Skip to content

The Fairfax

Fort Belvoir, Virginia

Operator:
SH OpCo The Fairfax, LLC (managed by Sunrise Senior Living Management, Inc.)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Sponsored by the Army Retirement Residence Foundation – Potomac; residency limited to eligible members (retired officers of the U.S. Uniformed Services, their surviving spouses, and other listed categories) (p1, p9, p18)
Opened:
1986

Provider SH OpCo The Fairfax, LLC is a for-profit LLC, an indirect subsidiary of Healthpeak Properties, Inc., a publicly traded REIT; the land and buildings are owned by affiliate HCP MA3 Virginia, LP and leased to the Provider; day-to-day management by Sunrise Senior Living Management, Inc. (p4-5). Operations transferred from Sunrise Continuing Care, LLC effective October 16, 2020 (p4).

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for The Fairfax, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$135,598 to $1,027,327p. 118p. 119

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,157 to $7,640p. 118p. 119

Refund plans offered

  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 0% RefundableTerms not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Read the note on this figure

No days cash on hand or debt service coverage is reported. The Fairfax has no debt, and its balance sheet holds no unrestricted cash or investments: its liquidity sits in $31,277,284 due from a Healthpeak affiliate and a $32,361,790 note receivable from the Healthpeak landlord affiliate (p134, p137).

Independent living occupancy

76.1% (2024)p. 374

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

3 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Continuing Care Agreement; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Stays in the Health Center of less than 30 days in any 90-day period cost only the resident's monthly fee plus two extra meals a day. Longer stays are billed at one fixed contract daily rate for every resident, the 'F Unit Equivalent' in the published Care Fees ($188/day for a standard assisted living room or semi-private nursing bed and $335/day for a private nursing room in 2025, against per diem rates of $219, $526 and $601), plus two meals a day and ancillaries; residents who give up their apartment stop paying its monthly fee.p. 53

Assisted living
Extended stays: daily Health Center Fee at the 'F Unit Equivalent' contract rate ($188/day in 2025 for a standard assisted living suite vs $219 per diem) plus two additional meals per day and ancillaries; level-of-care, medication and incontinence fees are extra
Nursing care
Extended stays: daily Health Center Fee at the 'F Unit Equivalent' contract rate ($188/day semi-private, $335/day private in 2025, vs per diem $526/$601) plus two additional meals per day and ancillaries
Units on campusp. 128
Independent living364
Assisted living57
Memory care25
Nursing care56

