Skip to content

Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay

3100 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23451

Operator:
Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia and Presbytery of Eastern Virginia (PC USA) — founders; not financially responsible (p14)
Opened:
1982

Virginia non-stock 501(c)(3) corporation; owns the land and buildings (p3). Westminster Advantage contracts are lived out at Opus Select, an affiliated rental community owned by subsidiary Senior Options Community LLC (p21, p29).

  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)
  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$113,700 to $2,781,200p. 180p. 182

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,254 to $13,139p. 185p. 176

Refund plans offered

  • Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)Can decline to nothing
  • Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)Can decline to nothing
  • Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)Never less than 80% of the fee

Days cash on hand

769 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 199Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for Obligated Group (Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay and Westminster-Canterbury Foundation)
Read the note on this figure

Coverage counts $30.6M of net entrance-fee proceeds as income and excludes Bay Tower start-up costs; maximum annual debt service includes a $12M guaranty for Opus Select but is before Bay Tower principal begins (2029).

Independent living occupancy

95% (2025)p. 201

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.
  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)The filing calls it Lifecare (Type A) / True LifeCare; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Under the standard (and 50-month, 80% refundable, Low/High EF) agreements, a member who moves to assisted living or the Health Care Center keeps paying the Monthly Fee for the apartment occupied at transfer, plus extra meals and ancillary charges (the 'True LifeCare' benefit). Westminster Advantage contracts at Opus Select carry the same care access at WCCB. For comparison, a direct admission to assisted living (Angler) costs a $188,500 entrance fee plus $10,423 a month (FY26, p184).p. 95

Assisted living
Same Monthly Fee as the residence occupied at transfer, plus additional meals and ancillaries
Nursing care
Same Monthly Fee as the residence occupied at transfer, plus additional meals and ancillaries
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Limited Healthcare (Type B) / Limited Medical Assistance Options 1 and 2; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

365 (Option 1) or 180 (Option 2) lifetime cumulative days of assisted living or nursing care are covered by the Monthly Fee; after that care is billed per day at the community rate (FY26: nursing $468-$472 a day private, skilled $558, enhanced-services studio $308; p35). Entrance fee is 4% (365-day) or 8% (180-day) below the standard fee.p. 168

Assisted living
Covered by the Monthly Fee for 365 or 180 cumulative days, then the daily community rate
Nursing care
Covered by the Monthly Fee for 365 or 180 cumulative days, then the daily community rate
Care days included
365
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type C (fee for service)The filing calls it FFS / Limited Medical Assistance Option No. 3 (0 days); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

No care days are included: assisted living and nursing are charged per day at the community rate (FY26: nursing $468-$472 a day private, skilled $558, enhanced-services studio $308; p35), with the Monthly Fee continuing until the apartment is released.p. 172

Assisted living
Daily community rate
Nursing care
Daily community rate
Care days included
0
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 20
Independent living423
Assisted living66
Memory care14
Nursing care108

