Skip to content

Home › Compare

Ardenwoods and Carolina Village compared

Two North Carolina communities about 11 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureArdenwoodsCarolina Village
LocationArden, NCHendersonville, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2026 financesPDF
Contract typesType B (modified)Type A (life care)
Entrance fee, one person$271,000 to $484,000p. 22$241,900 to $677,400p. 23p. 24
Monthly fee, independent living$3,310 to $4,180p. 22$2,783 to $6,273p. 21p. 22
Refund plansStandard (Traditional) 24-month; Ninety Percent Refundp. 53p. 41Declining Balance (0% Refundable)p. 123
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 53p. 410% of the feep. 123
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first; When your unit is re-occupied or after 36 months, whichever is firstp. 53p. 41Within a fixed number of daysp. 123
Days cash on hand475.24 days (FY2025)p. 5Figures for ThriveMore (consolidated). Ratios are for all of ThriveMore, not Ardenwoods alone. The operating ratio was 116.3% and the net operating margin -15.4% in FY2025 (p5). The operating reserve shown is ThriveMore's; the statement gives Ardenwoods' operating reserve at 9/30/2025 as $1,751,435 (p27).241 days (FY2026)p. 2The 241 days counts the $8.4M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve (Section 29 gives unrestricted cash and investments of $21.7M). Cash and marketable securities alone ($13.3M) cover about 148 days of 2026 cash operating expenses.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverage1.36x (FY2025)p. 5Figures for ThriveMore (consolidated). Ratios are for all of ThriveMore, not Ardenwoods alone. The operating ratio was 116.3% and the net operating margin -15.4% in FY2025 (p5). The operating reserve shown is ThriveMore's; the statement gives Ardenwoods' operating reserve at 9/30/2025 as $1,751,435 (p27).2.68x (FY2026)p. 2The 241 days counts the $8.4M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve (Section 29 gives unrestricted cash and investments of $21.7M). Cash and marketable securities alone ($13.3M) cover about 148 days of 2026 cash operating expenses.
Independent living occupancyNot disclosed in the 2026 filing95.3% (2026)p. 18
Net position$75.2 million (FY2025)p. 5$12.7 million (FY2026)p. 48
Whose financesBaptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Inc. dba ThriveMore and Affiliate (consolidated); ratios for ThriveMore (consolidated)p. 5Carolina Village, Inc.; ratios for Carolina Village, Inc. (sole member of the obligated group)p. 48
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 5Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 48
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Ardenwoods

Type B (modified): Residents get priority admission to Heather Glen assisted living with no extra entrance payment and 14 free days of care over the life of the contract; after that they pay the full per diem rate.p. 48

Carolina Village

Type A (life care): Residents can use assisted living and skilled nursing without an increase in the monthly service fee, paying extra for meals, drugs, supplies and Medicare cost-sharing. A resident who needs a permanent move to care within the first 12 months of occupancy pays the private daily rate until 12 consecutive months of occupancy are reached. For comparison, direct-admit private rates from April 1, 2026 are $285 a day for assisted living and $480 a day for skilled nursing.p. 121

Questions to ask both communities before you sign