Skip to content

Pennybyrn at Maryfield

109 Penny Rd, High Point, North Carolina 27260 · Community website

Operator:
Maryfield, Inc. (d/b/a Pennybyrn)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Catholic (founded 1947 by the Poor Servants of the Mother of God; member of the Catholic Health Care Association)
Opened:
1979
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$150,000 to $477,667p. 25p. 26

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,314 to $6,899p. 23

Refund plans offered

  • Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

258 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The document's $20,208,700 of unrestricted cash and investments (p34) includes the $6,969,000 statutory operating reserve held as an asset limited as to use (p47). Cash and current investments alone ($13,239,700) ≈ 169 days on the document's own basis, ≈ 151 days on total expenses less depreciation and amortization (p49).

Independent living occupancy

98.6% (2025)p. 19

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

Benefit: 15 grace days per year, at no additional charge, of services above what Medicare or other insurance covers while an independent living resident stays temporarily in assisted living, memory support or nursing. Unused grace days carry over to a cumulative maximum of 45 days, and the benefit lasts only while the resident remains an independent living resident; additional meals and services are extra. After a permanent move residents pay the published health care rates with no stated discount. Residents get priority over non-residents, but a bed is not guaranteed.p. 101

Assisted living
15 grace days per year at no additional charge during a temporary stay, carried over to a cumulative maximum of 45 days, while still an independent living resident. After a permanent move the independent living monthly fee stops and the resident pays the published assisted living fee: $7,529-$9,496 a month, $9,383 for dementia care (2026).
Nursing care
Same 15 grace days per year (cumulative maximum 45) for temporary stays. Otherwise the published per diem: $437 a day private, $389 semi-private.
Care days included
15
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 18
Independent living222
Assisted living24
Memory care24
Nursing care125

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residency Agreement (Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee) · Type B (modified) (27 prices, $150,000 to $477,667)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (10)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$179,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (3)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$227,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Den (9)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$221,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Den (35)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$259,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Bath, Den (8)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$261,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (41)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$275,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (3)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$296,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (2)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$296,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Den (3)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$307,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (3) [second listing]Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$319,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Den (11)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$321,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, (8)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$332,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Den (4)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$336,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Den (8)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$328,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath, Den (3)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$352,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath, Den (6)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$355,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Den (3)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$378,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath, Den (9)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$392,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath, Den (4)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$407,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Heritage Cottage - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (2)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$155,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Heritage Cottage - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (5)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$150,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Heritage Cottage - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (7)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$232,571p. 26Not listed
IL – Heritage Cottage - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (12)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$330,167p. 26Not listed
IL – Heritage Cottage - 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath (3)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$477,667p. 26Not listed
IL – Shamrock Cottage - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (1)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$337,000p. 26Not listed
IL – Shamrock Cottage - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Den (12)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$373,000p. 26Not listed
IL – Shamrock Cottage - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Den (7)Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)$473,000p. 26Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement (Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee) · Type B (modified) (31 prices, $3,314 to $9,496)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (10)Independent living$3,886p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (3)Independent living$4,475p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Den (9)Independent living$4,295p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Den (35)Independent living$4,514p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Bath, Den (8)Independent living$4,914p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (41)Independent living$4,941p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (3)Independent living$5,526p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (2)Independent living$5,526p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 1 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Den (3)Independent living$5,919p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (3) [second listing]Independent living$5,995p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Den (11)Independent living$5,819p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, (8)Independent living$6,237p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Den (4)Independent living$6,300p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Den (8)Independent living$6,073p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath, Den (3)Independent living$6,415p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath, Den (6)Independent living$6,451p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Den (3)Independent living$6,096p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath, Den (9)Independent living$6,602p. 22$1,560
IL – Apartment - 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath, Den (4)Independent living$6,899p. 23$1,560
IL – Heritage Cottage - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (2)Independent living$3,401p. 23$1,560
IL – Heritage Cottage - 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (5)Independent living$3,314p. 23$1,560
IL – Heritage Cottage - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (7)Independent living$4,917p. 23$1,560
IL – Heritage Cottage - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (12)Independent living$5,794p. 23$1,560
IL – Heritage Cottage - 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath (3)Independent living$6,844p. 23$1,560
IL – Shamrock Cottage - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath (1)Independent living$5,329p. 23$1,560
IL – Shamrock Cottage - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Den (12)Independent living$6,198p. 23$1,560
IL – Shamrock Cottage - 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Den (7)Independent living$6,899p. 23$1,560
AL – 1 Bedroom – Multi unit with services (12)Assisted living$7,529p. 23Not listed
AL – 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (10)Assisted living$7,922p. 23Not listed
AL – 2 Bedroom (2)Assisted living$9,496p. 23Not listed
AL – 1 Bedroom – Dementia Care (24)Memory care$9,383p. 23Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3%20212022: 4.5%20222023: 4.5%20232024: 5%20242025: 4.5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 24
2024Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 24
2023Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 24
2022Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 24
2021Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 24

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Plan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)p. 104

2% of the entrance fee is earned on occupancy and another 2% each month, so nothing is refundable after 49 months. Any refund is paid about 60 days after a replacement entrance fee for your residence has been paid in full. Unpaid bills, any financial assistance and excess repair costs are deducted first, and nothing is refunded on a move to assisted living or nursing.

Kept on move-in
2% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 49 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Maryfield, Inc.
  • Ratios: Maryfield, Inc. (sole obligor).

Days cash on hand

258 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

1.77x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe document's $20,208,700 of unrestricted cash and investments (p34) includes the $6,969,000 statutory operating reserve held as an asset limited as to use (p47). Cash and current investments alone ($13,239,700) ≈ 169 days on the document's own basis, ≈ 151 days on total expenses less depreciation and amortization (p49).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 47FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand258 days220 days187 days
Debt service coverage1.77x1.85x1.67x
Operating margin18.1%12.8%10.4%
Total assets$166.5 million$166.1 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$133.9 million$137.4 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$82.0 million$85.7 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$29.8 million$27.5 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$13.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$32.5 million$28.7 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 47

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 192024p. 192023p. 192022p. 192021p. 19
Independent living98.6%95.9%92.8%95%96.7%
Assisted living91.7%95.8%93.8%81.3%75%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care86.4%93.6%85.6%93.6%93.6%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Maryfield Nursing Home on Care Compare

In brief

Pennybyrn at Maryfield in High Point, NC is a nonprofit Catholic-founded continuing care retirement community run by Maryfield, Inc., with 222 independent living units, 24 assisted living and 24 memory support units, and 125 skilled nursing beds. Its one current contract amortizes the entrance fee ($150,000 to $477,667) to no refund after 49 months and includes 15 grace days per year of health care at no additional charge during temporary stays, with unused days carrying over to a cumulative maximum of 45 while the resident remains in independent living; after that, and on a permanent move, residents pay the published health care rates.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.