Home › Compare
Patriots Colony and WindsorMeade Williamsburg compared
Two communities in Williamsburg, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Patriots Colony | WindsorMeade Williamsburg |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Williamsburg, VA | Williamsburg, VA |
| Filing used | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF | 2025 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service) | Type C (fee for service) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $177,629 to $912,827p. 43p. 42 | $252,700 to $1,131,500p. 16p. 17 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,242 to $7,920p. 42 | $5,475 to $6,460p. 16 |
| Refund plans | Plan 0 (Declining Refund); Plan 50; Plan 95p. 69p. 70 | Declining Balance Refund; 50% Refund; 70% Refund; 80% Refund; 90% Refundp. 32p. 33 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 95% of the feep. 69p. 70 | 80% of the feep. 32p. 33 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 69p. 70 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 32p. 33 |
| Days cash on hand | 987 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 204Figures for Patriots Colony, Inc. Computed from Patriots Colony's column in Riverside Health's audited consolidating schedules: cash $14K + investments $73.5M over cash operating expenses ($31.8M less $4.7M depreciation). Excludes $25.6M due from affiliates. The disclosure narrative (p29) cites an $85M investment balance, which the schedule does not show. | 222.7 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 122Figures for WindsorMeade. Computed by us from WindsorMeade's own column: unrestricted cash $2,696,093 + investments $9,165,502, excluding $3,871,855 of assets whose use is limited. The disclosure states no days-cash or coverage ratio. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Patriots Colony, Inc. Computed from Patriots Colony's column in Riverside Health's audited consolidating schedules: cash $14K + investments $73.5M over cash operating expenses ($31.8M less $4.7M depreciation). Excludes $25.6M due from affiliates. The disclosure narrative (p29) cites an $85M investment balance, which the schedule does not show. | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for WindsorMeade. Computed by us from WindsorMeade's own column: unrestricted cash $2,696,093 + investments $9,165,502, excluding $3,871,855 of assets whose use is limited. The disclosure states no days-cash or coverage ratio. |
| Independent living occupancy | 97% (2024)p. 40 | 96% (2025)p. 19 |
| Net position | $94.5 million (FY2024)p. 204 | −$27.7 million (FY2025)p. 122 |
| Whose finances | Patriots Colony, Inc. (column in Riverside Health consolidating schedules); ratios for Patriots Colony, Inc.p. 204 | WindsorMeade (column of Pinnacle Living combining balance sheet); ratios for WindsorMeadep. 122 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, KPMG LLPp. 204 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Brown, Edwards & Company, L.L.P.p. 122 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Patriots Colony
Type B (modified): LifeCare residents get up to 10 temporary days of assisted living or nursing care at no charge over the life of the agreement. On a permanent move to the Health Center they give up their residence and pay a single published Resident Health Care Rate ($4,520 or $5,179 a month in 2025, by fee choice) instead of public rates; the contract lets that rate change.p. 92
Type C (fee for service): Residence and Services residents pay the public rate for any temporary or permanent Health Center stay, with guaranteed priority over non-residents.p. 26
WindsorMeade Williamsburg
Type C (fee for service): Assisted living, memory support and nursing are billed at the market rate when needed, and the monthly fee can rise with the level and duration of care. Residents have priority over Pinnacle Advantage members and non-residents (after Lifecare residents). Health-care daily rates are not published in this disclosure.p. 27