Skip to content

Searstone Retirement Community

17001 Searstone Drive, Cary, North Carolina 27513 · Community website

Operator:
Samaritan Housing Foundation, Inc. (managed by Searstone-RLA, Inc.; dining by Morrison Management Specialists)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
2013

Georgia nonprofit corporation without members or owners; sole member of its own bond obligated group. Day-to-day operations run under third-party manager Searstone-RLA, Inc. (sole shareholder David Ammons).

  • Type A (life care)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$509,000 to $1,224,000p. 22

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,240 to $9,500p. 20

Refund plans offered

  • 100% Refundable ContractTerms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

553 (FY2025)p. 35Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The provider says the FY2025 coverage of 2.45x is high because only Phase I debt service is included in the calculation; it projects 1.48x for 2026 (p36). Days cash: unrestricted cash ($2.6M) and short-term investments ($36.3M) = $38.9M (p45, p31); against FY2025 total expenses less depreciation and amortisation ($30.1M, p46) that is about 473 days, below the reported 553, which the document does not show the working for.

Independent living occupancy

97.6% (2025)p. 18

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)The filing calls it LifeCare; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Assisted living, memory care and skilled nursing in Brittany Place cost the same monthly fee as the resident's last independent living unit, plus an $800 a month dining fee per person and ancillaries such as drugs and therapy. For comparison, legacy fee-for-service contracts (no longer offered) pay $280 a day assisted, $292 memory care and $530 skilled nursing. If Brittany Place is full, the contract provides temporary home care or an offsite nursing bed at the provider's expense.p. 21

Assisted living
Last independent living monthly service fee (Brittany Place residents also pay an $800 monthly dining fee per person)
Nursing care
Last independent living monthly service fee (plus the $800 monthly Brittany Place dining fee per person)
Units on campusp. 17
Independent living318
Assisted living29
Memory care14
Nursing care49

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

100% Refundable Contract (LifeCare) · Type A (life care) (4 prices, $509,000 to $1,224,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Independent Living – One Bedroom Unit100% Refundable Contract$509,000 to $765,000p. 22$80,000
Independent Living – Two Bedroom Unit100% Refundable Contract$576,000 to $857,500p. 22$80,000
Independent Living – Two Bedroom and Den Unit100% Refundable Contract$681,500 to $1,224,000p. 22$80,000
Independent Living – Estate Homes100% Refundable Contract$884,000 to $1,036,000p. 22$80,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

100% Refundable Contract (LifeCare) · Type A (life care) (4 prices, $4,240 to $9,500)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – One Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$4,240 to $5,520p. 20$1,910
Independent Living – Two Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$5,250 to $7,750p. 20$1,910
Independent Living – Two Bedroom and Den ApartmentIndependent living$7,045 to $8,420p. 20$1,910
Independent Living – Estate HomesIndependent living$7,630 to $9,500p. 20$1,910

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 4.3%20212022: 4%20222023: 4.7%20232024: 4.3%20242025: 4.5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 21
2024Independent livingAll units4.3%Percent onlyp. 21
2023Independent livingAll units4.7%Percent onlyp. 21
2022Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 21
2021Independent livingAll units4.3%Percent onlyp. 21

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

100% Refundable Contractp. 24

Two parts: the Residential Fee is 100% refundable, and the $80,000-per-person LifeCare Fee amortises 2% a month to nothing after 50 months, so the guaranteed floor is the Residential Fee (roughly 84-93% of the total depending on the unit). The refund (less unpaid fees, advances and refurbishing beyond normal wear) is paid within 30 days after a new entrance fee is received for the next like unit, with former residents queued by termination date; there is no deadline.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Samaritan Housing Foundation, Inc.
  • Ratios: Samaritan Housing Foundation, Inc. (provider only).

Days cash on hand

553 days FY2025p. 35

Debt service coverage

2.45x FY2025p. 35

Read with these figuresThe provider says the FY2025 coverage of 2.45x is high because only Phase I debt service is included in the calculation; it projects 1.48x for 2026 (p36). Days cash: unrestricted cash ($2.6M) and short-term investments ($36.3M) = $38.9M (p45, p31); against FY2025 total expenses less depreciation and amortisation ($30.1M, p46) that is about 473 days, below the reported 553, which the document does not show the working for.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 45FY2024p. 35FY2023p. 35
Days cash on hand553 days578 days199 days
Debt service coverage2.45x1.59x1.32x
Operating margin24.4%15.5%7.3%
Total assets$312.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$415.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$180.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$29.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$187.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$103.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 45

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 182024p. 182023p. 182022p. 182021p. 18
Independent living97.6%90.1%97.9%97.3%98.5%
Assisted living49.2%66.4%64.9%70%64.4%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care65.5%78.5%63.1%69.1%63.1%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-05 Phase II expansion completed: 149 independent living units (Highview North and South, occupied from February and April 2024), 29 assisted living units including 14 memory care, and 24 skilled nursing beds; residents began occupying the new memory care units and nursing beds in May 2025 and the new assisted living units in February 2026.p. 16

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Searstone Retirement Community in Cary opened in 2013 and has 318 independent living units, 29 assisted living units, 14 memory care units and 49 skilled nursing beds, run by the nonprofit Samaritan Housing Foundation under third-party manager Searstone-RLA. Its one contract offered to new residents is life care: the entrance fee is a fully refundable Residential Fee of $429,000 to $1,144,000 plus an $80,000 LifeCare Fee per person that amortises over 50 months (about $509,000 to $1,224,000 in total for one person), and moving to assisted living or nursing keeps the same monthly fee. The FY2025 balance sheet shows a net deficit of $103.3 million, with $184.9 million of refundable entrance fees carried as liabilities.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.