Skip to content

Westminster at Lake Ridge

12191 Clipper Drive, Lake Ridge, Virginia 22192

Operator:
Westminster Presbyterian Retirement Community, Incorporated (part of Ingleside)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Presbyterian (historical connection with the National Capital Presbytery through Ingleside at Rock Creek; no control or financial responsibility)
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Virginia nonprofit, nonstock 501(c)(3). The parent Westminster Ingleside King Farm Presbyterian Retirement Communities, Inc. (d/b/a Ingleside) holds reserved powers and charges a 5.25%-of-revenue management fee (p8, p11). The Provider owns the site, subject to the 2016 bond mortgage (p6).

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for Westminster at Lake Ridge, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,281 to $8,142p. 114

Refund plans offered

  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 0% RefundableTerms not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Days cash on hand

205 (FY2024)p. 121Its lenders require at least 150.

Independent living occupancy

97% (2024)p. 29

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Resident Fee-For-Service; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

5 days per temporary stay are included in the monthly fee, at most 15 a year: the contract covers the first five days of temporary Health Center care that begins more than 30 days after the resident's last Health Center day, with a limit of 15 such days in any twelve-month period. After that, residents pay the full per diem rate on top of the monthly fee until they give up their independent living residence. Independent living residents have priority access to the Health Center.p. 85

Assisted living
2024 per diem $306 (studio) / $314 (large studio), plus $17 or $35/day for Level II/III care
Nursing care
2024 per diem $581 private / $599 private suite
Care days included
5
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 14
Independent living235
Assisted living46
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Nursing care60

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2025 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

Only the Resident Fee-For-Service contract is offered (90%, 50% or 0% refundable). Life Care contracts were discontinued in September 2010 and still apply to existing holders (p17). Fee-For-Service residents get their first five days of temporary Health Center care included in the monthly fee (15 days a year at most) and then pay the per diem rate (p18, p85). Per diem (direct-admission) residency is available in AL and nursing.PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement (Resident Fee-For-Service) · Type B (modified) (8 prices, $2,281 to $8,142)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - One BedroomIndependent living$2,281 to $4,174p. 114Not listed
Apartment - One Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$2,681 to $4,906p. 114Not listed
Apartment - One Bedroom DenIndependent living$3,162 to $5,808p. 114Not listed
Apartment - Two BedroomIndependent living$3,492 to $6,414p. 114Not listed
Apartment - Two Bedroom DenIndependent living$4,070 to $7,493p. 114Not listed
Cottage - One Bedroom DenIndependent living$3,502 to $6,433p. 114Not listed
Cottage - Two BedroomIndependent living$3,961 to $7,292p. 114Not listed
Cottage - Two Bedroom DenIndependent living$4,420 to $8,142p. 114Not listed
Health Center per diem · Type B (modified) (3 prices, $9,486 to $18,210)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Assisted living studio / large studioAssisted living$9,486 to $9,734p. 116Not listed
Nursing private room / private suiteNursing care$17,662 to $18,210p. 116Not listed
Memory Care Unit private room / private suiteMemory care$17,237 to $17,754p. 25Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2020: 3.5%20202021: 4.5%20212022: 5.5%20222023: 9%20232024: 4.5%2024
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2024Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 114
2024Nursing careAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 116
2024Assisted livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 116
2023Independent livingAll units9%Percent onlyp. 114
2023Nursing careAll units9.11%Percent onlyp. 116
2023Assisted livingAll units9%Percent onlyp. 116
2022Independent livingAll units5.5%Percent onlyp. 114
2022Nursing careAll units5.5%Percent onlyp. 116
2022Assisted livingAll units4.6%Percent onlyp. 116
2021Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 114
2021Nursing careAll units3.5%Percent onlyp. 116
2021Assisted livingAll units0%Percent onlyp. 116
2020Independent livingAll units3.5%Percent onlyp. 114
2020Nursing careAll units0%Percent onlyp. 116
2020Assisted livingAll units0%Percent onlyp. 116

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

90% Refundablep. 22

The refund falls 2% a month for the first five months and never goes below 90% of the entrance fee. Refunds are paid when a new entrance fee is received for the vacated unit.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 5 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundablep. 22

The refund falls 2% a month for 25 months and never goes below 50%. It is paid when a new entrance fee is received for the vacated unit.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

0% Refundablep. 22

The entrance fee is fully earned on the day you move in, and nothing is refunded.

Kept on move-in
100% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: 90%

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Westminster Presbyterian Retirement Community, Incorporated.

Days cash on hand

205 days FY2024p. 121

Debt service coverage

1.88x FY2024p. 121

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2024p. 126FY2023p. 126
Days cash on hand205 daysNot disclosed
Debt service coverage1.88xNot disclosed
Total assets$79.6 million$83.1 million
Total liabilities$113.6 million$116.1 million
Long-term debt$47.9 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$24.9 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$34.3 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$34.1 million−$33.1 million

Auditor: Baker Tilly US, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 126

Occupancy

Level of care2024p. 29
Independent living97%
Assisted living96%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care74%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2023-09 Revised contract refund terms: when one of two co-residents dies or withdraws, the entrance fee is treated as paid for the remaining resident and no partial refund is made.p. 25
  • 2010-09 Stopped offering Life Care contracts; existing Life Care contracts continue.p. 17

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $8,405. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 2. WESTMINSTER AT LAKE RIDGE on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 2015. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Westminster at Lake Ridge is a nonprofit community on the Occoquan River in Prince William County, with 235 independent living cottages and apartments, 46 assisted living places and a 60-suite nursing center. New residents sign a fee-for-service contract (90%, 50% or 0% refundable) that includes five days of each temporary Health Center stay, up to 15 days a year, with full per diem rates after that. For 2024 the audited covenant schedule shows 205 days cash on hand (150 required) and 1.88x debt service coverage (1.20x required), with a total net deficit of $34.1 million.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • The Fairfax

    Fort Belvoir · 6 miles away

    Entrance fee: $135,598 to $1,027,327

  • Greenspring Village

    Springfield · 7 miles away

    Entrance fee: $144,000 to $1,280,000

  • The Woodlands

    Fairfax · 12 miles away

    Entrance fee: $346,000 to $765,000

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.