Skip to content

River Landing at Sandy Ridge

1575 John Knox Drive, Colfax, North Carolina 27235 · Community website

Operator:
The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. dba Brightspire
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Presbyterian
Opened:
2003

Operating division of The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. (501(c)(3)); Kintura, formed in 2024 by the affiliation of Brightspire and Well-Spring, is the controlling parent.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$15,000 to $638,000p. 26p. 25

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,979 to $6,030p. 23p. 24

Refund plans offered

  • StandardCan decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee
  • Range across refund plans (plan not specified)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

738 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for Brightspire obligated group (The Presbyterian Homes, Inc.: Glenaire, River Landing at Sandy Ridge, Scotia Village)
Read the note on this figure

Obligated-group figures, not River Landing alone: FS-1 (p2) and Tables 35.1A-35.3A report the Brightspire obligated group (Glenaire, River Landing at Sandy Ridge, Scotia Village). River Landing alone reported 1,000 days cash on hand, 2.29x debt service coverage and an 18.04% net operating margin (Tables 35.1-35.3, p39-41). FY2025 is a fifteen-month period (Oct 2024-Dec 2025) after a fiscal-year-end change (p7). The $191.7M of unrestricted cash and investments behind the group's 738 days includes the $27.06M statutory operating reserve (Table 29.2, p36); without it roughly 634 days.

Independent living occupancy

98.59% (2025)p. 21

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

14 grace days a year in the Health Center with no per diem charge (unused days don't carry over), then residents pay 80% of the published per diem rate. A resident may keep the apartment for up to 90 days after the grace days while paying both charges.p. 127

Assisted living
Health Center per diem rates; the 14 annual grace days and 80% rate apply to Health Center stays (the clause is written for nursing care).
Nursing care
First 14 days each calendar year at the apartment monthly fee only (insurance such as Medicare used first); after that 80% of the published per diem rate (published Pebble Beach $425-$502/day, Winged Foot rehab $552/day), plus the apartment fee unless the apartment is surrendered.
Care days included
14
Discount on care
20%
Units on campusp. 20
Independent living354
Assisted living56
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care60

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (20 prices, $15,000 to $638,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
IL – Heritage, One BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$165,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Players I & II, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$231,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Classic I & II, Three BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$338,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Legends, Three Bedroom DeluxeRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$443,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Masters, Three Bedroom DeluxeRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$473,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Berg, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$427,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Lopez, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$469,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Trevino, Two Bedroom, with denRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$507,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Ballesteros, Three BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$578,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Jones, Two Bedroom TownhomeRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$298,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Hogan, Three Bedroom TownhomeRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$400,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Snead, Two Bedroom VillaRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$324,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Nelson, Three Bedroom VillaRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$429,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Palmer I & II, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$389,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Nicklaus I & II, Three BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$540,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Mickelson, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$524,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Crenshaw, Three BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$638,000p. 25Not listed
AL – Muirfield, StudioRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$20,000p. 25Not listed
AL – Muirfield, 1 BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$25,000p. 26Not listed
SL – St. Andrews Memory Care / Pebble Beach / Winged Foot (all rooms)Range across refund plans (plan not specified)$15,000p. 26Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (20 prices, $3,979 to $10,492)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
IL – Heritage, One BedroomIndependent living$3,979p. 23$1,730
IL – Players I & II, Two BedroomIndependent living$4,892p. 23$1,730
IL – Classic I & II, Three BedroomIndependent living$5,202p. 23$1,730
IL – Legends, Three Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$5,857p. 23$1,730
IL – Masters, Three Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$5,857p. 23$1,730
IL – Berg, Two BedroomIndependent living$5,287p. 23$1,730
IL – Lopez, Two BedroomIndependent living$5,357p. 24$1,730
IL – Trevino, Two Bedroom, with denIndependent living$5,429p. 24$1,730
IL – Ballesteros, Three BedroomIndependent living$6,030p. 24$1,730
IL – Jones, Two Bedroom TownhomeIndependent living$4,920p. 24$1,730
IL – Hogan, Three Bedroom TownhomeIndependent living$5,255p. 24$1,730
IL – Snead, Two Bedroom VillaIndependent living$4,989p. 24$1,730
IL – Nelson, Three Bedroom VillaIndependent living$5,321p. 24$1,730
IL – Palmer I & II, Two BedroomIndependent living$5,121p. 24$1,730
IL – Nicklaus I & II, Three BedroomIndependent living$5,385p. 24$1,730
IL – Mickelson, Two BedroomIndependent living$5,386p. 24$1,730
IL – Crenshaw, Three BedroomIndependent living$5,526p. 24$1,730
AL – Muirfield, StudioAssisted living$6,624p. 24Not listed
AL – Muirfield, 1 BedroomAssisted living$8,136p. 24Not listed
SL – St. Andrews Memory Care, Private RoomMemory care$10,492p. 24Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 4%20222023: 7.3%20232024: 6%20242025: 4.7%20252026: 4.25%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.25%Percent onlyp. 25
2025Independent livingAll units4.7%Percent onlyp. 25
2024Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 25
2023Independent livingAll units7.3%Percent onlyp. 25
2022Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 25

