Skip to content

WindsorMeade Williamsburg

3900 Windsor Hall Drive, Williamsburg, Virginia 23188

Operator:
Virginia United Methodist Homes of Williamsburg, Inc. d/b/a WindsorMeade Williamsburg (sole member Pinnacle Living)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
United Methodist (related by heritage; not controlled by or a financial obligation of the Virginia Annual Conference)
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Virginia not-for-profit, non-stock corporation; sole member is Pinnacle Living (Virginia United Methodist Homes, Inc.), which provides administrative services for a 6% monthly base fee on GAAP operating revenue plus up to 3% at year end (p12). Pinnacle Living is not responsible for WindsorMeade's obligations (p7).

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$252,700 to $1,131,500p. 16p. 17

Monthly fee, independent living

$5,475 to $6,460p. 16

Refund plans offered

  • Declining Balance RefundCan decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 70% RefundNever less than 70% of the fee
  • 80% RefundNever less than 80% of the fee
  • 90% RefundTerms not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Days cash on hand

222.7 (FY2025, calculated by us)p. 122Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for WindsorMeade
Read the note on this figure

Computed by us from WindsorMeade's own column: unrestricted cash $2,696,093 + investments $9,165,502, excluding $3,871,855 of assets whose use is limited. The disclosure states no days-cash or coverage ratio.

Independent living occupancy

96% (2025)p. 19

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)The filing calls it Preferred Choice / Fee-for-Service; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Assisted living, memory support and nursing are billed at the market rate when needed, and the monthly fee can rise with the level and duration of care. Residents have priority over Pinnacle Advantage members and non-residents (after Lifecare residents). Health-care daily rates are not published in this disclosure.p. 27

Assisted living
Market rate at the time the service is needed
Nursing care
Market rate at the time the service is needed
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 13
Independent living181
Assisted living14
Memory care18
Nursing care22