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Standard Contract · Type A (life care) (13 prices, $188,500 to $2,415,000)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)432 to 567Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$188,500 to $266,200p. 180$94,800
1 Bedroom (East Tower)708 to 864Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$311,000 to $499,200p. 180$94,800
2 Bedroom (East Tower)899 to 1,469Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$579,800 to $676,800p. 180$94,800
Studio (West Tower)393Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$240,100p. 182$94,800
1 Bedroom (West Tower)574Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$300,900p. 182$94,800
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,009 to 1,125Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$476,100 to $650,400p. 182$94,800
2 Bedroom (West Tower)1,190 to 1,677Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$524,000 to $1,007,600p. 182$94,800
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,427 to 1,841Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$552,900 to $1,236,100p. 182$94,800
Studio (Bay Tower, opening 2027)710Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$385,000p. 176$94,800
1 Bedroom (Bay Tower, opening 2027)710 to 2,020Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$385,000 to $1,600,000p. 176$94,800
1 Bedroom/Den (Bay Tower, opening 2027)1,218 to 1,617Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$677,600 to $963,900p. 176$94,800
2 Bedroom (Bay Tower, opening 2027)1,380 to 2,362Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$839,300 to $1,499,400p. 176$94,800
2 Bedroom/Den (Bay Tower, opening 2027)1,910 to 2,867Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$1,144,400 to $2,415,000p. 176$94,800
50 Month Declining Balance · Type A (life care) (8 prices, $198,900 to $1,304,100)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)432 to 567Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$198,900 to $280,800p. 180Not listed
1 Bedroom (East Tower)708 to 864Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$328,100 to $526,700p. 180Not listed
2 Bedroom (East Tower)899 to 1,469Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$611,700 to $714,000p. 180Not listed
Studio (West Tower)393Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$253,300p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom (West Tower)574Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$317,400p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,009 to 1,125Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$502,300 to $686,200p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom (West Tower)1,190 to 1,677Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$552,800 to $1,063,000p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,427 to 1,841Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$583,300 to $1,304,100p. 182Not listed
80% Refundable · Type A (life care) (8 prices, $424,100 to $2,781,200)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)432 to 567Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$424,100 to $599,000p. 180Not listed
1 Bedroom (East Tower)708 to 864Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$699,800 to $1,123,200p. 180Not listed
2 Bedroom (East Tower)899 to 1,469Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$1,304,600 to $1,522,800p. 180Not listed
Studio (West Tower)393Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$540,200p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom (West Tower)574Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$677,000p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,009 to 1,125Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$1,071,200 to $1,463,400p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom (West Tower)1,190 to 1,677Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$1,179,000 to $2,267,100p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,427 to 1,841Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$1,244,000 to $2,781,200p. 182Not listed
180 Days Limited Healthcare · Type B (modified) (8 prices, $173,400 to $1,137,200)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)432 to 567Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$173,400 to $244,900p. 180Not listed
1 Bedroom (East Tower)708 to 864Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$286,100 to $459,300p. 180Not listed
2 Bedroom (East Tower)899 to 1,469Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$533,400 to $622,700p. 180Not listed
Studio (West Tower)393Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$220,900p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom (West Tower)574Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$276,800p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,009 to 1,125Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$438,000 to $598,400p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom (West Tower)1,190 to 1,677Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$482,100 to $927,000p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,427 to 1,841Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$508,700 to $1,137,200p. 182Not listed
365 Days Limited Healthcare · Type B (modified) (8 prices, $181,000 to $1,186,700)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)432 to 567Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$181,000 to $255,600p. 180Not listed
1 Bedroom (East Tower)708 to 864Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$298,600 to $479,200p. 180Not listed
2 Bedroom (East Tower)899 to 1,469Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$556,600 to $649,700p. 180Not listed
Studio (West Tower)393Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$230,500p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom (West Tower)574Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$288,900p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,009 to 1,125Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$457,100 to $624,400p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom (West Tower)1,190 to 1,677Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$503,000 to $967,300p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,427 to 1,841Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$530,800 to $1,186,700p. 182Not listed
Low EF / High MF · Type A (life care) (8 prices, $113,700 to $1,065,700)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)432 to 567Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$113,700 to $176,300p. 180Not listed
1 Bedroom (East Tower)708 to 864Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$222,700 to $387,600p. 180Not listed
2 Bedroom (East Tower)899 to 1,469Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$459,900 to $544,900p. 180Not listed
