Skip to content

The Gardens of Taylor Glen

3700 Taylor Glen Lane, Concord, North Carolina 28027 · Community website

Operator:
Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Incorporated dba ThriveMore
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Baptist (historical relationship with the Baptist State Convention of North Carolina; separate corporate entity)
Opened:
2002

Taylor Glen is an operating division of ThriveMore, not a separate legal entity.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$150,300 to $614,000p. 19p. 20

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,520 to $8,150p. 20

Refund plans offered

  • Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)Can decline to nothing
  • Fifty Percent Refund ProgramTerms not disclosed in the 2026 filing
  • Ninety Percent Refund ProgramTerms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

475.24 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 4Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Incorporated dba ThriveMore (consolidated)

Independent living occupancy

99% (2025)p. 8

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

14 cumulative lifetime days in the health care center are included without extra charge. After that residents pay ThriveMore's current rates: $6,940 a month for the adult care home plus $560 or $840 for higher levels of care, $9,000 a month for memory-enhanced care, and $377 a day for a private nursing room.p. 16

Assisted living
14 lifetime days included (assisted or nursing combined), then the current adult care home rate ($6,940/month plus level-of-care charges)
Nursing care
14 lifetime days included (combined with assisted), then the current daily rate ($377 private room)
Care days included
14
Units on campusp. 10
Independent living130
Assisted living12
Memory care12
Nursing care24

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type B (modified) (14 prices, $150,300 to $614,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - One bedroom apartment home (Rose)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$150,300p. 19$15,000
Apartment - One bedroom deluxe (Gardenia)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$162,800p. 19$15,000
Apartment - Two bedroom apartment home (Azalea)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$207,800p. 19$15,000
Apartment - Two bedroom deluxe apartment home (Camellia)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$281,400p. 19$15,000
Apartment - Two bedroom classic apartment home (Magnolia)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$335,900p. 19$15,000
Apartment - Two bedroom combo apartment home (Hibiscus)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$376,400p. 19$15,000
Villa apartment - One bedroom/1 bath (Daisy)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$213,000p. 19$18,000
Villa apartment - Two bedroom/2 bath (Lily)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$289,000p. 19$18,000
Villa apartment - Two bedroom/2.5 bath (Peony)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$345,000p. 19$18,000
Villa apartment - Two bedroom/2.5 bath (Dahlia)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$384,000p. 19$18,000
Cottage - Two bedroom/2 bath (Dogwood)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$353,000p. 20$23,000
Cottage - Two bedroom/2 bath (Lupine)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$382,000p. 20$23,000
Cottage - Two bedroom/2.5 bath (Iris)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$432,000p. 20$23,000
Cottage - Three bedroom/3.5 bath (Iris II)Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)$614,000p. 20$23,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type B (modified) (16 prices, $2,520 to $9,000)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - One bedroom apartment home (Rose)Independent living$2,520p. 20$960
Apartment - One bedroom deluxe (Gardenia)Independent living$2,910p. 20$960
Apartment - Two bedroom apartment home (Azalea)Independent living$4,220p. 20$960
Apartment - Two bedroom deluxe apartment home (Camellia)Independent living$4,660p. 20$960
Apartment - Two bedroom classic apartment home (Magnolia)Independent living$4,860p. 20$960
Apartment - Two bedroom combo apartment home (Hibiscus)Independent living$5,280p. 20$960
Villa apartment - One bedroom/1 bath (Daisy)Independent living$3,700p. 20$960
Villa apartment - Two bedroom/2 bath (Lily)Independent living$5,000p. 20$960
Villa apartment - Two bedroom/2.5 bath (Peony)Independent living$5,980p. 20$960
Villa apartment - Two bedroom/2.5 bath (Dahlia)Independent living$6,630p. 20$960
Cottage - Two bedroom/2 bath (Dogwood)Independent living$5,650p. 20$960
Cottage - Two bedroom/2 bath (Lupine)Independent living$6,090p. 20$960
Cottage - Two bedroom/2.5 bath (Iris)Independent living$6,850p. 20$960
Cottage - Three bedroom/3.5 bath (Iris II)Independent living$8,150p. 20$960
Adult Care HomeAssisted living$6,940p. 20Not listed
Memory-Enhanced residenceMemory care$9,000p. 21Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

No year-by-year increase history was recorded from the 2026 filing.

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Traditional Payment Program (0% after 24 months)p. 13

The refund is the entrance fee less 4% for each month of occupancy, so nothing is refunded after 24 months. It is paid when your unit is re-occupied by a new resident or two years after termination, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
4% a month for 24 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Fifty Percent Refund Programp. 12

Costs 1.4 times the Traditional entrance fee and keeps a 50% refund for life. On voluntary termination it is paid at re-occupancy or two years, whichever comes first; the statement does not say how quickly the refund falls to 50%.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Ninety Percent Refund Programp. 12

Costs 1.8 times the Traditional entrance fee and keeps a 90% refund for life. On voluntary termination it is paid at re-occupancy or two years, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • The Gardens of Taylor Glen is part of Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Incorporated dba ThriveMore (Brookridge, The Gardens of Taylor Glen, Ardenwoods, The Taylor House, ThriveMore At Home).
  • Balance sheet: Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Incorporated dba ThriveMore and Affiliate (consolidated).
  • Ratios: Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Incorporated dba ThriveMore (consolidated).
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

475.24 days FY2025p. 4

Debt service coverage

1.36x FY2025p. 4

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 32FY2024p. 4FY2023p. 4
Days cash on hand475.24 days509.74 days471.21 days
Debt service coverage1.36x2.47xNot disclosed
Operating margin-15.4%-10.42%-15.77%
Total assets$230.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$154.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$84.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$22.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$27.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$75.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 32

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 8
Independent living99%
Assisted living92%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care54%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2023-10Ownership change ThriveMore, the operator, completed the purchase of Ardenwoods Retirement Community in Arden, NC in October 2023, after its sale of Western North Carolina Baptist Home in Asheville closed in September 2023.p. 3

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
No rating
Quality measures
No rating

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 3. The Gardens of Taylor Glen Retirement Community on Care Compare

In brief

The Gardens of Taylor Glen is a continuing care retirement community in Concord run by ThriveMore (Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina), with 130 independent living apartments, 12 adult care, 12 memory-enhanced and 24 nursing beds, and a 50-home expansion opening through 2026. Its contract includes 14 lifetime days of health care, then current rates; Traditional entrance fees run from $150,300 to $614,000 and refund nothing after 24 months, with 50% and 90% refund options at 1.4 and 1.8 times the price. ThriveMore's consolidated FY2025 figures show 475 days cash on hand and 1.36x debt service coverage, with an operating margin of -15.4%.PDF

Other communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.