600p. 24$91,800
Meadows Cottages 2-Bedroom Deluxe + DenDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$622,900p. 24$91,800
Clear Creek Cottages 1-Bedroom + DenDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$480,900p. 24$91,800
Clear Creek Cottages 2-Bedroom TerraceDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$518,300p. 24$91,800
Clear Creek Cottages 2-Bedroom DuplexDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$576,800p. 24$91,800
Clear Creek Cottages 2-Bedroom + DenDeclining Balance (0% Refundable)$639,700p. 24$91,800

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Occupancy Agreement (Declining Balance) · Type A (life care) (29 prices, $2,783 to $6,273)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Pisgah Apartments 1-Bedroom StandardIndependent living$2,783p. 21$1,654
Pisgah Apartments 1-Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$3,057p. 21$1,654
Summit Apartments 1-BedroomIndependent living$3,760p. 21$1,654
Summit Apartments 1-Bedroom + DenIndependent living$4,678p. 21$1,654
Blue Ridge Apartments 2-Bedroom StandardIndependent living$3,057p. 21$1,654
Blue Ridge Apartments 2-Bedroom ExpandedIndependent living$3,452p. 21$1,654
Blue Ridge Apartments 2-Bedroom CustomIndependent living$3,738p. 22$1,654
Blue Ridge Apartments 2-Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$4,074p. 22$1,654
Pinnacle Apartments 2-BedroomIndependent living$4,799p. 22$1,654
Pinnacle Apartments 2-Bedroom CornerIndependent living$5,460p. 22$1,654
Pinnacle Apartments 2-Bedroom + DenIndependent living$5,432p. 22$1,654
Pinnacle Apartments 2-Bedroom Corner + DenIndependent living$5,835p. 22$1,654
Smoky Mountain Apartments 1-Bedroom + DenIndependent living$4,465p. 22$1,654
Smoky Mountain Apartments 2-BedroomIndependent living$5,192p. 22$1,654
Smoky Mountain Apartments 2-Bedroom + DenIndependent living$6,273p. 22$1,654
Woods Cottages 2-Bedroom ExpandedIndependent living$3,534p. 22$1,654
Woods Cottages 2-Bedroom CustomIndependent living$3,805p. 22$1,654
Woods Cottages 2-Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$4,113p. 22$1,654
Garden Cottages 2-Bedroom StandardIndependent living$4,681p. 22$1,654
Garden Cottages 2-Bedroom ExpandedIndependent living$4,921p. 22$1,654
Garden Cottages 2-Bedroom CustomIndependent living$5,180p. 22$1,654
Meadows Cottages 2-Bedroom StandardIndependent living$4,375p. 22$1,654
Meadows Cottages 2-Bedroom ExpandedIndependent living$4,667p. 22$1,654
Meadows Cottages 2-Bedroom Custom + DenIndependent living$4,789p. 22$1,654
Meadows Cottages 2-Bedroom Deluxe + DenIndependent living$5,083p. 22$1,654
Clear Creek Cottages 1-Bedroom + DenIndependent living$4,393p. 22$1,654
Clear Creek Cottages 2-Bedroom TerraceIndependent living$4,680p. 22$1,654
Clear Creek Cottages 2-Bedroom DuplexIndependent living$5,159p. 22$1,654
Clear Creek Cottages 2-Bedroom + DenIndependent living$5,671p. 23$1,654

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 3.9%20222023: 9.5%20232024: 4.5%20242025: 4.25%20252026: 5%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 23
2025Independent livingAll units4.25%Percent onlyp. 23
2024Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 23
2023Independent livingAll units9.5%Percent onlyp. 23
2022Independent livingAll units3.9%Percent onlyp. 23

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Balance (0% Refundable)p. 123

10% of the entrance fee is kept from the start as an administrative fee, and a further 2% of the fee becomes nonrefundable each month, so nothing is refunded after 45 months. A refund on move-out is paid within 30 business days after the 90-day notice period ends, not tied to resale of the unit; there is no refund at death after move-in.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 45 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: within a fixed number of days. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Carolina Village, Inc.
  • Ratios: Carolina Village, Inc. (sole member of the obligated group).

Days cash on hand

241 days FY2026p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.68x FY2026p. 2

Read with these figuresThe 241 days counts the $8.4M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve (Section 29 gives unrestricted cash and investments of $21.7M). Cash and marketable securities alone ($13.3M) cover about 148 days of 2026 cash operating expenses.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2026p. 48FY2025p. 2FY2024p. 2
Days cash on hand241 days236 days276 days
Debt service coverage2.68x2.11x3.10x
Operating margin-5.7%-5.9%-12.4%
Total assets$145.4 million$140.9 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$132.7 million$131.5 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$51.9 million$53.0 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$71.9 million$69.9 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$506,416$423,053Not disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$12.7 million$9.4 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 48

Occupancy

Level of care2026p. 182025p. 182024p. 182023p. 182022p. 18
Independent living95.3%96.3%95.2%92%92.4%
Assisted living94.9%94.6%85.4%89.4%88.2%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care80.3%81.6%66.2%67.4%86.7%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 2. Carolina Village Inc on Care Compare

In brief

Carolina Village in Hendersonville, NC is a standalone nonprofit continuing care retirement community opened in 1974, with 370 independent living units, 60 assisted living units and 58 skilled nursing beds. It offers one life-care contract with entrance fees from $241,900 to $677,400 for one person; the fee declines to no refund after 45 months, and assisted living and nursing come without an increase in the monthly fee after the first 12 months.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

  • Legacy at Mills River

    Mills River · 7 miles away

    Entrance fee: $588,430 to $1,940,885

  • Ardenwoods

    Arden · 11 miles away

    Entrance fee: $271,000 to $484,000

  • Givens Estates

    Asheville · 13 miles away

    Entrance fee: $151,809 to $1,508,902

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.