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Continuing Care Agreement (90% Refundable) · Type B (modified) (16 prices, $265,482 to $1,027,327)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Alexandria — 1 Br/1 Bath60590% Refundable$265,482 to $421,713p. 118$21,200
Barcroft — 1 Br/1 Bath72290% Refundable$315,433 to $455,800p. 118$21,200
Chantilly — 1 Br/1 Bath/Den88790% Refundable$365,306 to $511,400p. 118$21,200
Danville — 1 Br/1 Bath/Den81690% Refundable$347,467 to $436,900p. 118$21,200
Edinburg — 2 BR/2Bath89090% Refundable$395,334 to $603,800p. 118$21,200
Fauquier — 2 Br/2 Bath1,01090% Refundable$469,262 to $693,028p. 118$21,200
Gadsby — 2 Br/2 Bath1,10990% Refundable$515,207 to $744,281p. 118$21,200
Gunston — 2 Br/2 Bath1,17590% Refundable$500,308 to $727,736p. 118$21,200
Hampton — 2 Br/2 Bath1,03990% Refundable$467,834 to $616,600p. 119$21,200
Jamestown — 2 Br/2 Bath1,18990% Refundable$558,078 to $777,300p. 119$21,200
Kent — 2 Br/2 Bath1,15290% Refundable$554,677 to $703,900p. 119$21,200
Merrifield/Monticello — 2 Br/2 Bath/Den1,40290% Refundable$668,082 to $780,100p. 119$21,200
Norfolk — 3 Br/2 Bath1,50090% Refundable$699,088 to $882,536p. 119$21,200
Potomac (Cottage) — 2 Br/2 Bath1,14090% Refundable$556,932 to $799,968p. 119$21,200
Randolph (Cottage) — 2 Br/2 Bath/Den1,35890% Refundable$724,459 to $969,272p. 119$21,200
Stratford (Cottage) — 3 Br/2 Bath1,52790% Refundable$782,075 to $1,027,327p. 119$21,200
Continuing Care Agreement (50% Refundable) · Type B (modified) (16 prices, $190,798 to $725,646)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Alexandria — 1 Br/1 Bath60550% Refundable$190,798 to $309,268p. 118$21,200
Barcroft — 1 Br/1 Bath72250% Refundable$225,764 to $326,200p. 118$21,200
Chantilly — 1 Br/1 Bath/Den88750% Refundable$260,675 to $364,900p. 118$21,200
Danville — 1 Br/1 Bath/Den81650% Refundable$248,188 to $309,200p. 118$21,200
Edinburg — 2 BR/2Bath89050% Refundable$281,695 to $434,600p. 118$21,200
Fauquier — 2 Br/2 Bath1,01050% Refundable$333,445 to $498,957p. 118$21,200
Gadsby — 2 Br/2 Bath1,10950% Refundable$365,606 to $534,552p. 118$21,200
Gunston — 2 Br/2 Bath1,17550% Refundable$355,177 to $523,014p. 118$21,200
Hampton — 2 Br/2 Bath1,03950% Refundable$332,445 to $440,100p. 119$21,200
Jamestown — 2 Br/2 Bath1,18950% Refundable$395,616 to $553,200p. 119$21,200
Kent — 2 Br/2 Bath1,15250% Refundable$393,235 to $501,200p. 119$21,200
Merrifield/Monticello — 2 Br/2 Bath/Den1,40250% Refundable$472,618 to $574,313p. 119$21,200
Norfolk — 3 Br/2 Bath1,50050% Refundable$494,323 to $608,490p. 119$21,200
Potomac (Cottage) — 2 Br/2 Bath1,14050% Refundable$394,813 to $567,103p. 119$21,200
Randolph (Cottage) — 2 Br/2 Bath/Den1,35850% Refundable$512,082 to $685,127p. 119$21,200
Stratford (Cottage) — 3 Br/2 Bath1,52750% Refundable$552,414 to $725,646p. 119$21,200
Continuing Care Agreement (0% Refundable) · Type B (modified) (16 prices, $135,598 to $502,664)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Alexandria — 1 Br/1 Bath6050% Refundable$135,598 to $226,158p. 118$21,200
Barcroft — 1 Br/1 Bath7220% Refundable$159,487 to $230,400p. 118$21,200
Chantilly — 1 Br/1 Bath/Den8870% Refundable$183,340 to $256,700p. 118$21,200
Danville — 1 Br/1 Bath/Den8160% Refundable$174,808 to $242,150p. 118$21,200
Edinburg — 2 BR/2Bath8900% Refundable$197,701 to $309,500p. 118$21,200
Fauquier — 2 Br/2 Bath1,0100% Refundable$233,058 to $355,364p. 118$21,200
Gadsby — 2 Br/2 Bath1,1090% Refundable$255,032 to $379,535p. 118$21,200
Gunston — 2 Br/2 Bath1,1750% Refundable$247,906 to $371,696p. 118$21,200
Hampton — 2 Br/2 Bath1,0390% Refundable$232,375 to $317,275p. 119$21,200
Jamestown — 2 Br/2 Bath1,1890% Refundable$275,535 to $387,600p. 119$21,200
Kent — 2 Br/2 Bath1,1520% Refundable$273,908 to $353,658p. 119$21,200
Merrifield/Monticello — 2 Br/2 Bath/Den1,4020% Refundable$328,146 to $425,475p. 119$21,200
Norfolk — 3 Br/2 Bath1,5000% Refundable$342,975 to $448,628p. 119$21,200
Potomac (Cottage) — 2 Br/2 Bath1,1400% Refundable$274,987 to $394,987p. 119$21,200
Randolph (Cottage) — 2 Br/2 Bath/Den1,3580% Refundable$355,108 to $475,108p. 119$21,200
Stratford (Cottage) — 3 Br/2 Bath1,5270% Refundable$382,664 to $502,664p. 119$21,200