Studio (West Tower)393Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$153,900p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom (West Tower)574Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$205,200p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,009 to 1,125Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$349,000 to $520,000p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom (West Tower)1,190 to 1,677Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$373,300 to $832,200p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,427 to 1,841Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$376,200 to $1,065,700p. 182Not listed
High EF / Low MF · Type A (life care) (8 prices, $278,100 to $1,498,200)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)432 to 567Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$278,100 to $377,700p. 180Not listed
1 Bedroom (East Tower)708 to 864Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$421,800 to $648,400p. 180Not listed
2 Bedroom (East Tower)899 to 1,469Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$734,700 to $861,500p. 180Not listed
Studio (West Tower)393Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$337,600p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom (West Tower)574Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$411,700p. 182Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,009 to 1,125Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$629,000 to $819,500p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom (West Tower)1,190 to 1,677Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$702,500 to $1,244,600p. 182Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)1,427 to 1,841Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$757,600 to $1,498,200p. 182Not listed
Westminster Advantage — Standard Contract · Type A (life care) (5 prices, $247,300 to $554,800)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)683Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$247,300p. 187$77,400
1 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)797Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$303,600p. 187$81,200
1 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)964 to 1,018Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$367,300 to $387,900p. 187$81,200
2 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,060 to 1,298Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$403,800 to $494,500p. 187$81,200
2 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,339 to 1,456Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$510,100 to $554,800p. 187$81,200
Westminster Advantage — 50 Month Declining Balance · Type A (life care) (5 prices, $260,900 to $585,300)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)683Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$260,900p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)797Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$320,300p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)964 to 1,018Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$387,500 to $409,200p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,060 to 1,298Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$426,000 to $521,700p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,339 to 1,456Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)$538,200 to $585,300p. 187Not listed
Westminster Advantage — 80% Refundable · Type A (life care) (5 prices, $556,400 to $1,248,300)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)683Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$556,400p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)797Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$683,100p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)964 to 1,018Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$826,400 to $872,800p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,060 to 1,298Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$908,600 to $1,112,600p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,339 to 1,456Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$1,147,700 to $1,248,300p. 187Not listed
Westminster Advantage — 180 Days Limited Healthcare · Type B (modified) (5 prices, $227,500 to $510,400)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)683Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$227,500p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)797Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$279,300p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)964 to 1,018Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$337,900 to $356,900p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,060 to 1,298Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$371,500 to $454,900p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,339 to 1,456Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$469,300 to $510,400p. 187Not listed
Westminster Advantage — 365 Days Limited Healthcare · Type B (modified) (5 prices, $237,400 to $532,600)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)683Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$237,400p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)797Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$291,500p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)964 to 1,018Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$352,600 to $372,400p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,060 to 1,298Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$387,600 to $474,700p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,339 to 1,456Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$489,700 to $532,600p. 187Not listed
Westminster Advantage — Fee-for-Service · Type C (fee for service) (5 prices, $207,300 to $514,800)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)683Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$207,300p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)797Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$263,600p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)964 to 1,018Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$327,300 to $347,900p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,060 to 1,298Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$363,800 to $454,500p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,339 to 1,456Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)$470,100 to $514,800p. 187Not listed
Westminster Advantage — 80% Refundable Fee-for-Service · Type C (fee for service) (5 prices, $466,400 to $1,158,300)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Studio (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)683Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$466,400p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)797Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$593,100p. 187Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)964 to 1,018Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$736,400 to $782,800p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,060 to 1,298Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$818,600 to $1,022,600p. 187Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)1,339 to 1,456Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)$1,057,700 to $1,158,300p. 187Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Standard Contract · Type A (life care) (14 prices, $3,419 to $13,139)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)Independent living$3,419 to $3,942p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$4,157 to $5,281p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$5,480 to $7,513p. 178$1,793
