Skip to content

Southminster

8919 Park Road, Charlotte, North Carolina 28210 · Community website

Operator:
Southminster, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Sponsored by Christ Episcopal Church and Myers Park Baptist Church (Charlotte)
Opened:
1987

Nonstock nonprofit with no owners; single-site. Obligated group is Southminster, Inc. plus SM Rawlinson Road, LLC (formed February 2026 to hold investment land).

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$158,500 to $1,248,300p. 98

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,488 to $8,120p. 98

Refund plans offered

  • StandardCan decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

270 (FY2025)p. 37Its lenders require at least 180.
Read the note on this figure

The 270 days counts the $8,920,976 statutory operating reserve. On the audited balance sheet (p47), cash $1,579,946 + short-term investments $2,205,333 + long-term investments $17,630,282 = $21,415,561, about 190 days of cash operating expenses (p49); with the reserve, $30,336,537 ≈ 270 days. The statement's narrative gives unrestricted cash and investments as $30,264,627 (p32) and $30,624,627 (p33); neither matches the audited balance sheet.

Independent living occupancy

97.1% (2025)p. 18

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

14 Health Center Credit Days a year, which carry forward up to 44 days; while they are used the daily rate is waived and the independent living monthly fee continues. After that, care is billed at resident daily rates roughly 6-10% below what direct admissions pay. Southminster's Health Center is not Medicare or Medicaid certified.p. 19

Assisted living
After Health Center Credit Days: resident rate $308-$370 a day ($9,368-$11,254 a month); direct admissions pay $327-$395 a day
Nursing care
After Health Center Credit Days: resident rate $464-$505 a day ($14,113-$15,360 a month); direct admissions pay $514-$542 a day
Care days included
14
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 17
Independent living321
Assisted living25
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care60

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type B (modified) (9 prices, $158,500 to $1,248,300)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment – One-bedroomStandard$158,500 to $344,600p. 98$35,000
Apartment – One-bedroom/denStandard$306,000 to $536,500p. 98$35,000
Apartment – Two-bedroomsStandard$328,400 to $840,900p. 98$35,000
Apartment – Two-bedrooms/denStandard$459,600 to $1,160,400p. 98$35,000
Apartment – Three-bedroomStandardfrom $1,248,300p. 98$35,000
Terrace – Two-bedroomsStandard$515,000 to $562,300p. 98$35,000
Terrace – Two-bedrooms/denStandard$601,800 to $860,000p. 98$35,000
Cottage – Small sunroomStandardfrom $479,200p. 98$35,000
Cottage – Large sunroomStandard$577,600 to $639,600p. 98$35,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type B (modified) (11 prices, $4,488 to $15,360)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment – One-bedroomIndependent living$4,488 to $4,861p. 98$2,513
Apartment – One-bedroom/denIndependent living$4,861 to $5,494p. 98$2,513
Apartment – Two-bedroomsIndependent living$4,861 to $6,555p. 98$2,513
Apartment – Two-bedrooms/denIndependent living$5,437 to $6,988p. 98$2,513
Apartment – Three-bedroomIndependent living$8,120p. 98$2,513
Terrace – Two-bedroomsIndependent living$5,779 to $5,835p. 98$2,513
Terrace – Two-bedrooms/denIndependent living$5,913 to $6,646p. 98$2,513
Cottage – Small sunroomIndependent living$4,847p. 98$2,513
Cottage – Large sunroomIndependent living$5,017 to $5,070p. 98$2,513
Assisted LivingAssisted living$9,368 to $11,254p. 21Not listed
Skilled NursingNursing care$14,113 to $15,360p. 21Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 3.2%20222023: 4.3%20232024: 5.5%20242025: 5.5%20252026: 4.9%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.9%Percent onlyp. 22
2025Independent livingAll units5.5%Percent onlyp. 22
2024Independent livingAll units5.5%Percent onlyp. 22
2023Independent livingAll units4.3%Percent onlyp. 22
2022Independent livingAll units3.2%Percent onlyp. 22

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standardp. 138

The refund falls 5% of the entrance fee a month and reaches nothing after 20 months. Refunds are paid only when the last surviving resident on the contract leaves, within 30 days after the next resident of the vacated independent living home pays their entrance fee in full; there is no refund on a permanent move to the Health Center and no deadline.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
5% a month for 20 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundablep. 138

Priced at 1.4 times the Standard entrance fee. The refund falls 5% a month for 10 months, then stays at 50%. Refunds are paid only when the last surviving resident on the contract leaves, within 30 days after the next resident of the vacated independent living home pays their entrance fee in full; there is no refund on a permanent move to the Health Center and no deadline.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
5% a month for 10 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refundablep. 138

Priced at 2.0 times the Standard entrance fee. The refund falls 5% a month for 2 months, then stays at 90%. Refunds are paid only when the last surviving resident on the contract leaves, within 30 days after the next resident of the vacated independent living home pays their entrance fee in full; there is no refund on a permanent move to the Health Center and no deadline.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
5% a month for 2 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Southminster, Inc. and Southminster Foundation, Inc. (combined).
  • Ratios: Southminster, Inc. (provider only; obligated group identical for actual years).

Days cash on hand

270 days FY2025p. 37

Debt service coverage

1.78x FY2025p. 37

Read with these figuresThe 270 days counts the $8,920,976 statutory operating reserve. On the audited balance sheet (p47), cash $1,579,946 + short-term investments $2,205,333 + long-term investments $17,630,282 = $21,415,561, about 190 days of cash operating expenses (p49); with the reserve, $30,336,537 ≈ 270 days. The statement's narrative gives unrestricted cash and investments as $30,264,627 (p32) and $30,624,627 (p33); neither matches the audited balance sheet.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 48FY2024p. 37FY2023p. 37
Days cash on hand270 days233 days217 days
Debt service coverage1.78x1.38x2.17x
Operating margin13%10.1%21.1%
Total assets$237.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$253.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$145.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$73.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$23.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$16.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 48

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 182024p. 182023p. 182022p. 182021p. 18
Independent living97.1%98%97.2%97.5%96.8%
Assisted living84.3%90.9%90.9%92.8%88.5%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care92.6%90.4%92.2%88.2%60.6%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2026-02 Formed wholly owned SM Rawlinson Road, LLC, which bought land for investment for about $2.4 million and joined the bond obligated group.p. 14

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Southminster is a single-site continuing care retirement community in Charlotte, opened in 1987 and sponsored by Christ Episcopal Church and Myers Park Baptist Church, with 321 independent living homes, 25 assisted living units and 60 skilled nursing beds. Standard-plan entrance fees run from $158,500 to $1,248,300 (refundable plans cost 1.4 or 2.0 times as much), and residents get 14 Health Center credit days a year, then care at resident daily rates below the direct-admission price. The audited FY2025 balance sheet shows a net deficit of $16.0 million.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.