Skip to content

Home › Compare

Pennybyrn at Maryfield and Piedmont Crossing compared

Two North Carolina communities about 14 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigurePennybyrn at MaryfieldPiedmont Crossing
LocationHigh Point, NCThomasville, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType B (modified)Type B (modified)
Entrance fee, one person$150,000 to $477,667p. 25p. 26$61,500 to $568,500p. 28p. 29
Monthly fee, independent living$3,314 to $6,899p. 23$1,993 to $4,196p. 27p. 26
Refund plansPlan A - Traditional Amortizing Entrance Fee (0% after 49 months)p. 104Fully Declining (0% Refundable); 50% Refundablep. 157p. 49
Highest guaranteed refund0% of the feep. 10450% of the feep. 157p. 49
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 104When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 157p. 49
Days cash on hand258 days (FY2025)p. 2The document's $20,208,700 of unrestricted cash and investments (p34) includes the $6,969,000 statutory operating reserve held as an asset limited as to use (p47). Cash and current investments alone ($13,239,700) ≈ 169 days on the document's own basis, ≈ 151 days on total expenses less depreciation and amortization (p49).566 days (FY2025)p. 2Figures for EveryAge, provider only — one set of ratios covering Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels together (shared with the Abernethy Laurels filing). Provider-level ratios for EveryAge, which runs both Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels, so these figures are shared with Abernethy Laurels and are not for this campus alone. The bond obligated group (adding Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p47).
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverage1.77x (FY2025)p. 2The document's $20,208,700 of unrestricted cash and investments (p34) includes the $6,969,000 statutory operating reserve held as an asset limited as to use (p47). Cash and current investments alone ($13,239,700) ≈ 169 days on the document's own basis, ≈ 151 days on total expenses less depreciation and amortization (p49).5.26x (FY2025)p. 2Figures for EveryAge, provider only — one set of ratios covering Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels together (shared with the Abernethy Laurels filing). Provider-level ratios for EveryAge, which runs both Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels, so these figures are shared with Abernethy Laurels and are not for this campus alone. The bond obligated group (adding Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p47).
Independent living occupancy98.6% (2025)p. 1989.94% (2025)p. 23
Net position$32.5 million (FY2025)p. 47$69.6 million (FY2025)p. 57
Whose financesMaryfield, Inc.; ratios for Maryfield, Inc. (sole obligor)p. 47EveryAge and Affiliates (combined; includes Abernethy Laurels and the obligated-group affiliates); ratios for EveryAge, provider only — one set of ratios covering Piedmont Crossing and Abernethy Laurels together (shared with the Abernethy Laurels filing)p. 57
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 47Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 57
Nursing care, CMS rating5 of 5 (CMS overall)5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Pennybyrn at Maryfield

Type B (modified): Benefit: 15 grace days per year, at no additional charge, of services above what Medicare or other insurance covers while an independent living resident stays temporarily in assisted living, memory support or nursing. Unused grace days carry over to a cumulative maximum of 45 days, and the benefit lasts only while the resident remains an independent living resident; additional meals and services are extra. After a permanent move residents pay the published health care rates with no stated discount. Residents get priority over non-residents, but a bed is not guaranteed.p. 101

Piedmont Crossing

Type B (modified): Assisted living and nursing are paid at the community's current per diem rates, with a $10-a-day nursing discount for contract holders and 12 non-cumulative nurse visits a year in the monthly fee. 24 of the 104 nursing beds are reserved for contracted residents; if no bed is free, residents get priority application at other EveryAge nursing facilities.p. 27

Questions to ask both communities before you sign