Skip to content

Glenaire

4000 Glenaire Circle, Cary, North Carolina 27511 · Community website

Operator:
Glenaire, Inc. (controlled affiliate of Kintura / The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. dba Brightspire)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Presbyterian
Opened:
1993

Kintura, formed in 2024 from The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. (Brightspire) and Well-Spring Services, is sole corporate member and appoints the board.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$87,000 to $1,025,000p. 25p. 26

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,309 to $6,901p. 23p. 24

Refund plans offered

  • StandardCan decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee
  • Range across refund plans (plan not specified)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

267 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 40Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for Glenaire, Inc. (community only)
Read the note on this figure

Unaudited, and FY2025 is a 15-month period (Oct 2024-Dec 2025) after a fiscal-year-end change. The 267 days appears to count Glenaire's $11.6M statutory operating reserve: its cash ($3.4M) and investments ($16.3M) alone are about 168 days of cash operating expenses (p69, p71). The Brightspire obligated group reports 725 days and 1.87x (p40, p42).

Independent living occupancy

97.36% (2025)p. 21

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

14 grace days a year with no per diem (unused days do not carry over), then nursing care at 80% of the published daily rate. The apartment must be surrendered on request 90 days after the grace days run out.p. 189

Assisted living
Published Health Center rates: assisted living $7,951-$10,411 a month (direct-admission entrance fee $25,000). The contract's 80% rate is written for nursing care; whether it applies to assisted living is not stated.
Nursing care
First 14 days a year in the Health Center: keep paying the apartment's monthly charge, no per diem (insurance such as Medicare is used first). After that, 80% of the published nursing per diem ($412 a day published), plus the apartment's monthly charge until it is surrendered.
Care days included
14
Discount on care
20%
Units on campusp. 20
Independent living417
Assisted living68
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care71

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (27 prices, $87,000 to $1,025,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Independent Living (IL) – Beech, StudioRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $87,000p. 25Not listed
IL– Thistle, One BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $208,000p. 25Not listed
IL- Thyme, Expanded One BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $210,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Twinflower, One Bedroom / StudyRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $259,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Rhododendron – Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $276,000p. 25Not listed
IL- Willow, Expanded Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $282,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Jasmine, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $424,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Gardenia, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $431,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Laurel, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $474,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Azalea, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $526,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Magnolia, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $588,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Fern Carport, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $434,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Fern Garage, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $476,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Heather, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $549,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Juniper, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $597,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Wintergreen, Two Bedroom Expanded /DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $597,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Ivy, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $526,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Camellia, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $526,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Tupelo, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $588,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Chestnut, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $632,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Birch, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $654,000p. 26Not listed
IL – Dogwood, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $654,000p. 26Not listed
IL - Bradford, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $699,000p. 26Not listed
IL – Leyland, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $721,000p. 26Not listed
IL – Hawthorn, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $721,000p. 26Not listed
IL – Sycamore, Three BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $800,000p. 26Not listed
IL – Cypress, Three Bedroom / DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $1,025,000p. 26Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (28 prices, $3,309 to $10,411)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living (IL) – Beech, StudioIndependent living$3,309p. 23Not listed
IL– Thistle, One BedroomIndependent living$3,875p. 23$1,461
IL- Thyme, Expanded One BedroomIndependent living$3,875p. 23$1,461
IL – Twinflower, One Bedroom / StudyIndependent living$4,531p. 23$1,461
IL – Rhododendron – Two BedroomIndependent living$4,531p. 23$1,461
IL- Willow, Expanded Two BedroomIndependent living$4,531p. 24$1,461
IL – Jasmine, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$4,920p. 24$1,461
IL – Gardenia, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$4,944p. 24$1,461
IL – Laurel, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,226p. 24$1,461
IL – Azalea, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,353p. 24$1,461
IL – Magnolia, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$6,028p. 24$1,461
IL – Fern Carport, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$4,695p. 24$1,461
IL – Fern Garage, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$4,695p. 24$1,461
IL – Heather, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,198p. 24$1,461
IL – Juniper, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,198p. 24$1,461
IL – Wintergreen, Two Bedroom Expanded /DenIndependent living$5,198p. 24$1,461
IL – Ivy, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,246p. 24$1,461
IL – Camellia, Two BedroomIndependent living$5,246p. 24$1,461
IL – Tupelo, Two BedroomIndependent living$5,278p. 24$1,461
IL – Chestnut, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,414p. 24$1,461
IL – Birch, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,414p. 24$1,461
IL – Dogwood, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,414p. 24$1,461
IL - Bradford, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,549p. 24$1,461
IL – Leyland, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,686p. 24$1,461
IL – Hawthorn, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$5,686p. 24$1,461
IL – Sycamore, Three BedroomIndependent living$6,024p. 24$1,461
IL – Cypress, Three Bedroom / DenIndependent living$6,901p. 24$1,461
Assisted LivingAssisted living$7,951 to $10,411p. 24Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 3.8%20222023: 7%20232024: 5.7%20242025: 4.5%20252026: 4.25%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.25%Percent onlyp. 25
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 25
2024Independent livingAll units5.7%Percent onlyp. 25
2023Independent livingAll units7%Percent onlyp. 25
2022Independent livingAll units3.8%Percent onlyp. 25