Skipjack (East Tower)Independent living$7,330p. 178$1,793
Studio (West Tower)Independent living$3,659p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$4,154p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$5,732 to $6,403p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$6,684 to $8,601p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$7,668 to $9,274p. 178$1,793
Studio (Bay Tower, opening 2027)Independent living$4,530p. 176$1,793
1 Bedroom (Bay Tower, opening 2027)Independent living$4,530 to $10,297p. 176$1,793
1 Bedroom/Den (Bay Tower, opening 2027)Independent living$7,297 to $8,827p. 176$1,793
2 Bedroom (Bay Tower, opening 2027)Independent living$8,087 to $12,526p. 176$1,793
2 Bedroom/Den (Bay Tower, opening 2027)Independent living$9,885 to $13,139p. 176$1,793
Low EF / High MF · Type A (life care) (9 prices, $4,103 to $11,129)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)Independent living$4,103 to $4,730p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$4,988 to $6,337p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$6,576 to $9,016p. 178$1,793
Skipjack (East Tower)Independent living$8,796p. 178$1,793
Studio (West Tower)Independent living$4,391p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$4,985p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$6,878 to $7,684p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$8,021 to $10,321p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$9,202 to $11,129p. 178$1,793
High EF / Low MF · Type A (life care) (9 prices, $2,735 to $7,419)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)Independent living$2,735 to $3,154p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$3,326 to $4,225p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$4,384 to $6,010p. 178$1,793
Skipjack (East Tower)Independent living$5,864p. 178$1,793
Studio (West Tower)Independent living$2,927p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$3,323p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$4,586 to $5,122p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$5,347 to $6,881p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$6,134 to $7,419p. 178$1,793
Fee-for-Service · Type C (fee for service) (9 prices, $2,644 to $8,499)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)Independent living$2,644 to $3,167p. 178$999
1 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$3,382 to $4,506p. 178$999
2 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$4,705 to $6,738p. 178$999
Skipjack (East Tower)Independent living$6,555p. 178$999
Studio (West Tower)Independent living$2,884p. 178$999
1 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$3,379p. 178$999
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$4,957 to $5,628p. 178$999
2 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$5,909 to $7,826p. 178$999
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$6,893 to $8,499p. 178$999
80% Refundable Fee-for-Service · Type C (fee for service) (9 prices, $2,644 to $8,499)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)Independent living$2,644 to $3,167p. 178$999
1 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$3,382 to $4,506p. 178$999
2 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$4,705 to $6,738p. 178$999
Skipjack (East Tower)Independent living$6,555p. 178$999
Studio (West Tower)Independent living$2,884p. 178$999
1 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$3,379p. 178$999
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$4,957 to $5,628p. 178$999
2 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$5,909 to $7,826p. 178$999
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$6,893 to $8,499p. 178$999
Westminster Advantage — Standard Contract · Type A (life care) (5 prices, $3,029 to $7,289)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$3,029p. 185$1,439
1 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$3,811p. 185$1,514
1 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$4,693 to $4,978p. 185$1,514
2 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$5,198 to $6,456p. 185$1,514
2 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$6,671 to $7,289p. 185$1,514
Westminster Advantage — Fee-for-Service · Type C (fee for service) (5 prices, $2,254 to $6,514)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$2,254p. 185Not listed
1 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$3,036p. 185Not listed
1 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$3,918 to $4,203p. 185Not listed
2 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$4,423 to $5,681p. 185Not listed
2 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$5,896 to $6,514p. 185Not listed
180 / 365 Days Limited Healthcare · Type B (modified) (14 prices, $3,419 to $13,139)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (East Tower)Independent living$3,419 to $3,942p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$4,157 to $5,281p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom (East Tower)Independent living$5,480 to $7,513p. 178$1,793
Skipjack (East Tower)Independent living$7,330p. 178$1,793
Studio (West Tower)Independent living$3,659p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$4,154p. 178$1,793
1 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$5,732 to $6,403p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom (West Tower)Independent living$6,684 to $8,601p. 178$1,793
2 Bedroom/Den (West Tower)Independent living$7,668 to $9,274p. 178$1,793
Studio (Bay Tower, opening 2027)Independent living$4,530p. 176$1,793
1 Bedroom (Bay Tower, opening 2027)Independent living$4,530 to $10,297p. 176$1,793
1 Bedroom/Den (Bay Tower, opening 2027)Independent living$7,297 to $8,827p. 176$1,793
2 Bedroom (Bay Tower, opening 2027)Independent living$8,087 to $12,526p. 176$1,793
2 Bedroom/Den (Bay Tower, opening 2027)Independent living$9,885 to $13,139p. 176$1,793
Westminster Advantage — 180 / 365 Days Limited Healthcare · Type B (modified) (5 prices, $3,029 to $7,289)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Studio (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$3,029p. 185$1,439
1 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$3,811p. 185$1,514
1 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$4,693 to $4,978p. 185$1,514
2 Bedroom (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$5,198 to $6,456p. 185$1,514
2 Bedroom/Den (Opus Select, Westminster Advantage)Independent living$6,671 to $7,289p. 185$1,514