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Continuing Care Agreement (all payment plans) · Type B (modified) (16 prices, $4,157 to $7,640)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Alexandria — 1 Br/1 BathIndependent living$4,157p. 118$1,802
Barcroft — 1 Br/1 BathIndependent living$4,379p. 118$1,802
Chantilly — 1 Br/1 Bath/DenIndependent living$4,787p. 118$1,802
Danville — 1 Br/1 Bath/DenIndependent living$4,572p. 118$1,802
Edinburg — 2 BR/2BathIndependent living$4,985p. 118$1,802
Fauquier — 2 Br/2 BathIndependent living$5,354p. 118$1,802
Gadsby — 2 Br/2 BathIndependent living$5,703p. 118$1,802
Gunston — 2 Br/2 BathIndependent living$5,913p. 118$1,802
Hampton — 2 Br/2 BathIndependent living$5,625p. 119$1,802
Jamestown — 2 Br/2 BathIndependent living$5,896p. 119$1,802
Kent — 2 Br/2 BathIndependent living$5,751p. 119$1,802
Merrifield/Monticello — 2 Br/2 Bath/DenIndependent living$6,279p. 119$1,802
Norfolk — 3 Br/2 BathIndependent living$6,553p. 119$1,802
Potomac (Cottage) — 2 Br/2 BathIndependent living$6,966p. 119$1,802
Randolph (Cottage) — 2 Br/2 Bath/DenIndependent living$7,416p. 119$1,802
Stratford (Cottage) — 3 Br/2 BathIndependent living$7,640p. 119$1,802

Fee increases, year by year

No year-by-year increase history was recorded from the 2025 filing.

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

90% Refundablep. 15

The resident buys a non-interest-bearing Lifecare Bond equal to 90% of the Entrance Fee; it is repaid when the agreement ends and the unit is re-occupied by a new continuing-care resident. The other 10% and the $21,200 second-person fee are non-refundable.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundablep. 15

The resident buys a non-interest-bearing Lifecare Bond equal to 50% of the Entrance Fee, repaid when the agreement ends and the unit is re-occupied by a new continuing-care resident. The other half is non-refundable.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

0% Refundablep. 15

The Entrance Fee is 100% non-refundable once the seven-day rescission period has passed; no Lifecare Bond is issued.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $238,934 (90% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: SH OpCo The Fairfax, LLC.

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Read with these figuresNo days cash on hand or debt service coverage is reported. The Fairfax has no debt, and its balance sheet holds no unrestricted cash or investments: its liquidity sits in $31,277,284 due from a Healthpeak affiliate and a $32,361,790 note receivable from the Healthpeak landlord affiliate (p134, p137).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2024p. 137FY2023p. 374
Operating margin9.9%5.5%
Total assets$90.3 million$90.3 million
Total liabilities$67.0 million$71.3 million
Long-term debt$0Not disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$30.0 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$30.0 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$23.3 million$19.0 million

Auditor: Baker Tilly US, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 137

Occupancy

Level of care2024p. 374
Independent living76.1%
Assisted living95%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care89.7%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2020-10Ownership change Sunrise Continuing Care, LLC transferred operations of The Fairfax to SH OpCo The Fairfax, LLC (a Healthpeak subsidiary) effective October 16, 2020; Sunrise Senior Living Management continues to manage it.p. 4

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 14. BELVOIR WOODS HEALTH CARE CENTER AT THE FAIRFAX on Care Compare

In brief

The Fairfax is a continuing care community next to Fort Belvoir in Fairfax County, run by a for-profit subsidiary of the REIT Healthpeak Properties and managed by Sunrise; residency is tied to membership in the Army Retirement Residence Foundation – Potomac. 2025 entrance fees run from $135,598 (0% refundable, one-bedroom) to $1,027,327 (90% refundable cottage), with monthly fees of $4,157 to $7,640. Long-term assisted living or nursing is billed at a fixed contract daily rate ($188 in 2025 for standard assisted living or a semi-private nursing bed) below the per diem outside admissions pay. Independent living averaged 76.1% occupancy in 2024.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.