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standardp. 27

4% of the entrance fee is non-refundable and the refund drops 2% for each month of occupancy, reaching nothing after 48 months. The refund (less unpaid charges) is paid only once your apartment has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee; there is no deadline.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundablep. 27

4% is non-refundable and the refund drops 2% a month for 23 months, then stays at 50% of the entrance fee. The refund (less unpaid charges) is paid only once your apartment has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee; there is no deadline.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 23 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refundablep. 27

4% is non-refundable and the refund drops 1% a month for 6 months, then stays at 90% of the entrance fee. The refund (less unpaid charges) is paid only once your apartment has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee; there is no deadline.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 6 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Range across refund plans (plan not specified)p. 25

Table 21.4 prints one entrance fee per residence without saying which refund option it buys; the Standard, 50% and 90% options are described above.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: 0%

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Glenaire is part of Brightspire obligated group (The Presbyterian Homes, Inc.: Glenaire, River Landing at Sandy Ridge, Scotia Village), under parent Kintura.
  • Balance sheet: Glenaire, Inc. (Glenaire column of the Presbyterian Homes combining statement).
  • Ratios: Glenaire, Inc. (community only).
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

267 days FY2025p. 40

Debt service coverage

1.44x FY2025p. 40

Read with these figuresUnaudited, and FY2025 is a 15-month period (Oct 2024-Dec 2025) after a fiscal-year-end change. The 267 days appears to count Glenaire's $11.6M statutory operating reserve: its cash ($3.4M) and investments ($16.3M) alone are about 168 days of cash operating expenses (p69, p71). The Brightspire obligated group reports 725 days and 1.87x (p40, p42).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 70FY2024p. 40FY2023p. 40
Days cash on hand267 days284 days900 days
Debt service coverage1.44x4.26x3.25x
Operating margin12%5.83%-1.56%
Total assets$293.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$220.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$107.1 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$91.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$14.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$72.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Not disclosed in the 2026 filing. Opinion: Not disclosed in the 2026 filingp. 70

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 212024p. 212023p. 212022p. 212021p. 21
Independent living97.36%97.6%96.44%97.32%97.33%
Assisted living98.53%95.45%91.84%67.35%85.71%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care97.18%95.77%94.37%90.14%81.69%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-12 Changed fiscal year-end from September 30 to December 31; FY2025 statements cover 15 months and were unaudited at filing, with the Bernard Robinson & Company audit underway and the statement to be refiled when it is issued.p. 36

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 4. Glenaire on Care Compare

In brief

Glenaire is a Presbyterian-affiliated continuing care retirement community in Cary with 417 independent living units, 68 assisted living apartments and 71 nursing beds, part of the Kintura / Brightspire group. Entrance fees run from $87,000 to $1,025,000, with standard, 50% and 90% refund options, and residents get 14 days of Health Center care a year included, then nursing at 80% of the daily rate. The FY2025 financial statements in this filing are unaudited and cover a 15-month period after the fiscal year-end moved from September 30 to December 31.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.