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Preferred Choice / Fee-for-Service · Type C (fee for service) (36 prices, $252,700 to $1,131,500)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Windsor Hall Apartment - Dover (1 + den, 1 1/2 bath)1,054Declining Balance Refund$252,700 to $273,000p. 16$35,200
Windsor Hall Apartment - Dover (1 + den, 1 1/2 bath)1,05450% Refund$346,200 to $373,900p. 17$48,300
Windsor Hall Apartment - Scotney (2 bed, 2 bath)1,350Declining Balance Refund$364,900 to $394,100p. 16$35,200
Windsor Hall Apartment - Scotney (2 bed, 2 bath)1,35050% Refund$500,000 to $540,000p. 17$48,300
Windsor Hall Apartment - Leeds (2 + den, 2 bath)1,690Declining Balance Refund$481,400 to $520,000p. 16$35,200
Windsor Hall Apartment - Leeds (2 + den, 2 bath)1,69050% Refund$659,600 to $712,400p. 17$48,300
Windsor Hall Apartment - Ludlow (2 + den, 2 bath)1,797Declining Balance Refund$491,200 to $530,500p. 16$35,200
Windsor Hall Apartment - Ludlow (2 + den, 2 bath)1,79750% Refund$673,000 to $726,900p. 17$48,300
Windsor Hall Apartment - Cadbury (2 + den, 2 bath)1,900Declining Balance Refund$492,500 to $531,900p. 16$35,200
Windsor Hall Apartment - Cadbury (2 + den, 2 bath)1,90050% Refund$674,800 to $728,800p. 17$48,300
Windsor Hall Apartment - Raby (2 + den, 2 bath)1,937Declining Balance Refund$509,300 to $550,100p. 16$35,200
Windsor Hall Apartment - Raby (2 + den, 2 bath)1,93750% Refund$697,800 to $753,700p. 17$48,300
Villa - Yarmouth I (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)1,704Declining Balance Refund$514,300 to $555,500p. 16$35,200
Villa - Yarmouth I (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)1,70450% Refund$704,600 to $761,000p. 17$48,300
Villa - Yarmouth I + sunroom (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)1,845Declining Balance Refund$565,600 to $610,900p. 16$35,200
Villa - Yarmouth I + sunroom (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)1,84550% Refund$774,900 to $836,900p. 17$48,300
Villa - Yarmouth I + sunroom + studio (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)2,051Declining Balance Refund$641,300 to $692,700p. 16$35,200
Villa - Yarmouth I + sunroom + studio (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)2,05150% Refund$878,600 to $948,900p. 17$48,300
Villa - Yarmouth II + sunroom + studio (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)2,525Declining Balance Refund$705,000 to $761,400p. 16$35,200
Villa - Yarmouth II + sunroom + studio (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)2,52550% Refund$965,900 to $1,043,200p. 17$48,300
Villa - Edinburgh I (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)1,884Declining Balance Refund$597,400 to $645,200p. 16$35,200
Villa - Edinburgh I (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)1,88450% Refund$818,500 to $884,000p. 17$48,300
Villa - Edinburgh I + sunroom (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)2,084Declining Balance Refund$649,500 to $701,500p. 16$35,200
Villa - Edinburgh I + sunroom (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)2,08450% Refund$889,900 to $961,100p. 17$48,300
Villa - Edinburgh II + sunroom (4 + den, 3 1/2 bath)2,564Declining Balance Refund$703,000 to $759,300p. 16$35,200
Villa - Edinburgh II + sunroom (4 + den, 3 1/2 bath)2,56450% Refund$963,200 to $1,040,300p. 17$48,300
Villa - Durham I (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)2,265Declining Balance Refund$656,400 to $709,000p. 16$35,200
Villa - Durham I (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)2,26550% Refund$899,300 to $971,300p. 17$48,300
Villa - Durham I + studio (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)2,433Declining Balance Refund$672,900 to $726,800p. 16$35,200
Villa - Durham I + studio (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)2,43350% Refund$921,900 to $995,700p. 17$48,300
Villa - Durham I + sunroom (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)2,470Declining Balance Refund$702,300 to $758,500p. 16$35,200
Villa - Durham I + sunroom (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)2,47050% Refund$962,200 to $1,039,200p. 17$48,300
Villa - Durham I + sunroom + studio (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)2,639Declining Balance Refund$701,400 to $757,600p. 16$35,200
Villa - Durham I + sunroom + studio (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)2,63950% Refund$961,000 to $1,037,900p. 17$48,300
Villa - Durham II + sunroom + studio (3 + den, 3 1/2 bath)3,314Declining Balance Refund$764,600 to $825,800p. 16$35,200
Villa - Durham II + sunroom + studio (3 + den, 3 1/2 bath)3,31450% Refund$1,047,600 to $1,131,500p. 17$48,300

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Preferred Choice / Fee-for-Service · Type C (fee for service) (18 prices, $5,475 to $6,460)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Windsor Hall Apartment - Dover (1 + den, 1 1/2 bath)Independent living$5,475p. 16$1,420
Windsor Hall Apartment - Scotney (2 bed, 2 bath)Independent living$5,740p. 16$1,420
Windsor Hall Apartment - Leeds (2 + den, 2 bath)Independent living$6,025p. 16$1,420
Windsor Hall Apartment - Ludlow (2 + den, 2 bath)Independent living$6,040p. 16$1,420
Windsor Hall Apartment - Cadbury (2 + den, 2 bath)Independent living$6,195p. 16$1,420
Windsor Hall Apartment - Raby (2 + den, 2 bath)Independent living$6,230p. 16$1,420
Villa - Yarmouth I (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)Independent living$5,955p. 16$1,420
Villa - Yarmouth I + sunroom (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)Independent living$5,955p. 16$1,420
Villa - Yarmouth I + sunroom + studio (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)Independent living$5,955p. 16$1,420
Villa - Yarmouth II + sunroom + studio (2 bed, 2 1/2 bath)Independent living$5,955p. 16$1,420
Villa - Edinburgh I (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)Independent living$6,155p. 16$1,420
Villa - Edinburgh I + sunroom (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)Independent living$6,155p. 16$1,420
Villa - Edinburgh II + sunroom (4 + den, 3 1/2 bath)Independent living$6,155p. 16$1,420
Villa - Durham I (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)Independent living$6,460p. 16$1,420
Villa - Durham I + studio (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)Independent living$6,460p. 16$1,420
Villa - Durham I + sunroom (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)Independent living$6,460p. 16$1,420
Villa - Durham I + sunroom + studio (2 + den, 2 1/2 bath)Independent living$6,460p. 16$1,420
Villa - Durham II + sunroom + studio (3 + den, 3 1/2 bath)Independent living$6,460p. 16$1,420