Fee increases, year by year

2017: 3.89%20172018: 3.78%20182019: 4.2%20192020: 4.81%20202021: 4.24%20212022: 1.35%20222023: 6.54%20232024: 4.7%20242025: 4.2%20252026: 3.57%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units3.57%Percent onlyp. 37
2025Independent livingAll units4.2%Percent onlyp. 37
2024Independent livingAll units4.7%Percent onlyp. 37
2023Independent livingAll units6.54%Percent onlyp. 37
2022Independent livingAll units1.35%Percent onlyp. 37
2021Independent livingAll units4.24%Percent onlyp. 37
2020Independent livingAll units4.81%Percent onlyp. 37
2019Independent livingAll units4.2%Percent onlyp. 37
2018Independent livingAll units3.78%Percent onlyp. 37
2017Independent livingAll units3.89%Percent onlyp. 37

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Refund Option 1 (Standard Contract)p. 161

If you leave in the first 48 months you get the entrance fee back less 5% and 2% per month, counted until a new member occupies your apartment; nothing after 48 months. On death, a refund (same formula) is paid only if death occurs within the first 6 months.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund Option 2 (50 Month Declining Balance)p. 163

Entrance fee back less 5% and 2% per month (counted until a new member occupies the apartment) if the contract ends for any reason, including death, in the first 48 months; nothing after 48 months.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund Option 3 (80% Refundable)p. 165

In the first 4 months the refund is the fee less 5% and 4% per month, counted until a new member occupies the apartment; after 4 months a refund of 80% of the entrance fee is paid on termination or death. The contract does not state when the 80% is paid.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
4% a month for 4 months
Never less than
80% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay is part of Obligated Group: Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay and Westminster-Canterbury Foundation.
  • Balance sheet: Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay and Subsidiaries (consolidated).
  • Ratios: Obligated Group (Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay and Westminster-Canterbury Foundation).
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

769 days FY2025p. 199

Debt service coverage

6.40x FY2025p. 199

Read with these figuresCoverage counts $30.6M of net entrance-fee proceeds as income and excludes Bay Tower start-up costs; maximum annual debt service includes a $12M guaranty for Opus Select but is before Bay Tower principal begins (2029).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 43FY2024p. 199FY2023p. 199FY2022p. 199FY2021p. 199
Days cash on hand769 days618 days479 days391 days472 days
Debt service coverage6.40x5.80x5.64x5.02x5.08x
Total assets$806.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$757.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$532.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$149.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$10.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$49.1 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Plante & Moran, PLLC. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 43

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 2012024p. 2012023p. 2012022p. 2012021p. 201
Independent living95%93.5%92.3%91.4%90.9%
Assisted living91.2%89.4%83.5%89.4%83.5%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care91.7%89.1%91.1%96.9%86%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. WESTMINSTER-CANTERBURY ON CHESAPEAKE BAY on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 2024. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay is a nonprofit continuing care community in Virginia Beach, operating since 1982, with 423 independent living apartments, 80 assisted living units (14 memory care) and 108 nursing beds; a 226-apartment Bay Tower is under construction with move-ins expected in early 2027, and its pre-sale prices are listed separately. It sells life-care (Type A), limited-healthcare (180/365 days, Type B) and fee-for-service contracts; FY26 single-occupancy entrance fees under the standard contract run from $188,500 to $1,236,100 in the existing East and West Towers. For FY2025 the obligated group reported 769 days cash on hand and 6.40x debt service coverage against covenants of 120 days and 1.20x.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • Harbor's Edge

    Norfolk · 13 miles away

    Entrance fee: $283,079 to $2,164,084

  • The Chesapeake

    Newport News · 24 miles away

    Entrance fee: $149,000 to $855,000

  • Warwick Forest

    Newport News · 29 miles away

    Entrance fee: $148,328 to $377,659

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.