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standardp. 27

After the 30-day rescission period and 60-day trial, the refund is the entrance fee less a 4% non-refundable fee and less 2% per month of occupancy, reaching nothing after 48 months. Any refund is paid only once the unit has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundablep. 27

The refund is the entrance fee less a 4% non-refundable fee and less 2% per month, never below 50% (reached after 23 months). Paid once the unit is reserved and the next resident's entrance fee is paid.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 23 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refundablep. 27

The refund is the entrance fee less a 4% non-refundable fee and less 1% per month, never below 90% (reached after 6 months). Paid once the unit is reserved and the next resident's entrance fee is paid.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 6 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Range across refund plans (plan not specified)p. 25

Table 21.4 prints one entrance fee per unit without saying which of the three refund options (Standard, 50% Refundable, 90% Refundable) it applies to, and the document does not say whether the refundable options cost more.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: 0%

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • River Landing at Sandy Ridge is part of The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. dba Brightspire obligated group (Glenaire, River Landing at Sandy Ridge, Scotia Village), part of Kintura.
  • Balance sheet: The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. dba Brightspire and combined affiliates (Glenaire, River Landing, Scotia Village, Foundation).
  • Ratios: Brightspire obligated group (The Presbyterian Homes, Inc.: Glenaire, River Landing at Sandy Ridge, Scotia Village).

Days cash on hand

738 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.08x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresObligated-group figures, not River Landing alone: FS-1 (p2) and Tables 35.1A-35.3A report the Brightspire obligated group (Glenaire, River Landing at Sandy Ridge, Scotia Village). River Landing alone reported 1,000 days cash on hand, 2.29x debt service coverage and an 18.04% net operating margin (Tables 35.1-35.3, p39-41). FY2025 is a fifteen-month period (Oct 2024-Dec 2025) after a fiscal-year-end change (p7). The $191.7M of unrestricted cash and investments behind the group's 738 days includes the $27.06M statutory operating reserve (Table 29.2, p36); without it roughly 634 days.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 50FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand738 days703 days887 days
Debt service coverage2.08x2.46x1.64x
Operating margin10.86%12.22%5.92%
Total assets$622.8 million$614.9 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$356.3 million$380.5 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$165.7 million$179.6 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$145.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$17.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$266.5 million$234.4 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Bernard Robinson & Company, L.L.P.. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 50

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 212024p. 212023p. 212022p. 212021p. 21
Independent living98.59%96.89%98.31%95.76%98.31%
Assisted living92.86%98.21%92.86%91.07%94.64%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care88.33%95%93.33%90%63.33%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024Ownership change Kintura was formed in 2024 through the affiliation of The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. (Brightspire) and Well-Spring Services, Inc., and became the controlling parent of River Landing at Sandy Ridge.p. 7

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 3. River Landing at Sandy Ridge on Care Compare

In brief

River Landing at Sandy Ridge in Colfax is a nonprofit continuing care community run by The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. (Brightspire, part of Kintura), with 354 independent living residences, 56 assisted living units and 60 nursing beds. 2026 entrance fees run from $165,000 to $638,000 with monthly fees of $3,979 to $6,030 for one person; the fee table does not say which of the Standard, 50% or 90% refund options those prices are for. Health Center care includes 14 grace days a year, then 80% of the per diem rate.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.