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingApartment+$227 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2025Independent livingVilla+$237 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2025Assisted livingAll units+$352 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2025Nursing careHealth Care+$360 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2025Memory careAll units+$608 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2024Independent livingApartment+$260 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2024Independent livingVilla+$272 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2024Assisted livingAll units+$428 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2024Nursing careHealth Care+$608 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2024Memory careAll units+$415 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2023Independent livingApartment+$382 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2023Independent livingVilla+$400 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2023Assisted livingAll units+$435 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2023Nursing careHealth Care+$973 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2023Memory careAll units+$850 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2022Independent livingApartment+$238 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2022Independent livingVilla+$251 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2022Assisted livingAll units+$375 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2022Nursing careHealth Care+$822 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2022Memory careAll units+$510 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2021Independent livingApartment+$142 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2021Independent livingVilla+$148 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2021Assisted livingAll units+$0 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2021Nursing careHealth Care+$0 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18
2021Memory careAll units+$215 a monthDollar change onlyp. 18

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Balance Refundp. 32

10% of the entrance fee is kept as an administrative fee at the start, then 2% more per month; nothing is refunded after 45 months. Any refund is paid within 60 days after you vacate and a new resident pays the entrance fee for your residence.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 45 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundp. 32

10% administrative fee plus 2% per month for 20 months, after which the refund stays at 50% of the entrance fee. Paid within 60 days after you vacate and a new resident pays the entrance fee for your residence.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 20 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

70% Refundp. 33

10% administrative fee plus 2% per month for 10 months, then a constant 70% refund, paid after your residence is re-sold. Offered in the agreement; no price schedule is included in this disclosure.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 10 months
Never less than
70% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

80% Refundp. 33

10% administrative fee plus 2% per month for 5 months, then a constant 80% refund, paid after your residence is re-sold. Offered in the agreement; no price schedule is included in this disclosure.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 5 months
Never less than
80% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refundp. 33

Refund reaches a constant 90% after the first month (10% administrative fee), paid after your residence is re-sold. Offered in the agreement; no price schedule is included in this disclosure.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • WindsorMeade Williamsburg is part of Pinnacle Living (combined financial statements).
  • Balance sheet: WindsorMeade (column of Pinnacle Living combining balance sheet).
  • Ratios: WindsorMeade.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

222.7 days FY2025p. 122

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Read with these figuresComputed by us from WindsorMeade's own column: unrestricted cash $2,696,093 + investments $9,165,502, excluding $3,871,855 of assets whose use is limited. The disclosure states no days-cash or coverage ratio.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 122FY2024p. 123
Days cash on hand222.7 days264.3 days
Total assets$103.7 million$107.2 million
Total liabilities$131.5 million$134.3 million
Long-term debt$52.8 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$30.5 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$45.3 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$27.7 million−$27.1 million

Auditor: Brown, Edwards & Company, L.L.P.. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 122

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 19
Independent living96%
Assisted living97%
Memory care96%
Nursing care86%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-03 Issued a $28,765,000 Series 2024 Bond to refinance the Series 2021B bond.p. 102
  • 2021-08 Refinanced long-term debt with $26,800,000 Series 2021A bonds through the Economic Development Authority of James City County, replacing the 2013 and 2016 bonds.p. 18

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 7. WINDSORMEADE OF WILLIAMSBURG on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 2022. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

WindsorMeade is a 181-residence independent living community (96 villas and 85 apartments) in Williamsburg with 14 assisted living, 18 memory support and 22 health care residences, run by a nonprofit whose sole member is Pinnacle Living. Its contract is fee-for-service: entrance fees run from $252,700 (declining refund) to $1,131,500 (50% refund), and later care is billed at market rates. WindsorMeade's own balance sheet showed net assets of -$27.7 million at May 31, 2025.PDF

Also in Williamsburg

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.